Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT A 5 STAR. AT BEST A 3 STAR

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The island and the diving school the wine list was good
Cons: mattresses pillows food
Location: nothing
a 3 star in disguise as a 5 star suitable for package tourists
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dmitry from Moscow

Island-wide hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Individual beach villas with separate beach peace, affable staff
Cons: Change beef cooking.
Location: Island is located in the sea, you can go to fishing, diving, all within the island or close to it
Island and hotel Island is beautiful: a lot of trees, white sand on the beach. Two restaurants. Individual beach villas. Gym is present, good-equipped for hotel. Animals Here you can find: birds, crabs, lizards, insects (bugs, ants, mosquito), snakes (yeah, I've seen one), a lot of different fish (jellyfish (0,5m diameter!), sharks, full-colored fish) Rooms Rooms are beach villas (some of them are individual, others are combined with 2 rooms in 1 physical house). Beach villa has two exits - one to inner island road, another one - to the individual piece of the beach. Every day we found 4-6 ants in the room (we didn't ever keep doors open): 1-2 big flying ants, 2-3 medium size ants and 1-2 ants of small size. So you can find ants of any size you like :). Bathroom has a half-opened roof: half of the bathroom is under the roof, second half (where the shower is) is under the sky. Wall at the roof-less part is about 2 meters high, so if you are tall.. Strange experience. Food. Food is different. Beef, fish, chicken, seafood, salads, vegetables and fruits, desserts. A lot of curry-filled food. Almost all beef is tough. Just once we had good-cooked beef meat. Fruits has very lite taste, up to tasteless at all (except pineapples). Dessert are awesome :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Afshan from United Kingdom

Fantastic resort, lots for everyone but expensive!

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Accommodation, Staff, Food, Amenities (lots to do for everyone).
Cons: Better pricing for families for both meals and activities. When everything costs 100s of pounds each, paying 5 times individual prices is extortionate
Location: Fabulous - tennis, badminton, gym, canoeing, free snorkeling equipment, jetski, excursions for snorkeling, banana boat rides etc
As a family we chose this resort because of the different activities it offered as well as the convenience of accommodation. I can say that we weren't disappointed. There is so much to do for both adults and children - from the many water activities to the sports activities such as the tennis courts, gym, badminton etc. In terms of social life, we spent different afternoons and evenings in the Boli Bar where we enjoyed the local entertainment shows, or quiet evening drinks by the swimming pool area. It was also one of only two places that offered Wifi on the island which I think needs to change. The sea is beautiful for swimming/snorkeling. All the staff were polite and went out of their way to help. Speaking to staff, it was evident that this was an ethos instilled and promoted by all staff (400 of them) at the resort. In particular I want to express our thanks to Sham, our dedicated restaurant waiter, Rashid who went out of his way to talk to our children and build a friendship with them. Also, Samee & Ibrahim who always kept our villa clean and tidy. This was our second visit after many years (we were a couple then), and the resort did everything to show how much they valued this. BUT THERE IS LITTLE CONSIDERATION IN TERMS OF EXPENSE FOR FAMILIES. We know Maldives to be more expensive, however, surely Royal need to realise that if you always charge per person for everything, it's simply unaffordable for a family of 4 or 5. Need to offer family deals for meals & activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moamen from Egypt

Very friendly and organized relaxing resort

Posted Jul 12, 2013
They have very friendly staff. I was received at the airport by one of the hotel agents who took care of the bags and everything regarding transportation to the hotel. Not only they have a pleasant welcoming smile but they are cery helpful and they do their best to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. You just ENJOY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bronwyn from Newcastle NSW, Australia

A Royal experience at a reasonable cost.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: It was the wet season, but that is not under the control of the resort.
Location: Perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway.
Our short stay was to celebrate a birthday. The resort staff were unbelievably friendly, and decorated our bed with flowers, had a birthday cake and sang traditional birthday songs at the restaurant. All staff, from reception to restaurant, villa attendant, bar, dive centre and spa and beauty centre were all extremely friendly, cooperative and always had a smile on their faces. All staff, no matter who, when or where you met them, would say hello and give a big smile. We would recommend Royal Island Resort and Spa to anyone. Our only mistake was we booked for only 5 nights - should have been 10 at least. Will definitely be returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from UK

Ok but you can probably find better

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: View from room
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Nice relaxing quiet
Beach front villa is very nice with direct access to the beach. The staff need to clean the beach much more. The food needs improvement including the staffs delivery. The waitors hang around for tips and this can get very annoying. If you don't tip them they make you feel awkward! Room service was weak as they got our orders wrong almost every day. During buffet breakfast for some reason the waitors serving us would hang around our table trying to talk to us and play with our baby who we were trying to feed, we didnt appreciate this, it seemed like they just didnt understand what privacy is! Trying to eat with a waitor stood next to you starring at your face is a very odd experience! The staff are very stuck in thier ways they don't try to help you or go that extra mile, forget about any good will gestures if your honeymooning etc cos you don't get it! Overall the islands beach front villas are amazing but the whole trip felt like a money grabbing op for the staff they want your money left right and centre!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neha from India

Beautiful Location- Perfect place to relax

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the resort for 4 Nights and 5 Days. It was the perfect getaway from work me and my husband were looking for. The hotel staff was very welcoming and the beach cottages were maintained very well. The Beach infront of the cottage was always inviting!! Also, the spa at the resort was one of the most comforting and relaxing spas I have been to. The resort could do though with a little more variety in food- but nevertheless there is a lot of water activities to do - or just relax on the beach after a great swim. I would definitely go back there.