Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Resort

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The resort service staff were warm and helpful
Cons: I was somewhat disappointed with the quality of food offered during the buffet style dinner
The Royal Island Resort & Spa provides splendid beachfront just outside your villa style room. I very much enjoyed my walks along the beach surrounding the island and breathtaking views of the sunset. Snorkeling on site was wonderful, especially around the service jetty pier and the reef areas that surround the island. Royal Island Resort & Spa also provides excellent indoor recreational facilities including table tennis, badmington, racquetball & squash.... especially useful on a rainy day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from Australia

Romantic Beach Resort

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere - peaceful and you can always find a place to hideaway from other ppl on the island. Beach front villas and cocktails!
Cons: Would like if the hotels indicated the transfer time from Male international to the resort. Then I would have planned my connecting flights better.
Really glad that we picked this island for our honeymoon! Complimentary dinner, champagne and fruit basket as part of the honeymoon offer just made our stay at this resort even better! Everything is terrific except the extra journey to the island is long, which involved a domestic flight and a boat ride. However the service was great that we had people handling the luggage throughout the transfer. Wished I knew this earlier then I would have stayed in Male for that night and did the transfer next morning. Interaction with other guests was minimum as we were told that the island is popular amongst Russians and Germans. The island doesn't offer much entertainment but plenty of water sports and activities. We spent a lot of time at the bar drinking cocktails and using the free wifi as wifi are not available from the rooms. Overall a good experience! spectacular views and had some relaxing time on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adwaita from Delhi

Awesome

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the best holidays I have ever had. I planned my honeymoon there and there was not a single opportunity for dissappointment. Just perfect. The honeymoon dinner by the beach was lovely aswell. Very courteous staff and always willing to help. I stayed by the beach (room 105) and really loved it. We will visit again. Love. Adwaita & Sreevidya
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT A 5 STAR. AT BEST A 3 STAR

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The island and the diving school the wine list was good
Cons: mattresses pillows food
Location: nothing
a 3 star in disguise as a 5 star suitable for package tourists
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dmitry from Moscow

Island-wide hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Individual beach villas with separate beach peace, affable staff
Cons: Change beef cooking.
Location: Island is located in the sea, you can go to fishing, diving, all within the island or close to it
Island and hotel Island is beautiful: a lot of trees, white sand on the beach. Two restaurants. Individual beach villas. Gym is present, good-equipped for hotel. Animals Here you can find: birds, crabs, lizards, insects (bugs, ants, mosquito), snakes (yeah, I've seen one), a lot of different fish (jellyfish (0,5m diameter!), sharks, full-colored fish) Rooms Rooms are beach villas (some of them are individual, others are combined with 2 rooms in 1 physical house). Beach villa has two exits - one to inner island road, another one - to the individual piece of the beach. Every day we found 4-6 ants in the room (we didn't ever keep doors open): 1-2 big flying ants, 2-3 medium size ants and 1-2 ants of small size. So you can find ants of any size you like :). Bathroom has a half-opened roof: half of the bathroom is under the roof, second half (where the shower is) is under the sky. Wall at the roof-less part is about 2 meters high, so if you are tall.. Strange experience. Food. Food is different. Beef, fish, chicken, seafood, salads, vegetables and fruits, desserts. A lot of curry-filled food. Almost all beef is tough. Just once we had good-cooked beef meat. Fruits has very lite taste, up to tasteless at all (except pineapples). Dessert are awesome :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Afshan from United Kingdom

Fantastic resort, lots for everyone but expensive!

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Accommodation, Staff, Food, Amenities (lots to do for everyone).
Cons: Better pricing for families for both meals and activities. When everything costs 100s of pounds each, paying 5 times individual prices is extortionate
Location: Fabulous - tennis, badminton, gym, canoeing, free snorkeling equipment, jetski, excursions for snorkeling, banana boat rides etc
As a family we chose this resort because of the different activities it offered as well as the convenience of accommodation. I can say that we weren't disappointed. There is so much to do for both adults and children - from the many water activities to the sports activities such as the tennis courts, gym, badminton etc. In terms of social life, we spent different afternoons and evenings in the Boli Bar where we enjoyed the local entertainment shows, or quiet evening drinks by the swimming pool area. It was also one of only two places that offered Wifi on the island which I think needs to change. The sea is beautiful for swimming/snorkeling. All the staff were polite and went out of their way to help. Speaking to staff, it was evident that this was an ethos instilled and promoted by all staff (400 of them) at the resort. In particular I want to express our thanks to Sham, our dedicated restaurant waiter, Rashid who went out of his way to talk to our children and build a friendship with them. Also, Samee & Ibrahim who always kept our villa clean and tidy. This was our second visit after many years (we were a couple then), and the resort did everything to show how much they valued this. BUT THERE IS LITTLE CONSIDERATION IN TERMS OF EXPENSE FOR FAMILIES. We know Maldives to be more expensive, however, surely Royal need to realise that if you always charge per person for everything, it's simply unaffordable for a family of 4 or 5. Need to offer family deals for meals & activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moamen from Egypt

Very friendly and organized relaxing resort

Posted Jul 12, 2013
They have very friendly staff. I was received at the airport by one of the hotel agents who took care of the bags and everything regarding transportation to the hotel. Not only they have a pleasant welcoming smile but they are cery helpful and they do their best to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. You just ENJOY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bronwyn from Newcastle NSW, Australia

A Royal experience at a reasonable cost.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: It was the wet season, but that is not under the control of the resort.
Location: Perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway.
Our short stay was to celebrate a birthday. The resort staff were unbelievably friendly, and decorated our bed with flowers, had a birthday cake and sang traditional birthday songs at the restaurant. All staff, from reception to restaurant, villa attendant, bar, dive centre and spa and beauty centre were all extremely friendly, cooperative and always had a smile on their faces. All staff, no matter who, when or where you met them, would say hello and give a big smile. We would recommend Royal Island Resort and Spa to anyone. Our only mistake was we booked for only 5 nights - should have been 10 at least. Will definitely be returning.