Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rouhan from Singapore

Relax holiday

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
During the stay in the island, we totally forgot our normal life stuff. We were really relaxed. The management of the resort is quite experienced. All the staff are quite polite, kind and friendly except one guy who works at Golf Club whereby there is free wifi. He is not polite at all. The 2nd day when I was going to sit down inside the bar (as outside no roof and no umbrella), he pointed me to sit outside without any explanation and with dark face after I had told him I wouldn't buy any drinks there. I lodged a complaint at the counter. But this happened again on 5th day. After I replied him I didn't need any drinks, he said this place was for people buying drinks. I had to ask him what's the police. He just kept saying people came here for drinks. But there were only a few guests using wifi there. I talked to the counter about the unhappy incidents again. A guy politely apologised and learned the details from me. Except this matter, everything is nice and enjoyed. But people on holiday really don't want to be disrupted by this kind of issue. In addition, 3 more suggestions. The food within the island is quite expensive. Second, departure breakfast is actually in Coffee shop instead of normal main restaurant. But we were not informed. And the schedule is quite tight for departure. Thirdly, the fight to Male airport was delayed quite some time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manohar from Bengaluru, India

Nice water villa

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: since it is our first stay in maldives everything was good to us.
Location: The island is big enough to do cycling and mostly water sports (jet skiing, paracyling, canoeing, banna boat etc) are available.
It was our first stay in an island. And we stayed in a water villa for 2 nights. Stay was very nice. Room was good. The first advantage of water villa we felt was we can do snorkelling just underneath/next to the villa (something like private).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isis from Abuja, Nigeria

Nice resort with activities for everyone

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Sun Island resort and spa is very beautiful and HUGE! The staff there are very friendly and helpful. I booked the standard room beachside, our room overlooked the beach. The resort organised activities for everyone which I found very exciting especially the stingray feeding. I was there with 7 friends and we all had an amazing time. The only issue we faced in our room 480 was the air conditioning wasn't working properly, but it was fixed before we left. It's a resort for everybody, not just couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by yueyue from Manchester

Fantastic place

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value with nice view. Staff was very friendly. However, the restaurants buffets were not good enough. Great views with many ocean species. You will definitely see the sting rays and can even touch them if you're brave.
3 out of 5
by Elena from Moscow, Russia

nice but not more

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Nature and sports activities, beaches and stingray feeding.
Cons: All equipment and furniture. Bycicles are not working properly!!!
Location: Feed sharks and stingrays - really interesting. All other excursions - waste of time and money. Snorkling and diving are highly recommended
The hotel is situated 20 min flight from Male. We stayed there 8 days from 2 to 9 of January 2014. Ocean veiw villa, but not superior. The room is small and the firniture is really old. TV i guess more than 10 years old. 5 restaurants in the island -the best is Coffe Shop, others are good for one time. Waiters are very slow and sometimes rude, but you have no choice (10% service charge is obligatory). Water activities and diving centre are very good, but snorkling equipment need to be renovated. Ocean is great, beaches are perfect and the weather was great. In general we had nice vacation, but next time I will choose another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mukesh from California, USA

Much better resort than rating of 4 star

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Overall design of resort and beachside villa was fantastic. It far exceeded my expectation of 4 star hotel.
Cons: Room Service staff could have been more courteous. They used to hangup my call after answering one question without asking if I have any other left.
Location: Lots of things to do. Lots of places for snorkeling. Hotel organises many trips like dolphin, whale shark, fishing, snorkeling, village trips.
Resort far exceeded my expectations of 4 star. I liked the overall design of resort including beachside villa, overwater bungalow, restaurants and other facilities. Pros: - Travel arrangement for transfer to/from male airport to resort was fantastic. On arrival we were greeted in very professional manner. - Resort design was fantastic. I was in superior beachside villa and loved it. Room was spacious and confortable. Beach was just few steps away. Overwater bungalow was also fantastic. - Resort cleanliness was 5 star. There was always somebody cleaning something. It was so clean, It felt as if resort was built just few months ago. - Resort organises excursions trips like dolphin, whale shark, snorkelling, fishing and village trips. They are pretty nice and well run. - There were lots of shallow water, good for swiming and snorkeling. Cons: - Room service staff could have been more courteous. They used to hang up my call after answering one question without asking if I have any more question left. This causes me to make 4-5 calls for placing single food order. I noticed this by 2-3 different staff at different times. Finally my patience ran away and I had to lodge complaint with on duty manager. - Water sports were way too expensive, particularly Jet ski. Jet ski rate was around 4 times than that of rate in US. I saw very few people doing jet ski and felt they would make more money if rate is lowered down, bcoz that would encourage more ppl to use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Quick Check-in and Check-out. Friendly Staff, The room is good overall. Had a pleasant stay for 5 days in water bungalow.
Cons: Door Noise due to winds and water, A/C repair is done while I am staying should be checked frequently.
Location: Water Sports, Village Trips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Quick Check-in and Check-out. Friendly Staff, The room is good overall. Had a pleasant stay for 5 days in water bungalow.
Cons: Door Noise due to winds and water, A/C repair is done while I am staying should be checked frequently.
Location: Water Sports, Village Trips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Borough of Lambeth, London SW16 2JJ, UK

Heaven on Earth

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: mini bar in our house
Cons: air conditioning everywhere and very friendly helpful staff
Location: great location and the whole hotel we have a comparison because we were on the other islands, and ours was the best, great attractions-feeding fish, .
I would recommend this hotel mainly couples, less for families with young children. There is a wonderful, lots of possibilities for trips to other islands but Sun Islands is the most improved