Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

Paradise

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The customer service, the friendliness of the staff, the leisurely pace.
Cons: 1. It took 5 days before snorkelling equipment became available. 2. Music outside the Fen Bar during the day too loud - hindering conversation
Location: Perfect location Plenty of water sports facilities Great spa Visit to Male by speed boat
Possibly the best holiday experience I have ever had. Used all the facilities (water sports, diving, spa, restaurants etc.) which were great but pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Spot of paradise in the middle of the ocean

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Picturesque and stunning setting, surrounded by turqoise waters and serviced by friendly and professional personnel. Everything about our stay was absolutely excellent. We will never forget our week in paradise at Velassaru. Services and restaurants rather expensive but you're paying for quality. Highly recommend to anyone looking to relax in a beautiful place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, NY

New York - Male for Honeymoon!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
From the beginging to end! Literally words cannot describe how pleasant, caring, friendly, the staff was at this resort! We traveled for our honeymoon (NYC African American couple 25-31 age) The environment, food, decor, staff, exceeded our expectations! It felt like paradise! We love everyone there from the bell boys to the directors! They all have one goal and it's to make sure ALL their guest have a pleasant stay. Will HIGHLY recommend! AMAZING!!!!! This review is coming from a picky, hard to please brooklyn girl lol! Love! Best honeymoon anyone could ever imagine. I would recommend getting to indulgence package! Mr and Mrs Keith Gibson. Xo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chrisfrom Merica

Beautiful island, wonderful service

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great honeymoon destination. Clean rooms and a clean, beautiful island experience. Wonderful restaurants and very good amenities. It is a place that charges a premium for pretty much everything, so don't expect value for your money. You pay well to enjoy this place, so if a lunch costing around $100 for two bothers you, this is not your destination. And I won't tell you not to bring your kids, but it IS a place for a romantic getaway. We were not going there to see your 5 year olds jump around and scream in the pool.. it is what it is though. If they don't prevent you from bringing them, I guess some people are going to. There was construction work going on at an area near the pool that was a bit disruptive to the ambience when we were there. We didn't see anything mentioned about that when we were booking, which was disappointing. It didn't ruin the trip at all, but you want to know this stuff before you go. It's unprofessional not to mention noisy construction to incoming guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Very nice resort, amazing experience

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The whole experience was excellent. Only the Chillbar could be open longer till 10pm.
Location: Very close to Male Airport, only 25 min with the speed boat
The resort is very nice, the staff is very polite and caring. The food choices and quality were great. Especially at the Etesian restaurant offered excellent food. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of options. We were amazed how well trained, professional and friendly the staff was. We not only miss the island, but also the people there. All facilities were very well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Owenfrom Aberdeenshire, UK

Wonderful trip from start to end

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to Velassaru on our honeymoon in August, and had just under a week here. We booked a Beach Villa with Pool, and it was worth every penny! The location is of course beautiful (our room avoided the view of the so-called "rubbish island" that some have commented on). Our room, 218, had a nice location just around the corner from one of the bars, but was lovely and quiet, right by the beach, with a great pool which we loved using. Nice and private but only a short walk away from the facilities. The staff were great, everyone was very helpful and cheerful. We've really not got a bad word to say about the trip. We were even presented with a free bottle of champagne and a candlelit dinner when we mentioned we were on our honeymoon! A week is not enough time - we'll have to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aus

Amazing hotel and service to match

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We stayed for one week at Velassaru in the lagoon side water bungalow with pool. The room was exactly as we expected and had everything you needed. We decided to take up the Indulgence package which was the best dicision ever. The cost of food is quite expensive. You would easily spend $300-$400 a day on lunch and dinner per couple. The indulgence was $155 per person per day and included alcoholic drinks. Definitely worth while. The staff were incredible. We built friendships with a number of them and you can tell they love their jobs. They were attentive and nothing was an issue. The activities on the island were plentiful. There was no shortcuts taken. Diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding, fishing, day trips, parasailing, jet skiing. Everything is possible. Even down to romantic dinners on the Beach. Overall the island was perfect. We would and have recommended it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

It's the best hotel ever

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The location is perfect just 20 minutes to the airport. Very clean and comfortable hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Gorgeous location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Overall a great stay and deserving of its 5 star rating in most respects. The food and drinks however were disappointing. Prices on par with 2 or 3 hatted restaurants (in Sydney terms, top quality) but the food was mediocre at best, alcoholic drinks watery and both comparable to a substandard restaurant, pub or cafe. Considering the mealtimes and drinks break the relative monotony of resort life, what might've topped off or enhances a pleasant day of soaking in the sun, snorkelling etc instead proved a let down night after night. Breakfast buffet was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Abu Dhabi/Hamburg

Just AMAZING!!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Simply EVERYTHING!
Cons: Keep it like this!
Location: Kitesurfing was AMAZING, brought my own gear, but watersports provides basic lessons, boat is provided, therefore it´s perfect to learn!
Extremely friendly, helpful, from check in to check out. Can´t be better, perfect setup!