Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by WorldTraveler from USA

Great hotel, terrible staff

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was great; it was beautiful and situated in a great location. The front desk staff, however, were absolutely terrible. If the hotel were run by the service staff (bar/restuarant staff) it would be fantastic, but the people in charge were just horrible--extremely rude, impatient, unfriendly, etc. Upon check-in, they rudely and impatiently explained that my online reservation had not paid for the hotel room, and demanded payment on the spot. Upon seeing the room, I realized that they had put us on the ground floor in a handicapped room, back in the service area, with a 'view' facing a wall. All day long we would hear the doors of the kitchen area etc. slamming. When I politely requested the possibility of a room change, they begrudgingly told me to come back the next day. When they actually got around to giving me a different room, they clearly were even more agitated and rude. Any time I had to go to the front desk for anything, I dreaded it. Upon checkout, they were equally rude and short spoken. All in all, I won't stay here again, unless they change management. Other than that, however, the hotel is beautiful. Just another note: I am fluent in Spanish, and am always very culturally aware and considerate when I travel (I don't scream 'tourist'). This didn't help at all; any interaction I witnessed between the front desk and any customer, regardless of origin or language, was equally terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by N/S from Bucks, UK

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel, not the cheapest around nor the newest but has comfy beds, air conditioning, nice swimming pool, close to shops and McDonalds and a fun shuttle down a steep hill which is a god send on the heat. Fantastic views over the port but no beaches within walking distance (short bike ride away or bus)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from leeds

close to the port in palma

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: good hotel pool, free wi fi
good for port but not close to bars or restaurants is a bit out of town and not easy to find
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice clean hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Palma city break
Only stayed 2 days due to unforseen circs at home but whilst there enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ss

Good reasonably priced hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Really nice hotel but the picture made it look closer to the sea than it was. Nevertheless, it was in a high prominent position giving excellent views of the bay at Palma.
3 out of 5
by Ant from Oxford, UK

Friendly staff, poor maintenance, location OK

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The reception staff were all friendly & helpful, spoke English well, but also encouraged me to practice my Spanish.
Cons: Maintenance: the speed with which things are fixed.
Location: Around the bay from the centre. Large shopping centre & places to eat (mainly fast food) nearby. Not much else close by. Close to airport bus route.
The hotel is near the yacht club (Club de Mar), about an hour's walk from the centre, but close to a frequent bus route that also serves the airport. My stay was reasonable, but I had a problem with the shower: the hose was split and the diverter did not work, so water always came out of the tap into the bath rather than through the shower head. I reported this 4 times, and the staff in reception were sympathetic and wrote it in the maintenance book every time, but the problem was never fully resolved: the hose was replaced, but I still couldn't get any water to come through the shower. I could probably have asked to move rooms, but I kept hoping it would be fixed. I heard someone else complain about a bad smell in their bathroom, so I suspect that the overall maintenance is not very good. I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable: too soft for me, and the combination of a relatively short bed and old-fashioned tuck-in sheets meant that it was hard to stretch out my long legs. There are a few places to eat nearby, but only a couple are restaurants: most of them are fast-food places. I would recommend staying somewhere within easier walking distance of the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Palma in January

Posted Jan 27, 2014
This is the second time we have used Catalonie Majorica and have found it to be very welcoming and comfortable on both occasions. The only thing I would say is that it has a funicular and on the first stay we were not made aware of this and found it on our second day. This would prove very difficult for much older guests as the hotel is set on a steep hill. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would use them again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN, USA

relatively convenient location

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was close to the port with restaurants and shops nearby. Our AC was barely functional so the room was rather warm which was uncomfortable considering the hot weather. We attempted to have this rectified to no avail. The buffet breakfast was excellent and dinner buffet good too. We enjoyed dinner by menu and drinks at night on the outdoor patio overlooking the port which was great. Hospitality was good. The free wifi never did function.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lody from Cardiff

Great staff in this hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good which is why we keep going back