Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from Yorkshire

Super hotel in quiet area

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Everything, it was perfect for our needs, relaxing, rest & recuperate for a short break
Cons: No wet washing of tiled floors without drying off, this was apparent at entrance slope to main dining area at breakfast time.
Location: Quiet location with farmland/National Park surroundings, small sandy cove & lots of pine trees. Hotel rents bicycles & offers boat trips & excursionsc
From start of booking in to finish - reluctantly leaving, all staff smiley helpful & kind. Hotel & surroundings, all indoor & outdoor areas including pool well tended & clean. It was Wonderful to be able to sit outdoors for breakfast, lunch, & evening meal in October. Meals & drinks are of good quality with plenty of choice although main dining room could be busy with families, tables cleared quickly Some corporate groups were in for a few days, this did spoil things a bit especially at night when they were in the main lounge still having meetings, then groups emerged of Polish, French & other nationalities for drinks before retiring. Holiday guests & 'work' groups are not necessarily a good mix, big group scenario - moving tables/chairs to facilitate their party. We were v pleased with our room, situation of it, size of balcony, and the quality of the Iberostar hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good if you don't get put in old block

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Location: Nothing near by!
Initially we were put in block 11 which is old and outdated, the only part of the hotel that wasn't renovated. The following mornin they did move us to a centrally located block which was much nicer and not a big trek to the restaurants and bars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roo from Herts

Great family resort with good food, bit hectic!

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Efficient, friendly staff. Great quality & choice of food. Great facilities - good choice of activities, for all. Loved the location by the sea.
Cons: Perhaps ruling out 'hogging' of sun-beds?! Frustrating that towels put on sunbeds early then remained unoccupied for long period of the day.
Location: Location was beautiful, very pretty beach and shaded pine walkway, also the rocks overlooking the sea. A bit remote for us, nothing to do nearby.
First time for us to go to a family resort like this (we usually go to our own place in Spain) we did All Inclusive. Didn't have high expectations, boy was I wrong! Food was really good, great choice, always at least 3 fish & meat options, cooked fresh in front of you which I wasn't expecting. Staff were excellent! Right from check-in to housekeepers, entertainment & management. The evening shows were of such a high standard, our children (girls 6 & 8) were hooked from the first night & the team work so hard! We had no idea so much was on offer & didn't take advantage of most of it, but next time we will be prepared, and there will definitely be a next time, already looking to book next year. Only criticism we can make is that it was busy, but we were there in August so to be expected. Sunbeds do get 'taken' very early (by 8am there were towels on most) but we never had a problem getting beds when we wanted them around 11am and never a problem to get a table in the restaurants. Only other negative (to us) was that it is rather remote, nothing to walk to. We had a car so it wasn't a problem for us. Lovely port nearby, Portopetra, a few mins in the car, we were told it was 15 mins walk but unlit narrow streets would have made it tricky. We'd read reviews on ideal blocks - we were originally in a family room in block 46, good location overlooking a pool but we decided to upgrade to a Senior Suite in block 56, well worth it, very spacious with lge terrace and good view of stage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sam

Nice resort with private beach

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: The private beach was great. The various pools to choose from around the resort. The restaurant choices.
Cons: If you are all inclusive then this should include tennis which you had to pay hire for racquets.
Location: As the children were really happy with the pools and sea and occasional kids club we only ventured out to Cala D'or once for shopping which was good.
Had a great family holiday at Iberostar Cala Barca the last 2 weeks of August. Great for families in my opinion. Was plenty to do for the children. Lots of pools to choose from which catered very well for my 3 year old who wanted to stay in the shallow while my 6 year old ventured a little further but I could still see them both. The beach is small and private and we felt very safe there. It didn't become too crowded and was shallow and calm enough for the children. My 6 year old snorkelled and thought it was awesome! We thought the food was great in the restaurants and particularly enjoyed the show cooking in the evening. Great choice every night. The staff were great in the restaurants, very helpful and cheerful and so were the entertainers who worked hard day and night. We were very impressed :) Would recommend and go again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Really good staff

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel in a lovely location. All the staff were very genuine and helpful, whether you're looking for a room change, want a nice table for a large group in the Mediterranean Restaurant, want directions to walk to Cala Mondrago, or just need another Pina Colada - the staff were always friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for family summer holiday

Posted Aug 20, 2013
I recommended this hotel for family summer holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tree from Surrey, UK

Fabulous family holiday

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Food, entertainment, staff and pool
Cons: Waking up at 7.00am to get a sun bed
Location: It's more a resort that you don't leave then a resort that you stay at to explore. Cute little beach but you need to wear shoes for the water.
Lovely hotel, although very big, it still maintained the personal service. All the staff were very friendly and smily and clearly loved children. My eldest daughter tried out the kids club and painted a t-shirt. The evening entertainment was fabulous and so was the kiddies entertainment. The food was wonderful-beautifully presented, very tasty and plenty of choice. Glad we only stayed for a week otherwise I would be the size of the bus on the way home! The family rooms worked really well. Only downside was the fact you had to get up at 7.00am if you wanted to get a sun bed!
4 out of 5
by Norman from Croydon, Greater London, UK

Definitely for the kids

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Food quality and fast service excellent in this family environment
Cons: No seats at nightly show proves too busy, dead at 11pm, limited choice at pool bar
Location: Quiet location 10 minute taxi from town
A very busy family hotel with excellent food quality but too busy at meal times some rooms too far from main area and too quiet with limited choices at pool bar. Very rocky beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FAMILY destination

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the cleanliness, after the pool areas closed, the staff would clean the patios.. The room were even cleaner.
Cons: Buffet food was often cold or stale. Most nights staff was rude if you got your own drink, but didn't offer anything if you didn't when half-board.
My wife and I stayed at Club Cala Barca for a week, it was our first experience at a resort. I would not suggest it for people who are looking for a quiet get away because it is "people with kids" oriented. On that side of things the hotel seemed to have great activities and entertainment for kids. The hotel offered quite a few excursions to zoo's, waterparks, bicycle trips, car rentals, boat trips and much more. They have various entertainment every evening and it is loud from around 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. in the central area with loud music. During the day there are children running and playing (screaming haha) around the pools.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by k

disaster

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
wouldn't go again - ever. our room smelled terrible from a clogged drain, which we complained about several times and promised repair. we were neither moved to a different room, nor was it fixed. the food was absolutely disgusting. i stopped eating breakfast, eggs, fry-up, all very greasy and rest of the very limited buffet came from cans. dinner had bit more choice, but really not satisfying at all. tons of children - and i mean more than adults!! dinner was like lesson break of a primary school. it was noisy, chaotic and the staff didn't manage to clean up in time. really disappointing stay!