Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Tired, Shabby but Cheap!

Posted Sep 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Alexandra while attending a conference locally. I don't think I'd have visited this area otherwise - even the local tourist officer scratched his head and shrugged when, during an afternoon off, we asked if there was anything worth seeing nearby... The decor of the hotel itself was extremely shabby and the bed linen, pillows and mattresses were very tired. In fact, I had to fold my pillow in half so it didn't cave in completely when I put my head on it! The aircon was almost near-useless and very noisy, the TV didn't work, the bathroom looked like it has last been decorated 30 years ago and the building work kicking off at 7am most days meant that no wake up calls were ever needed. That said, an acceptable breakfast was included in what amounted to a very cheap stay. The staff were also friendly and helpful, although the guy chain smoking at the reception desk in the evening didn't add much to the allure of the place. Would I stay here again? If I was on a serious budget, or conferencing and not spending any time at the hotel, then yes because it was cheap. If I'd been looking for a relaxing hotel-based family break then no.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Fine for a very short stay.

Posted Sep 14, 2011
We chose this hotel for its location, and weren't disappointed by that. It's right in the centre and close to the waterfront. However that's where the positives rather peter out. The room was fine - clean and tidy. The bathroom was tiny and you had to do contortions around the door to get into the shower - and this is one of their brand new rooms in the half-finished new wing. We had booked a double but found two small twin beds not even pushed together. We had arrived at about 3am and couldn't face making a fuss or asking for a change. Breakfast was, to be frank, miserable. We only made that mistake once, opting the next morning to go in search of a waterfront cafe (which we found 3 mins walk away). The staff were friendly enough but the lobby was chaos after we had checked out. Staff bellowing at each other from across the huge lobby to be heard over the din of 80-odd newly arrived guests waiting for their rooms to be ready (which seemed to take several hours). It's one of those places that when someone asks, "how's your hotel?", you reply with a shrug, a sigh and say, "It's fine". But next time we'll spend a fraction more and go elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Alexandra Hotel - St. Julian's Malta

Posted Jul 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
First time in Malta. Loved the hotel. The location was amazing. Right in the heart of St. Julian's and very closely situated to shops, bars and restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The room was HUGE!! we did not expect such a big room, it was more like a small 1 bedroom flat!! The letdown was that it was a brand new room so the kitchen did not have a fridge and there was no sink. A few basic toiletries in the bathroom would be nice too, but overall it was an excellent room and the price is a bargain too! Very highly recommended and I will definitely be staying there again next time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Widnes

More like a youth hostel

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
First of all, let me start by saying that not everything about this hotel is bad. The vast majority of the staff are pleasant and courteous. I can't say that they go over and above, but no-one was rude to us at any point. We were given a comfortable room with a balcony that had a sea view. Pool area - The ground floor pool was closed during the duration of our stay which was ridiculous, bearing in mind the amount of people staying at the hotel. The pool on the roof was small and the sun loungers were in poor repair. Once there were 10 or more people around the pool area it was crowded. Housekeeping - Three times during our stay we had to wait until after 5pm for clean towels. Also there appeared to be a reluctance to provide a new loo roll - I had to ask on one occasion. Other than that the rooms were kept relatively clean. The air conditioning was pretty ineffective - noisy and only cool if you stood directly below the unit itself. Food - We ate in the hotel on the first night. There was a good choice and the food was very tasty, and at a very reasonable price. We paid 12 euro per person for a 3 course meal. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. I would recommend that you get down before 8:30 before the crowds of students descend upon the dining room. Egg, sausage, tomato and beans on offer every day. The egg was often watery and tasteless. Sometimes the orange juice was a bit weak, but generally ok. The choice of cake and sweet stuff is very limited. General - the hotel is having an extension built and work starts around 6:45am (yes - that's a.m.!). We were lucky enough to be on the opposite side to where they were working, but we were woken very early on two mornings. We feel that we should have been advised about this. We were able to rent the use of a fridge for around 15 euro for the week. There is a supermarket not far from the hotel so you can stock up on provisions. There are plenty of power sockets in the room - both 2 and 3 pin. We took a walk down to the rocky cove not far from the hotel and were disappointed to see how much broken glass was left lying about. The area is aimed towards the 18 - 25 age group. Weekends at the hotel can get a bit noisy and rowdy. On saying this, we did not see or hear of any trouble in the immediate area. We would not return to this hotel - it did feel more like a youth hostel and not a 3 star hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Blanca Spain

Alexandra Hotel St. Julians, Malta

Posted Jun 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was undergoing on site re-formation, building work was on-going from early morning,7.00am. to late pm. The room allocated was in a very tired state and did not appear as per advertisement on web site. The bathroom although clean was in need of a very urgent up dating to improve it's appearance and condition. Had we known of these things and we believe Hotels.com should have, we would not have booked here but gone elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommanded

Posted May 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
It seems that the hotel building is not stable - probably following earthquake. I was amazed to see on the 2 walls of the corridor to my room a vertical crack that was going down the whole 6 floors. What amazed me is they put some kind of measuring device to check how far the crake is mobile (very scarry...) on every floor!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cairo

quite

Posted Nov 30, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from cairo

Posted Nov 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
the soap must be replaced with a shampoo because it was bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stay elsewhere.

Posted Apr 19, 2010
Hotel was dirty, broken and underspeced. It's majorly overpriced for the facilities available. Pay 10euro a night less! and stay at the Le Meridian instead.