Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kim from Birmingham, UK

Great location

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel seems typical of Maltese Hotels...no air-con. Yes there is a unit in the room, but like every single trip to Malta it just doesn't work. The hotel itself is neat and fairly tidy. The view from the sea view rooms is worth the extra money and is a short walk from St Pauls Bay which is a great spot. I would stay here again, just please get the air con sorted!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from London

Good hotel very good location! Maryrose is GREAT !

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The location and the nice pool!
Cons: Breakfast is very basic. Maybe look at the sausages they are not very good?
Location: Location in St Paul's Bay right on the water! Pick up point for the hop-on-hop-off buses! Do not miss Da Rosi the restaurant opposite the hotel!
This hotel is very good located within walking distance of a few good restaurants and shops just around the corner! The biggest plus for this hotel is Maryrose, the Receptionist! She went out of her way to book tours for me. Advice on what to see and what to do. She worked out a full program for me for all the time I was there. And every time I walk past reception there is always a smile on her face! Nothing is ever too much for Maryrose!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gordon from london

Great Location

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Great Location
Cons: Total refurb.
Location: Lots to do the hotel is at the quiet end of the bay but the night life is just a short walk along the coast.
Great Location but the hotel was built in the 80s and it shows, is in need of of renovation and does not justify the 4 stars above the door. Large amounts of mastic was used in the bathroom to prevent leaks from old fittings, air con just blew the air around and did not cool. There was fitting on the wall for flat screen TV but no TV and old CRT one was there to replace it which had the front panel taken off to enable you to access the controls (exposed circuit board & wires) as there was no remote. When you did get it working the picture was vary poor like viewing through a snow storm. The hotel was charging top dollar compared to similar hotels and the staff told me it was due for a refurb in Nov 2013 so be aware, but it is in a great location with friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Manchester UK

3-star Hotel / 5-star view / 5-star staff

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Quiet; relaxing; small; excellent staff
Cons: furnishings / towels / sunbeds / carpets all a litttle "tired" - needs that refurbishment
Location: St Pauls Bay remains more of a Local Maltese area; snack bars / restaurants good. Nearby Buggiba is clearly suffering from the economic depression.
We have stayed at the Gillieru on every visit to Malta since 1995 [~8 times]. It has always been a cozy, clean, small 2/3 star Hotel with a 5-star view, and this stay was much the same as before, but this time the Hotel was just a little "tired". The food was OK, sometimes a little bland, but no real complaints; the breakfast buffet now includes a hot option [sausage, eggs, etc]. Main complaint was the towels - although replaced daily, some of them were of a quality I would not use to dry my car! The sun-loungers were either newly re-covered [~half] or badly needing same! The owner died last January, and the Hotel is due to close from November to March for refurbishment and probable sale. We await the 2014 brochure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a refurbishment

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: The views from the balconies were absolutely lovely.
Cons: The linens and rooms were a bit too dirty, the coffee at breakfast was undrinkable, and almost everyone had a broken room door or balcony door.
Location: Very good location, close enough to Buggiba to be convenient, but far enough to escape. The kiosk next door does great food at reasonable prices.
Everything at the Gillieru is a bit rundown, but that seemed pretty average for Malta. There are so many little things they could do to make this place a better place to stay. The linens all need replacing, they need to actually clean the rooms, i.e. sweep or vacuum and dust more regularly, not just remake the bed and call it a day. On my third day there they must have actually cleaned under the bed a little because they found a dirty sock from a previous guest and helpfully left it on top of my 'clean' bed. The room doors and balcony doors are broken and none of the locks seems to work. Oh and those show heads, eek. However, Nino at the bar and the lady at the front desk are lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braacknell

Not really four star quality.

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Pros: The location is superb.
Cons: The upkeep of the facilities, everything needs refurbishing.
Location: Over looking St Pauls Bay on one side and the village church on the other.
Although it has many good points the Gillieru cannot really call itself a 4* hotel. Yes the location is good, overlooking the picturesque St Pauls Bay and the staff are all very friendly, but the facilities are starting to look 'tired'. There is nothing majorly wrong but a few niggles lead to a less than perfect experience. The room air conditioning was very noisy and not very effective, leaving us to turn it off and sleep with the windows open, which lead to a lot of traffic noise late at night and early in the mornings. The quality of the linen varied widely, some days excellent some much less so. The shower outlet was very low, I am only 1.7m tall and it was below my head. The bathroom basin had several chips in it. Anyone staying here with a car, do not go out in it on Saturday night as it is next to impossible to find a parking space within a mile when you return.
2 out of 5
by Polly, fiftyish from N Wales UK

Great views and location but air con. is a big con

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: Great location. Not too big. Authentic with plenty of storage.
Cons: Effeciency of the air conditioning in the room. Shower too low for people less than 5ft 5 ins. Grubby towels. Unfitted sheets.
Location: Ideal location for those wanting peace and quiet in a picturesque setting. A lively resort is just around the corner but not intrusive.
The hotel has fantastic views and is in a quiet location within easy reach of the hustle and bustle of Buggiba if needed (5 mins. walk) The food is lovely and the hotel has character. However the air conditioning in our 5th floor room was totally inadequate. It's normal practice for the hotel to turn the air con. on and off at set times e.g on at 11.00 p.m for few hours and then again at 7.00 a.m. This meant the temperature was never lower than 25 deg C.in our room. After pointing this out several times over 4 or 5 days air was removed from the system and our room was cool for the last 2 nights out of 10! The hairdryer provided kept cutting out but thankfully a replacement was provided swiftly. Some towels provided were grubby and old.
2 out of 5
by Richard from Wakefield

Too hot in the rooms!

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Nice restaurant
Cons: Lack of air con
Location: Good location, great views, slightly out of the main town which helped keep the noise down.
Air conditioning doesn't work in the rooms! Not acceptable in a mediterranean summer, especially as the rooms are advertised as air conditioned. This spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from from San Franscicso

very nice at a reasonable price

Posted Jun 9, 2012
Pros: Mary Rose at the front desk
Cons: Breakfast food
Location: Location is good, but all the tours route through Sliema which is about 35 minutes away. Lotsa restaurants very near.
Mary Rose at the front desk is wonderful. The hotel really looks just like the pictures. Pool is salt water, but very nice and clean. The breakfasts have great service but the food is somewhat mediocre, Canned beans, hot dogs and poor coffee, boxed juice. Choices of fresh fruit you can take along. On the route of the Northern bus tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a friendly and helpful stay

Posted May 19, 2012
Maryrose is a real delight - she was such a big help to me with planning tours and trips to get the most from my trip. St Pauls is a great location - away from the really touristy areas. Thank you very much.