Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Istanbul

Spa is not up to standard

Posted Nov 5, 2014
We stayed 2 nights for a girl's trip, so usage of the spa was important, but it was very dissapointing. It was in need of upgrading, showers were dirty & it was sloppy wet everywhere. Sciacca restaurant next door was great, but the bar crowd around the hotel was not to our taste.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Aust

Location good for nightlife

Posted Nov 4, 2014
First time to Malta reuniting with old friends Hotel was in great spot Avenue restaurant was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. Thank you for rating our hotel and are glad you enjoyed the entertainment in and around the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kaltenbrunn, Germany

Four nights for my wife's Birthday

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Cons: Heated outdoor pool would have been nice.
Location: Quiet room, just 50 meters from the clubbing district. Never heard the music or thumping.
We had a wonderful stay during my wife's Birthday. Valet was a nice touch. Front desk personnel were genuinely pleasant. We had breakfast only because we wanted to experience the local cuisine. Breakfast was simply amazing... a must during your stay. Overall 5 star quality for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We again wish you wife a very happy birthday and are delighted that you were able to celebrate it with us. Thank you for mentioning the service you received from our staff and the attention they gave you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom london

Malta long weekend

Posted Oct 28, 2014
nice hotel in a good location, Very large hotel, good for a long weekend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. It is very pleasing for us to read that you enjoyed your long weekend with us and found the location convenient for your holiday. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

A very fun stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The balcony was very nice to have a quiet drink while watching the world go by. Staff were friendly and the hotel itself felt more pleasantly classy. I would definitely come back to this hotel. Room facilities excellent and they have a safe too. Free wifi also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and greatly appreciated you mentioning our staff so positively in your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

good but noisy location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The staff, the roof top pool and the strip of beach - very handy as there are not many beaches in Malta :) Perfect for a good swim in a quiet bay.
Cons: the noise from the clubs (inside the rooms...) - it is too much....
Location: Walk up the steps through the madness of the bars & clubs, keep on walking straight until you reach Spinola Bay - perfect for a nice waterside dinner
We had an absolutely brilliant time in Malta. The Intercontinental is located in the bars & clubbing district of Paceville. We stayed in a garden facing room (room 518) however located near a fire exit and you can hear the bass lines all night long if you are a light sleeper. Despite that I would still say it's a brilliant location as you can walk to Sliema and Spinola Bay easily and have plenty of restaurants to choose from The hotel itself is really nice, the staff were brillant and also really helpful when we didn't quite know how to plan our days in Malta. they suggested a combined Jeep and Boat tour to Gozo which was amazing! Definitely do that. We had ample time to swim and snorkle in the Blue and Crystal lagoon! The breakfast buffet is great and really set us up for the day and the excursions. I would stay there again, however, would need to have a different room as it was just too noisy at night (especially at around 4.30 am when the music seems to be cranked up around the area..)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We do apologise for the noise issue you experienced while you were staying with us. We do sincerely thank you for mentioning our staff in your review it is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkshire

Wish I had stayed longer!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were warm and welcoming. Very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool, clean and well serviced. Relaxed atmosphere, but not sloppy.
Cons: The breakfast, though delicious and so much to choose from, was very noisy, maybe I should have arrived earlier!
Location: Close to shops and sea, seemed to stay up late and a party atmosphere. Nice beach close by, the beach bar and restaurant was a bonus, great cocktails!
Only staying for a weekend for a wedding. The hotel was in ideal location. Close to the sea, shopping and many amenities. I only wish I had had more time to explore the area and fully test out all the hotel facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We do hope you enjoyed attending the wedding while you were here and are sorry that you had to depart after such a short period of time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

lovely time in Malta

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Staff- helpful and friendly. Location- great for bars, clubs as well as a great number of restaurants. Can easily get buses to everywhere else.
Cons: the hotel plans to refurbish soon and this is just about needed. Bigger variety of fresh fruit at breakfast would be good.
Location: for only 6.5 euros you can get a 7 day bus ticket and travel the whole island. Valetta is definitely worth a visit. Lots of boat tours available.
All staff were lovely and extremely helpful. Room had few minor things which could be improved upon such as two chairs inside (there were 2 on balcony), better English language TV channels. Breakfast was good- very varied - I managed to have a different thing every day for 7 days. Loved the chef cooking omelettes to order-juggling many frying pans at once! Management invited us to a drinks reception to give them feedback on our stay so they are obviously committed to improvement. Indoor pool was a bit murky when we swam, outdoor pool was great - lovely to sit in the sun high above everything else. The beach was great too as it was easy to get a sunbed and the beach there is sandy unlike a lot of the coastline which is just rocky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We do appreciate you lovely comments and are most pleased that you would consider the breakfast you enjoyed during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset

O.K. not 5 *

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The staff and garden.
Cons: needs general updating.
Location: ok only if you want bars, cafes, gentlemens clubs!
Real strength is the staff, efficient and personable. Rooms are in need of updating, espescially the bathrooms. Leaking shower, broken tiles,' worn' toilet seat! General smell of damp(superior room). Gone into 'beach holiday' mode, 'fed 'em quick and get them out the door! No real hotel lounge for post dinner coffee, relaxation, surely this should be provided in a 5*? Beach area very tatty. Lovely garden, shame about the location of hotel, broken pavements and general demeritus of night life right outside the door. Should have researched general area more. Suit the beach crowd holiday maker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We do apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay we do hope you have the opportunity to discuss them at your earliest opportunity.. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom eastbourne

Nice hotel, would stay again

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Service, facilities, restaurants
Cons: Room cleaning ... Needs to be completed earlier in the day , see summary above
Location: The night life centre so clubs, bars and restaurants all a short walk from the hotel. Double glazing means no sounds can be heard but it's lively!!
we were a little apprehensive about noise from the lively area in which the hotel was situated. Suffice all was ok, yes, it is in a lively area but the window gazing was sound proof. Other reviewers had also mentioned " noisy air conditioning ... When we arrived we were allocated a room on the 8th floor and yes, it was noisy BUT it is not the air conditioning but the plant equipment that is below the pool and in our case above our room... The second day we asked to move rooms and as others have said were moved to a room over looking the garden. Rooms are all well decorated and furnished, iron board , iron, dressing gowns and slippers are all provided as are tea / coffee making and a fully stocked min bar( care those - 3 euros for a small water ( 60 p in local shops) a safe for valuables is also provided. Staff .....are all very pleasant and so,so helpful.. A special " thank you" to: Damien for arranging the dentist, Joseph for suggesting the bus / ferry combo to get to Valletta and Lea for arranging the alternative room. Restaurants .. Loved the "Water biscuit" great food, good service ... Only two minor gripes .. Music too loud and really cold from the air conditioning. " Paranga".. Spot on with the food, service could be better ... Alexandra was the exception , a real gem of a waitress ( thank you for making the evening ) .. Pool area ... Fabulous but could do with a "quiet " area where music isn't playing Room cleansing... One area for improvement ... Face cloths no
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by David Bache, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing us with feedback concerning your stay. We are very pleased that despite your initial hesitation we were able to put that aside and assist you throughout your stay. We are also very pleased that our staff were able to be of great service throughout your stay and must thank you for mentioning Damien, Joseph, Lea and Alexandra in your review. Lastly we appreciate you very positive comments regarding the need for a 'quiet' area by the pool and assure that this is something we will aim to solve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive