Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Caerphilly UK

Overall a pleasant visit

Posted May 6, 2012
Location: Close to beach
Staff were very friendly and obliging.The food was superb. They advised us of a suitable route to the airport next morning. The staff were quite open about the fact that refurbishment of the hotel is a work in progress,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Building work in progress

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Good Location, but under reconstruction, only one floor of the hotel open, some of the facilities are not avaiable, no bath, no TV remote, no heating or air conditioning, disc cutters being used in the dinning room whilst breakfast was in progress, (needed ear defenders & Dust mask). I have used this hotel a few times before, the price has gone up, the condition has currently deteriated, beond staying. Hopfully with current building completed, they will become a success again, but its very unfortunate for current customers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Ocean Reef - beside the beach :)

Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
a great place to stay if you want to relax, great service from the various barmen and helpers with the language barrier not coming into play as everyone has great english. The swimming pool is refreshing and clean and the beach and peaceful sea was a minutes walk away. Also close by were restaurants and a 10 minute walk brought you into the heart of the town of Marsacala which is a beautiful place. Buses leave regularly for the capitol Valleta and take about half an hour. The rooms are big, spacious and simple. Also with air conditioning thank god! I would highly recommend Ocean Reef for its great price, great location and friendly staff who made me feel very welcome.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guildford, United Kingdom

Cheap and chearfull

Posted Jul 24, 2011
Very basic, still trying to provide breakfast in the Hotel. The beach bar not too far away and not all rooms air con'ed. Clean but, they need to do more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Dissapointed

Posted Apr 29, 2011
Great location, grotty hotel. The room & bathroom were large, however the room was cold, damp and smelt stale. There was mould on the ceiling, the paint was peeling off the ceiling, the air con only blew cold and the furniture and mirrors were dusty. It had clearly not been hoovered prior to my arrival and the carpet was covered in stains. As soon as dark fell the windows started to run with condensation,even using the extra blanket I was cold in bed at night. I had to ask for the lights to be switched on in the corrider after dark and I had to ask for a fresh towell as the one I had used the previous evening was still wet. One day the room was not made up at all.Breakfast was stale bread, curled up ham and frozen butter along with a cheese slice and a small glass of orange juice. I was the only person for dinner which was freezer to fryer. Prior to booking Expedia phoned the hotel for me to check whether or not the swimming pool would be open and were assured it would be open. There was no water in it and the surrounding terrace was full of weeds, cracked tiles etc. During the week the hotel changed hands and together with the new owners the builders arrived. The air con then gave out heat and the bread at breakfast was fresh. The new owners obviously have improvements planned so maybe by summer this will be a pleasant place to stay - it has great potential. However after a week in a cold, damp room I now have a chest infection - not what I expected from a spring break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Economical with a warm welcome, will revisit

Posted Jun 3, 2010
This hotel is new to expedia, I have traveled to Malta a few times, the hotel is basic, but has air conditioning, tv and is very clean, fresh towels etc, the breakfast is continetal, but a full english etc was available at a small cost. the owner was very welcoming. I will definatly visit again as it's in a quite location, is conveniant for walkers but is on a regular bus route there were 8 buses an hour in may, the bus travel is very cheap. There is a bar at the hotel, the beers are cheap 1.50 euro, the main resurants ar in Marskarla, prices are good portions are large, all in all a good place.