Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by janus

no a/c or internet

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
there was no aircondition or internet.. we couldnt contact the managment while we were there! VERY bad service!
1 out of 5
by Adrian from Leicester

Definitely NOT 4 Star But 2 Star

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Packing and Leaving
Cons: staying there
Location: Location was good for amenities
The Hotel is no way a 4 star, more a 2 star with a pool inside. Air con in the rooms was noisy and not effective. Black out curtains didn't work as they didn't fit, pillows were like sleeping on a horse carcus fill with cement but it was clean. No tea and coffee in your room, no mini fridge, eventho there should be one, patio's were communal places where other guests could sit at any hour of the night to drink, smoke and be loud in order to wake you up and ask reception staff to have them moved. This really is Faulty Towers,(not Fawlty.) Wifi is NOT available in all rooms only in reception
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgrace

Posted Aug 21, 2012
The first day we went to check in and they said they were fully booked!! So we had to get another taxi to a completely different hotel for one night there was no air con it was a disgrace!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hook Hampshire

Sound value

Posted Oct 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is not a 4 star hotel, more like 2/3 star. However, hotels com got us a room with balcony and 2 x breakfasts for 5 days at a very good price. Very good value, no complaints at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The Crown Hotel in St Paul's Malta

Posted Sep 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
The best thing that can be said about the Crown is that it is located close to a lot of the stores/restautants/coast line. The Hotel is starting to have a run down feel about it with one lift being almost always out of service or in the process of being repaired. The bar in the hotel is dark and only 2 nights is there any entertainment which was very average. The Irish Pub attached is closed - not sure how long this has been the case. The pool on the roof is quiet good but the snack shop only sells drinks/crisps and ice cream - it is not possible to get any other food. The week that we were there the pool had a very strange color and there was some milkey liquid that was not water in the pool that made the visability awful.The Breakfast is good and I did not sample the evening meal. The rooms that I booked were very dark with no outside windows - they only had sliding doors into a very small courtyard that had no natural light. Overall the hotel was fair - the location good, the breakfast good , the pool was not great - very few umbrellas , lots of broken sun loungers, with a very limited supply of drinks, snacks, ice creams and not other food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

a long walk up the hill !

Posted Aug 19, 2011
we arrived at the crown on august 10 ,from the outside the hotel looks ok , specially in comparison to some hotels around it . Stangely loads of teenagers would congregate every night in the reception ( we never found out why). We couldn't find a bar serving alcohol anywhere in the hotel , and the Irish Bar advertised was shut the whole time , the entertainment consisted of 1 man playing a CD !!! . One of the two lifts were out of order , and still was as we left a week later. the breakfast room and food were all very nice , but dont expect sausage and bacon to taste like at home. the room was basic but passable , however we had a strange little seating area outside the room instead of a balcony, which was fairly useless. If you have a problem with mobility this is NOT the place for you , the hotel is impossible to get to without negotiating a series of steps and hills , I am on crutches and i was worn out everyday, and have come home for a rest !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

The Crown HOTEL

Posted Aug 18, 2011
Staff helpful, room nice on ground floor with patio area. Maid cleaned room each day clean towels sheets etc. Hotel looks as if it needs some attention indoor pool was unusable it was filthy would be better to drain it and close room. Swimming pool on the roof a nice size pool but again it didnt look clean you could not see your feet once in the pool, many of the sunbeds were broke and there were three sun umbrellas. They have a small snack bar run by friendly staff but they only sell drinks crisps and icecream. We enjoyed our stay but this hotel could be so much nicer if a little bit of money was spent on it to improve standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Poopy smell in the room

Posted Jun 2, 2011
First let me say that this is a budget hotel and I knew that going in. When we arrived it took them several minutes to locate our reservation that had been done on Expedia. They eventually were able to find them and we were assigned a room. The room: I had two twin beds pushed together to make a “King”, this was not all that bad, but there advertisement says it is a “King” bed room. When we entered the room there was a distinct odor of sewage. My wife said what is that “poopy smell”, could never locate the problem and when we told the front desk that said they would check it out (it was never fixed). There was no air conditioning in the room. Once again in there advertisement it said there was and that is why we booked here instead of other budget room that said they did not have air. It did not work for two days. When we complained we were told that it would be fixed, day one - it was not. The next day we complained again and the front desk said it had not been turned on yet. When we told them that there add said they had air and that is why we booked there it was finally fixed. We were traveling with another couple and they brought them a fan, which really made my wife mad. They are not close to anything, the neighborhood is, to say the least, run down compared to other areas of Malta. My recommendation would be to stay in Sliema or Valetta it is much easier to get around there without a car and there is much more shopping and fun things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

says what it is on tin

Posted Aug 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
Exactly as expected for the price. Cant but recommend this hotel. Very friendly staff too
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Muscat, Oman

I intend to return

Posted May 19, 2010
This hotel is a four star when all the facilities are working, but it is at a two star price.