Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

Great hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Our stay was excellent . Very friendly staff especially restaurant staff at breakfast. Good selection of hot and cold buffet food . Two outdoor pools on roof terrace was a good bonus with great views Good location and a must do is the supreme boat trips which are value for money and commentary is in English only not 5 languages .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, friendly staff, excellent service

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Beautiful, spacious room. Great restaurants and pool area. Location was fab
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Very nice hotel in Sliema

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Excellent staff, polite and friendly. Hotel well appointed, stunning roof top pool! The Asian restaurant is one of the best I have ever been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a good position for exploring

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Staff were professional and always on hand to help. Breakfast was excellent
Cons: The housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. During a five night stay, we twice returned to the room to find that we only had one towel.
Location: Easy stroll to the Valletta ferry and only fifteen minutes walk to St Julian's Bay, this hotel was well positioned to make the most of Malta.
Great hotel with two roof top pools for total relaxation away from Sliema's busy streets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from London

Magnificent hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The hotel location is very convenient for Sliema, St Julian's and Valetta. The rooms are spacious with views of the harbour and the church bells are easy to adjust to after one night. The rooftop swimming pool is something else with all round sea views and the nearby Indian restaurant is first rate. Thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Liverpool

Lovely hotel in quiet location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Very welcoming appearance, the staff are polite and friendly, my room was spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The wi-fi was unreliable, although it is free. The street map of Sliema was not very informative, although again it is free, i.e. not much to improve.
Location: On a quiet street, a short walk to the front for the ferry to Valletta and buses, and all the trips and tours. Lots of shops and restaurants.
My first visit to Malta and pleased that I chose Sliema and The Palace Hotel. Located in a quiet street the hotel is a short walk away from a good choice of restaurants and shops and access to the excellent bus and ferry services. The more lively resorts of St Julian's and Paceville are close enough to get to, so one can have the best of both worlds.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Aberdeen

More 4 star hotel with room for improvement

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Temtasian Restaurant is great, with good food and amazing views
Cons: Customer service, decor in the bathrooms.
Location: The boat to Valetta is nearby. Several shops, supermarkets and mall are walking distance
This was our second time at the Palace hotel and we stayed for 9 days. The hotel itself is more a 4 star, with the decor being a bit worn in the rooms and bathrooms, around the pool and halls. There are only two lifts (or appear to be), with one of them being out of service during the day almost daily. You will also see the houskeeping and minibar staff using the same lifts with the big trolleys and in a 5 star hotel I would expect them to have a service lift for this. The food at breakfast is good, but quite sparse after 9:30, you can get decent espressos from the bar that is adjacent to the breakfast room. The room was kept clean, but our maid kept forgetting to give us clean towels after she took the dirty ones away. The location of the hotel is decent, walking distance to anything around, including a supermarket round the corner and some bigger shops around 10 minutes away. What really disappointed us at the Palace was the service, which felt more Premier Inn rather than 5 star. On our last day at around 11:50 there was a call from reception to ask us when we are leaving, followed by a loud knock at the door not 3 minutes later from the concierge asking if we are ready to vacate the premises. I actually checked the watch and even though I don't want to be pedantic, it was 11:53 so we were still not over the mid-day cut off. Anyway, this has left a bad taste and after having stayed at other 5 star establishments in Europe, The Palace in my opinion doesn't quite make it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, pleasant location

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Good location, pleasant room and a huge bed.
Cons: Aircon wasn't particularly effective and a bit noisy.
Location: In a quiet street but a short walk to the waterfront and the shopping heart of Sliema.
Stayed 7 nights. Good sized room on the 3rd floor facing the Church and with a view over to Valetta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Pool area and bar service excellent. Not the cheapest but paid far more in similar standard hotels elsewhere.
Cons: Corridors felt very warm.
Location: Up a steep hill between both sides of Sliema giving easy access to all sorts of shops and restaurants. Best of all closer to Sliema ferries.
Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable. What more do you want?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from lincoln

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Went for a four day quick break. Hotel beautiful, staff couldn't be more courteous or helpful, nothing too much for them. As for the bells that some complain about; don,t worry, they only add to the experience and anyway they've been there many hundreds of years longer than the hotel, enjoy their history. If you can't then close the balcony doors, absolutely no noise, and air conditioning. Sorted!