Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday party

Posted May 20, 2014
Friendly hotel staff great nothing too much bother for Norman the manager enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good overnight stay while out on bussines close t

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Very friendly staff, gave it a very cosy atmosphere, comfortable lounge area and a very good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
by price from lincoln

needs refurbing

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel as part of my parents 60th wedding anniversary present, as was disappointed to find that despite our specific request for them to have a ground floor room, they were put upstairs in a dingy dark room up 2 flights of stairs !!!!!!..They had had 1 night there when I arrived for my nights stay, so it had to be sorted out... The rooms need decorating badly and the corridors too !!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms for overnight wedding trip

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: it was just 'OK'
Cons: Renovation to update - everything
Location: According to the leaflet stands there were lots of interesting things to do, and would go back to the area.
We booked through Expedia for a bed and breakfast stay, due to a family wedding in the area. We thought that the price seemed a bit steep for the area, for room and breakfast was extra - therefore we did not have breakfast there. As we arrived the man on reception was helpful but his manner was quite abrupt. The bar was not open in time for our lunch before the wedding so did not see bar area or menu. I had emailed to ask in advance about gluten free options in case, and they were very helpful about that. Overall, it is very tired and needs painting and odd things like doors etc replacing to update it. It was clean, but our double bed was up against a wall which was not comfortable at all. Cleaning staff noisily getting hoover out and slamming doors from 6am. It served our purpose but not to be recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Manchester

Lovely luxurious room!

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Very impressed with my four poster bed and very spacious room and staff were very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for visiting Pickering

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Welcome and quality of room
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideal for visiting Pickering when we attended the 60's weekend !
The external looked tired but the welcome and friendliness of the whole team made it a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Dorset

Great location between York and Moors

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Good choice and quality of food for dinner. Good location close to Moors and Castle Howard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Gill from Doncaster

Dogs made very welcome!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: Spotless rooms
Cons: Décor could do with updating
Location: Fabulous location between Malton and Pickering
We chose the Beansheaf for an overnight stay on a walking weekend with our Border Collie. On booking through Expedia we had added the message that we would be bringing our dog and very disappointingly the message hadn't been passed through, but the owner made our dog very welcome and had no problem whatsoever with the unexpected arrival. The hotel is a little tired décor-wise and in need of updating but I understand the present owners haven't been there long. However, the room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable with crisp linen and for the price our stay was faultless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A.B.Cornwall

lOCATED CLOSE TO AREAS WE WANTED TO VISIT

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
COMFORTABLE AND FRIENDLY STAFF.MEALS -ADEQUATE.BREAKFAST DID NOT MENTION POSSIBILITY OF ALTERNATIVE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST ALTHOUGH THIS MIGHT HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE HAD WE ASKED.OVERALL PRETTY GOOD