Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Lancs

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Location: Perfect location for visiting Castle Howard
Great room, great bed, great food, great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kanata from Sussex

Wonderful large room. Very good second bedroom.

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed it very much. Good location for Castle Howard, the coast and the moors. Very generous portions for meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by johnnoggy

The Cresswell Arms.

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was very easy to find,accommodation was excellent and in delightful surroundings.Meals were reasonably priced and enough to feed the hungriest of people.service was excellent staff very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly but more homely than 4star
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joop from Southampton

Run by pride

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: The quality of bedrooms, food, the pub itself.
Cons: Would have liked a king size bed.
Location: Great for Castle Howard and exploring Yorkshire
A 1 night stay. Extremely well run establishment. Nice quiet, homely place, not far from Castle Howard. A welcome atmosphere. The rooms are very tasteful, mega clean, separate from the pub itself, like a motel. If we knew what we were getting we would have stayed longer! Food excellent, good menu. Nothing was a hassle, home from home! The owner's have taken great pride with their business right down to individual vanity sets placed on towels on the bed. it's those simple things that make all the difference! Great place to use as a base to explore Yorkshire. Quality! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan

Ideal for Castle Howard

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Liked the courtyard and individual rooms
Excellent accommodation - just right for two things, a visit to "The Talbot - James Martins restaurant in Malton" and also ideal for a wedding we were attending at Castle Howard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by fabn50 from North Lincolnshire

Quality hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nothing but the highest praise for the Cresswell Arms. A cheery welcome, clean, spacious room, fabulous food, waitresses really friendly and helpful, all made a special birthday celebration extra special. Will definitely book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Spindle2735 from Coventry

Overnight Stay

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Beautiful accommodation and a rustic farmhouse feel.
Cons: Speed of serving breakfast.
Location: It is only a few minutes drive from Malton. Ideal location for day trips to York, Scarborough, Pickering.
We didn't get to spend much time here as we checked in after lunch time and attended a family Wedding for the rest of the day. The accommodation was perfect, immaculate and very comfortable and close to Malton. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again. Unfortunately I had a hangover so missed out on a fry up! There were plenty of cereals, yoghurt and fruit juice to choose frominstead. It took a while for my partner to receive his breakfast but that's my only complaint, may just be a one off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BrianN from Edinburgh

stay at Cresswell Arms

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The welcoming atmosphere and the staff.
Location: Between Helmsley and Malton. . Englsh Heritage properties nearby. Horse riding opportunities
Welcomed by proprietor in the car park. Modern room. Large bathroom. Wide range of beers. Delicious bar and restaurant meals. Own grown vegetables. Free WiFi. DAB radio. Value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mrs Walker from Barnsley

Beautiful!

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. We booked as we were going to an event at Castle Howard. The hotel was above and beyond what we expected and I would definitely stay again!