Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by su from ca

Remodeled recently. Fair.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Room was fine. Newerly remodeled partialy. But not working fireplace, too low water power at shower.
3 out of 5
by Vicki

Breakfast was horrible. Mostly white flour choice

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Room was crowded. Sink without vanity made getting ready a challenge. Too much furniture in a small space.
3 out of 5
by Big from California

Improvements needed

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A lot of things - breakfast hours, parking etc
Location: nothing really since it was at the inner side of the town.
It was very hard to find a parking space. There were so many steps to go up to the hotel and it was hard when you took the luggage in the snowing days. The time for breakfast at 7:30 am is kind of late if you wanted to go up to the mountain to get some skiing before the traffice. I can hear all the noises from next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect Location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: location location location. Staff are very friendly.
Cons: Hot tub cleanliness
Location: skiing, shopping, hiking
The location is perfect, ski in/ski out next to Canyon Lodge. The room was comfortable, updated and clean, comfortable bed. Heater worked fine, room temp good. The restaurant and bar is excellent, good food and happy hour. There were very few guests during our stay due to lack of snow so we had the place to ourselves, including the hot tub, but the hot tub turned out to be such a disappointment. The hot tub had so much potential, it's on a deck with a view of the slopes. We were so cold once we got outside that we quickly jumped in only to find that it was disgustingly dirty. There was dirt on the bottom, algae along the water line and what looked like bodily fluids floating all around. The pump supposedly was working but was not enough..the cleanliness was unacceptable and could so easily have been cleaned and maintained to really enhance the overall experience of staying here.
3 out of 5
by Will from California

Not worth the money!

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance (75 yds) to Schoolyard Express lift and Canyon Lodge.
Cons: Better quality of cleaning bed sheets, and use less oil on furniture.
Location: Skiing at Mammoth Mountain (within walking distance to slopes), visit the hot springs
We stayed at Austria Hof over New Years Eve, but weren't exactly thrilled. I'm not sure if it was because of NYE or if a lot of other hotels were already completely booked, but it was definitely not worth the kind of money we spent. The room was very small, with a very uncomfortable Queen bed. The bed sheets and comforter seemed like they were washed but we still found some hairs on them, maybe from the dryer? And like another person reviewed, the carpets and furniture were very slippery. I just found it plain odd. What kind of furniture oil are they dusting with to leave everything that slippery? The bathroom was very small, and cramped. I'm glad I brought a toiletries bag that you can hang up because there is no counter or sink space, as it's just a pedestal sink. The water pressure in the shower wasn't much either. The only positive I found about the bathroom was there is a space heater in the ceiling that you can turn on while you're in there, so it made it much more comfortable to be in there when it was cold in the morning. The free continental breakfast was scarce, and the coffee was not very good. The Restaurant downstairs was actually pretty good, but fairly expensive. I did like that we were 75 yards from the Schoolyard Express lift. However, it's not that hard to drive in from town, so unless you can't find something cheaper, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Patrick Driscoll from Mission Viejo, CA

Great deal for the location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We wanted to be close to Mammoth without paying an exorbitant rate. Austria Hof was a perfect fit, being within walking distance to the Mammoth Mountain Canyon Lodge chairlifts. The price was competitive for the area. The staff was very courteous and professional. Great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Job from E

Very close to canyon lodge

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Nice location, room was nice but a tad small. And there was no screen on the window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Very close to Canyon Lodge. Free parking and WiFi and breakfast. Good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
This hotel looks old. The room is so narrow, and uncomfortable. The price is expensive. The foods is expensive. The worst thing is the pillows, the owners of this hotel have no idea about what kind of pillows they put into their hotel. They put 4 same pillows of same size, same thickness (very thick), very hard that hurt terribly your neck into 1 queen bed, no choice. The owners should be caring, intelligent, and sensitive enough to try their pillows before putting these hard rock pillow put into the rooms. !!! I will never come back and stay away from this hotel !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but no internet/TV remote.

Posted Dec 26, 2013
The location of the hotel is nice, and the room is clean. But when the TV remote is not working, I was told there is nothing they can do. And then I got the same answer when the wifi is not working. The restaurant is nice, but you can smell the food all day long in the room, which I fount it pretty unpleasant.