Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twain Harte, CA

At the base of Mammoth Mountain ski area

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: service in the restaurant
This would be an amazing place to stay in winter if you're a skier. In September it was fun to watch the mountain bikers flying down the mountain from the window of our room. Except for the slow service and the "just ok" food in the hotel restaurant, this is a great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Worst stay in years

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Honestly, it was just bad. From the beginning we had problems. Unable to find using GPS. Then we I called for help, he seemed annoyed. When I checked in, they informed me if a bundled $20 "facility fee" which is required, of which I used none. I couldn't even find the wifi signal. The room was old, not well kept, and dirty. The AC didn't work, and the bathroom was disgusting. Please have someone contact me to discuss. I feel like I'm a pretty reasonable person, but this was ridiculous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great for skiers - OK for everyone else

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Cons: Bit of updating in the chalet blocks needed.
Location: Not an awful lot to do here in the summer. You can get the bus to the Devil's Postpile from here though which is well worth a trip in the summer.
Just to be clear - this review was based on a summer visit so clearly we wern't skiing. As a ski resort you probably can't do better as the ski lifts are right on site. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel in the summer. The first time we stayed in the main hotel which was great. This time though we were given a room in one of the separate chalet buildings. These are not so great. The room had definitely seen better days. The window was damaged and didn't close properly which meant the wind was blowing through all night. Not really a problem in summer but I guess winter guests wouldn't be too impressed. The room was clean however and the bed was comfortable and the shower was fine so all the basics were covered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mountain resort in the offseason

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Came to stay one night after a few days backpacking in the mountains. Shower drained very slowly, so we had to stand in dirty water while trying to get clean, pretty unpleasant feeling. Cable signal was slow and produced a scattered image until I tightened the cable, which was falling out of the wall. Rooms are outdated, you get the feeling you are paying for the location, across the parking lot from the mountain. Except we were there in the summer and not interested in the mountain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

watch out for hidden resort fees!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
for 457.00 for 3 night we were expecting much, much better. our room was small, dark and the bathroom was even smaller. PLUS, they add a 20.00 per night resort fee which is supposedly for maid service, coffee in room, etc. what a ripoff...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Very nice room, accommodations were great, good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Near trails.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were very nice and helpful.
We had nice time. The hotel lobby is very warm and inviting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Pet Friendly

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Hotel was billed as pet friendly but was nothing of the sort. We arrived for our stay only to find out there would be a $50 per pet fee and a $200 deposit. Neither of these charges was mentioned up front.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Above Average, Not More.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This hotel was well kept, but showed it's age and didn't have the touches of TLC that would take it up a notch. For example, faucet in bathroom sprayed sideways and was gushing water. Clearly, any maid service attendant would notice this, yet they still rented the room? Visited in the off season (summer) and cannot imagine fitting all my winter snow/ski car in the room as it was quite small and not designed with space for this. Disappointing because when people don't have a spot to put their gear at night it likely ends up on wood furnishings, etc. that get ruined. Just a little more strategic upkeep would take this spot to the next level. Customer Service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome two bedroom suite.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, bed, bathroom.
Cons: The price could be lower. :)
Location: It was my first trip to Mammoth, it was close to the snow resort.
This was an awesome room. It was pet friendly, and the room layout was awesome. There was a bed on the main floor and on the second floor. I recommend trying out the pool. THe pool was a perfect temperature.