Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from San Lorenzo, CA

Convenience, cozy hotel in Mammoth

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: convenient location, large room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, clean, free wifi and free continental breakfast.
Cons: If there is air conditioner instead of fan would be better.
Location: Near skiing area and Devils Postpile National Monument.
I booked 3 rooms with king bed. But I requested one room to change to double beds when I arrived, and the staff did not charge extra for that. Originally they will charge $10 extra for double beds room. It is close to restaurants, shopping center and skiing area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amelia from Singapore

Great stay

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Clean and cosy. Simple breakfast (bagels and coffees) can be delightful too!
Though it was a short night stay for us, the staff kindly recommended us the scenic spots around the vicinity and not to be missed. Definitely the highlight of our trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Dan from Los Angeles, CA

Good value

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Almost dead center to the old part of town, right off the main drag.. Clean, comfortable, helpful staff.
Cons: Walls are a bit thin, but not too bad
Location: Angel's Barbeque right next door; Outlet shops across the street; central location to the town.
Often go up to Mammoth area by myself to "get away from it..." Spend as much time fishing and walking aound as possible, so I just need a clean, comfortable place to sleep in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from los angeles, CA

Convenient motel near mountain busline.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient for local public tranportation. Good hot shower. Nice staff.
Cons: Any amenities in the room... Bedding is awful! Television tiny.
Location: Best ski mountain in California!
Not much in the way of amenities (& bring your earplugs!) but functional, option in Mammoth... I was suprized at the high price for this reservation, I could have easily found a condo for the cost of this room! My friend's we're staying there, & it was convenient for mountain transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brodie from Long Beach, CA

Convenient location with a large room.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Large room and comfortable bed.
Cons: Continental breakfast. Last weekend it was bagels, Cereal and fruit. Would like to see a couple other options for those that desire gluten free.
Location: Across the street from Angels restaurant. Bus stop to the village is just outside the door. Covered parking and lockers to lock your ski equip in.
Large rooms, microwave and refrigerator. Bed was comfortable. Ski and snowboards can been locked in provided lockers to keep it out of the rooms and out of your car. Big plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Valencia, CA

OK. Dated.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location central to Mammoth Main Street stores and restaurants and not too far from the Village.
Cons: Add sheer curtains to the option of privacy while letting in some daylight. Update the TV. Upgrade the common spa.
Location: Mammoth Mountain ski resort. Biking in the summer. Mammoth Lakes. Devil's Postpile. Mammoth Brewery.
The place was OK. My room was clean and spacious, if a bit dated. Everything I used worked. The staff seemed friendly. The breakfast was adequate. WiFi worked but was not fast. My few particular complaints: The only curtains on the window were blackout curtains. So if I wanted privacy (the Travel Lodge is right across the way) I had to draw the blackout curtains and block out the sun in the morning; which I would rather see at the appropriate time. The outdoor spa was small and did not look particularly clean or inviting. The TV in the room was a tiny old CRT -- but on the other hand I suppose no one goes to Mammoth to watch TV. I paid $119 + taxes and fees on Expedia. Could have paid $103 through Tripadvisor. Anywhere other than Mammoth Lakes CA, I would expect an equivalent room for $80 or less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andman from Boston, MA

Convenient, great value, 5 minutes to mountain

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Overall great value.
Cons: Nothing to be improved.
The mountain is a 5 minute drive or bus ride to the mountain (the bus stops right out in front of the hotel). There was a free continental breakfast every morning which included, fresh bagels, cereal, coffee, etc. which was really convenient. There was a great little living room to eat breakfast in. Great hot tub right outside our room which we could access from our deck and the hotel room included a pull-out sofa bed so the three of us each had a separate place to sleep. The hotel manager could not have been more friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Inexpensive but highly outdated. We stayed 1 night and it was tolerable. The Jacuzzi was not old and worn and not hot...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at Sierra Lodge. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. At Sierra Lodge we are continually working to update components of the hotel. The hot tub is programmed to reach and maintain a temperature of 104 degrees,. the universally recommended temperature, so our apologies if it was not hot enough for you. I have noted your other comment on the hot tub and we will tend to that as soon as the weather permits. Please call or email Mark 760-934-8881 or email info@sierraldoge.com specifics so we may make note and take corrective actions. Thank you very much.
1 out of 5
by eddie from palm sparings

Deffentaly not 4.1 of 5 Maybe 3 of 5

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Very thin walls can hear Next door room. Will not recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Orange County, CA

weekend ski trip

Posted Feb 10, 2014
The front desk was nice and helpful. The room was large. It was nothing special and the bathroom is a little outdated but everything was clean. I was actually expecting less for the price we paid. The covered parking was great with lockers to put your skis in. The location is perfect - shuttle stop right outside and John's Pizza across the street. The only draw back was you could hear the hallway doors shutting every time someone used them.