Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Great relaxing vacation !!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Multiple beach and pool options. Great variety of food and beverages. Beachfront rooms.
Cons: Bathrooms are a bit dated, but still comfortable. Some seaweed collects on beach daily but removed in timely fashion by staff.
Location: Great location with proximity to English Harbor, Shirley Heights, and natural attractions on South/ East of island (beaches, Devil's Bridge, etc).
Just returned from a week at the St. James Club that we thoroughly enjoyed. If you are looking for serious R & R... this is the place offering multiple beach and pool venues in a beautiful location. Antigua is a nice change of pace from the more crowded islands such as Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, etc.... where you can still find a bit of the "old" Carribbean. The beaches are beautiful (and there are many!). Getting off the beaten path is easy to do.. and highly recommended. The resort is large, but definitely doesn't feel like a "mega resort" with the way it is laid out across the peninsula --- this is one reason that attracted us. Snorkeling cruise to Green Island was a blast -- leaves from resort dock daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel excellent beach choices

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Overall very pleasant experience. Staff is very professional and accommodating. Oceanfront rooms are large and comfortable. Bathroom tiling is a bit worn & appears dirty in spots. Food was good in all of the restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort with great location

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The hotel has large clean rooms and the quality of the food is very good. The resort location provides you with two separate beaches, an ocean side and a harbor side. ...the ocean side gives you a breezier location with waves and beauty and the harbor side is quieter and calmer. ...provides a great opportunity to bounce back and forth depending on mood and temperature. We went in early March and the weather was great. We stayed ocean side. ...turned off the a/c and let the breeze handle things - it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A relaxing resort with wonderful views.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Overall great.
Cons: More activities like bingo or chess, a game room of some sort.
Location: Never left the resort I was comfortable with necessities.
I was pleased overall however one evening when I arranged a shuttle ride back from there Picolo Mondo Restaurant located up the hill to transport me back to my Royal Suite, it never arrived and I had to walk back, I'm an above the knee amputee so I was not pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York

Wonderful resort!

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Food.
Cons: The rooms could be decorated nicer. The beaches had quite a bit of seaweed - probably the result of water currents.
Location: The hotel is about 30 - 45 minutes from the airport. We went out on a catamaran and enjoyed it. We didn't leave the resort otherwise.
We were treated like we were in a 5* resort - not something you would normally find at an all-inclusive. The chef made us conch fritters one night as an appetizer because we made a special request! The buffets were fabulous and the wine was very good. We loved Piccolo Mondo (although there was a $75 add'l charge per couple). The room was adequate and cleaned daily. The staff were outstanding! The beach (both cove & ocean) were not what we expected. They were clean but we have been to Carribean resorts with much nicer beaches. We spent much of the time by the main pool, as a result. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: General atmosphere, staff, rooms, very civilised system of letting you use a room to shower and change in post check out.
Cons: Just personal taste but we'd have loved Docksider restaurant to be table service. Otherwise nothing.
Location: English harbour, Nelson's Dockyard and Shirkey Heights worth visiting. We were only there a week and pretty lazy.
We had a very relaxing stay at St James' resort in January. Lovely ocean view room, would recommend - it was very quiet as only one storey building and directly overlooking the ocean so no people passing the balcony. Food and drinks were consistently good, service always very friendly and generally very good. Shame Docksider restaurant is a buffet, but it was good to at least have one table service restaurant, and we enjoyed the food at both Docksider and Reef. The beach (Mamora) was lovely and very quiet - ideal for relaxing at the far end - and we had the adults only pool to ourselves when we fancied a change. The only disappointment was that it was so windy we couldn't even sit on Coco beach, but that wasn't the hotel's fault! Take a trip to English Hatbour and Nelson's dockyard, as well as Shirley Heights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Lovely resort

Posted Jan 1, 2015
I always check out the bad reviews but wasn't put off by them as you sometimes have to read between the lines! Staff couldn't have been more friendly including maids, porters & security. Food was great and a good selection of places to catch the sun. Beautiful well kept clean beach and pools, beautiful jetty on Mamora beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cortlandt Manor, NY

Great family vacation!

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Options for food and activities.
Cons: The beverages and an ATM on site.
Took the family of four to St. James in Antigua and had a fun and relaxing time. The staff was just very welcoming and attentive and friendly at all times. I can't speak highly enough about what a great team they are. There are many activities for everyone — swimming in the ocean or bay, kayaking, catamaran sailing, paddle-boating, beach sports, etc. There was plenty of food choices — some restaurants were better than others, for sure, but there was quite the variety. The drinks were my only criticism. Not very strong and the wine was simply terrible. And they do need an ATM on site!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cyprus

Lovely resort

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly. We also met some really nice people on holiday there. Very good atmosphere.
Cons: Just small things like bowls of water for feet on your terrace coming off the sand. Maybe beach attendants to serve drinks and keep beaches clean.
Location: The scenery is beautiful. There are masses of bays and beaches to visit. St John's is the capital and main town to visit. Swim with stingrays!
Wonderful 10 days in the sun. Two large beaches, one for watersport the other for lazing in the sun. 3 swimming pools and several bars and lots of activities organised daily. We used 3 of the restaurants regularly and the food was excellent. Couldn't fault it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ewafrom Nice

5 star place!

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic stay again. Beautiful room, friendly staff, good food. Will be back!