Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chesapeake

Great price for Short Stays

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: If you don't mind the heavy traffic the hotel is conveniently located near I-66 and is close to restaurants and shopping. The rates are low.
Cons: The hotel is long overdue for a renovation. The television service is sub standard - poor quality TV.
Location: Close to Mannasas Battlefield, shopping, movie complex. and restaurants
The room was clean with a comforable bed but the facility is very dated. I was on a very short business trip so low price is what drove my decision to stay. The breakfast had a good variety and was very good. The hotel is located right off Sudley Road and the entrance and exit from the hotel backs up with traffic in the morning. This is main reason I will not stay again if I have to stay more than one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and sharing with us what you did and did not like about your stay. Unfortunately, the one thing you did not like is the one thing we cannot control, which is the traffic. We understand if we are not the right fit for your long term business travel needs and appreciate you giving us a fair chance. We do hope you'll stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coastal Virginia

disappointed

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: clean, neat, friendly
Cons: the water situation - hot or at least warm water available for showering, and enough coming out of the shower to get you wet.
Location: It is a good location with food, shopping, and entertainment venues all around
The bed was the best in the last ten years. The breakfast was ok. The room was clean, spacious, linens were fine. Our only problem was that there was no hot water from the shower or sink on Saturday. Sunday morning we let the shower run for about ten minutes hoping it might warm, which it finally did. That didn't help much, as there was no pressure, so only a tiny stream came our of the shower, barely more than a trickle. At check-out I told the desk clerk about the issue and she said she was sorry. I got the idea she had heard that before. We were in #128 which is a handicapped unit, so maybe it isn't used much, but it would have been great if we could have had a nice hot shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Tammy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the room. However I would like to personally apologize for the water. We did have a main water pipe break that had to be fixed however when completed the water pressure should have come back on as normal and I am sorry that was not your experience. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, poor internet

Posted Feb 18, 2015
What can I say? It was a clean room and the staff was friendly. I was disappointed that the internet kept going down and we had to find a different network every 10-15 minutes. I would stop here again though based upon the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your trip with me. I am pleased that you received a great value and good service. In today's technology driven society, I can appreciate the disappointment and apologize for the slow internet. We were aware of this issue and have since corrected it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Meredithfrom FL

Clean rooms - convenient loca

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Convenient location. Rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was average. Didn't try the restaurant, however those leaving it said it was great food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to see that the location and accommodations were just what you needed for a delightful stay. Thank you for your feedback on breakfast, we are sorry it was not to your satisfaction and will work on improving this. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk, VA

Suitable Accomodations

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Location: Location made travel in and around Manassas easy.
Overall the stay was okay. Not the newest of facilities, but it was very clean, well maintained, and adequately appointed. The staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the compliments for the cleanliness of the hotel and friendly staff. I am pleased that you had a good experience and hope to welcome you back for a wonderful experience next time. Thank you again for your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by vyncenzofrom Manassas, VA

FAIR Hotel for FAIR Price

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Beds were comfortable, pillows were small and found a brown spider in our bathroom. Our window had duct tape on it, maybe to hide a crack which was kind of trashy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback. I am pleased to see that overall you had a nice stay. I apologize for the appearance of the window, that is not the impression we meant to give as we do take great pride in our hotel. We replaced the window and this tape was left on in error.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Omaha

Don't book

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
A nightmare
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. We wish we knew what we could to have done to provide you with an exceptional stay and why your experience was unpleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deepak

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by twylafrom chambersburg

family friendly..good location

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
Only complaint was that the roll away bed got for my youngest was terrible..only sheet over springs mostly..all mattress gone. Had to take both comforters off other beds to make padding for him to be able to sleep. Could not replace it because it was the only one that they had. Okay for two days. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was sufficient. Suggest eggs without filling inside however. Good hotel...clean and efficient...great area if going to national park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to see that you found the Best Western Battlefield Inn was a convenient location for your stay. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the rollaway, we want all our guests to be comfortable and have a restful nights sleep, we'll look into replacing it as soon as possible. Thank you for the feedback on breakfast, we will share your suggestions with the restaurant and see what improvement can be made moving forward. We hope to welcome you back again soon.