Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susie J. from Fort Wayne, IN

Convenient to Slopes!

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are a little dated but for the convenience and the price it was a great getaway! Hotel and ski rental staff were very friendly.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kelli from Schuss Mountain

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have never walked into a room as poorly maintained - cleanliness was non-existent! The hotel staff was nice enough to change us into a condo at the same resort but Schuss was extremely disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marilou from Neenah, WI

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel property is dated as is the furniture and bedding. The sheets were thin, the blankets were very worn and ripped. The bathroom although appearing to be clean, was tired. The whole facility smelled musty. The hotel hallway was left unlocked throughout the night. The office at Schuss Village was closed by the time we got there (9PM) and no helpful instructions were left as to what to do. We then asked another guest what they did and they suggested we go to Summit Village (another Shanty creek property) to get assistance.) It was a 10 min drive but we were able to check in at that location. We would not stay there again, especially since it was a 45 min drive from Traverse City, where we were spending our time. The one benefit to it all was the price.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Cdaveprime from Michigan

Old and Older

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
If this is the last reasonably priced place near Traverse City, go to Chicago for the weekend instead. The hotel does not have a staffed desk, you have to drive to Shanty Creek to check in, about a 15 mile round trip. When we returned we found out our key didn't fit. 1 hour later the maintenance man showed up, his key didn't fit either. 30 minutes later we finally got in a room. It appears this place is about to be closed, the pool is shut down, and the property looks mostly abandoned. I would not want to be here during the week, I think you would be the only guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Scott from Atlanta, GA

Pleasant Suprise

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was just an overnight stay, but we will be returning for an extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kirsten from Mankato, MN

It depends what you're looking for...

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was looking for a place to stay near Traverse City, as we wanted to attend the Cherry Festival. This resort came up as an affordable option. Within the huge resort are hotel rooms, cabins, condo's, chalets, and a host of other options. Hotels.com got us into the Windcliff buildings. Each of three separate condo houses 8 rooms. Ours had a view of the lake, and was quite private. Pros include privacy, view, microwave & fridge, indoor and outdoor pools, and *excellent* service. Cons were that we really struggled to figure out where we were staying (where to check in--the address & photo given by hotels.com did not match what my husband found on Mapquest, nor the place we actually checked in or stayed.) Also, it is not an easy/quick commute to Traverse City. Once we figured that out, we became content with the place. We were pleased that on July 5th, this resort had its own amazing fireworks display for its guests.
5 out of 5
by Veronica from Chicago

Beautiful but too hard to find

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Great views from the resturant bar.
Cons: Location was isolated from everything.
Location: Isolated and hard to find
The hotel itself was great. Our room was modern and the bed were extremely comfortable. The lobby bar and resturant overlooked a beautiful lake. Views were breath taking. Finding the Lakeview Hotel part of the Schuss Village resort was rediculous. Shanty Creek Resort is extremely large and hard to navigate. The website did not make mention to where exactly our hotel was located on this large resort. We drove around for about 15 minutes looking for some signs of life and finally gave up and called the front desk of the hotel. Once we were given directions it was smooth sailing. The hotel was beautiful but too out of the way for my taste.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted May 29, 2013
This room was in the Schuss Village which was basically closed and mostly deserted-- no employees there. Very over priced for the condition- the whole build is run down, curtains hanging off the bars, carpeting very worn and with wrinkles; old bathroom tub and fixtures. Lighting bad -Not even close to what you would expect @ $185+ per nite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sasha from Midland, MI

Right at bottom of Slopes, but so uncomfortable

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like staying here because it is obviously convenient, being right at the bottom of Schuss Mountain, and it has that old, alpine feel. The room was very clean, and also very small which did not really matter to us though. The beds are so uncomfortable and really worn. All of our backs hurt the next morning and none of us slept well because you can feel the springs of the mattress. The pool opened late and closed early, which was very inconvenient and useless to us since it opened and closed the same time as the lifts for the mountain. We spent our whole day snowboarding and it would have been nice to come back to the room and hang out in the pool and jacuzzi for awhile. You would think they would have later hours for that reason. There was only one front desk attendant working (who was very friendly and polite!), but when we went to check out we had to stand around waiting for about 10-15 minutes because she was nowhere to be found. The service in the restaurant there is always bad. I've been there several times and have never had good service. They are extremely slow everytime we eat there, even when it is not busy. The food is pretty good though...everything from the pizza to the gyro to the desserts. I will return, simply because of the convenience.