Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ct.

Keep looking!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Shabby room should not be rented unless it is updated. Hole and stains in the carpet, dirty grout in the shower. Not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Quintessential VT Motel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Great location, huge room, cozy lobby, nice staff. This area primarily only has motels, and this one is perfect for a ski week, with kids. We walked to the Raven Steak House, and you can walk to 2 other restaurants as well. In room coffee, fridge and 3 sinks provide convenience for a family. Very clean and housekeeping daily. All outlets, restaurants and the town are very quaint, and we highly recommend Gringo Jacks, and Manchester Pizza House (I think that's it! ). We will be staying here again next trip to Stratton (12-15 min drive)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The bed was very uncomfortable and the shower temperatures were erratic. The room was cleaned well and the motel is very close to great dining and skiing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington state

Should have better checked the reviews

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: A friendlier staff, clean sheets every day and getting rid of the smell.
Location: The area is charming. Leaf-peeping, cycling, hiking and winter sports.
For under $100 I wasn't expecting much and that's what I got. I walked into the office and was not greeted. When I said hello the owner said hello and kept on with tinkering with a clock. The next day I went back to the office for an iron. No one was there so I rang the bell as directed (twice) and after waiting 15 min. finally gave up and left. Then there's the room. Other than the carpet, I don't think it's been updated since the fifties, but it was very clean. However, there was this funky odor that no amount of window opening could dispell. The towels were changed every day but not the sheets. Apparently the reviews I read were for the annex across the road which seems to be better, but I won't be finding out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom QLD, Australia

Comfortable and spacious Motel in quiet location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The room size and facilities in a quiet location
Cons: There was no ice machine for our travel cooler.
Location: The location is a few miles out of town, but there is good road access and several restaurants just down the road.
The heater had been started to warm the room for our arrival and we were very happy with the size and room facilities. We were away from the main road in a quiet location our of Manchester township, but road access to restaurants and local attractions was easy in the car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom phoenix,az

Not luxurious but really nice

Posted Oct 6, 2014
There's a "just because" fee of $8.50 for booking so figure that into the cost. Just a motel, outside of town. Run by a couple so expect fime quirky things. Chairs in front overlooking a mountain. Best view in town for falls foliage. Just a really nice, relaxing atmosphere. Would have like to stay another day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good location, very close to Manchester downtown. Nice, clean, and quiet room. The housekeeping staff could have respected the "no disturb" sign and not cleaned our room. But overall excellent accommodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrefrom Boynton Beach, FL

Way exceeded our expectations

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Spacious, homey room with patio door, and did I mention spacious !
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Close to downtown Manchester and restaurants abound.
My son and I did a travel trip in the northern part of NY the first weekend in April this year and had booked this hotel a few weeks ahead. We stayed only for one night as we were travelling the next morning. We arrived at around 4pm and first, the scenery was beautiful. We arrived at the main hotel to be greeted by this quaint, rustic ski resort (ish) lobby. Nothing fancy but decorated rustic style. The person that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The room we had booked was in their annex which was a few mins down the road and looked just like were we checked in without the lobby. When we arrived and opened the door, the room was huge. I mean huge. Great for skiers with all their equipment, winter clothing and boots. Still there would be plenty of room. The room itself was not fancy or elegant but had this very homey, comfortable feel. We loved it. There was a patio door in the back of the room overlooking a huge common area. There was a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker and coffee/tea supplies. And to our surprise, there was free Wi-Fi with excellent reception. I would definitely stay at the Chalet Motel again in a heart beat. Great bedroom, comfortable, spacious and minutes away from restaurants and downtown Manchester.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefanela5from Carmel, NY

Ok

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Proximity to town and ski areas
Cons: New beds
Location: Skiing
The Chalet is located in a small town near some mountain ski slopes. We stayed their for 2 nights for a spring ski trip weekend. Large room, sauna and indoor hot tub. Upset they charged an extra $8 fee for booking online using Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a skiing weekend

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The reception area was warm and friendly, with a roaring fire. The staff handled our check-in promptly. The room was very spacious and well-equipped
Cons: We stayed in the annex and could have used more precise directions on where it was, and how to find our room (there are at least three buildings)
Location: Had dinner at Zoey's and breakfast at Bob's Diner.
We wanted to stay close enough to Stratton to have a full day of skiing, but also be near a town the size of Manchester so that we had options for dinner and breakfast. We selected the Chalet based on other reviews and were very pleased. The only downside is that we were only there one night!