Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Cons: It was too hot, could do with more ventilation upstairs
Stayed twice in 2 weeks, firstly my wife and I stayed for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago and last week I booked 3 rooms and stayed with my wife, son and daughters. We all thought that this Brittania Hotel offered extremely good value for money. It was clean, the staff were helpful and we would be happy to sytay here again. It might not be 5 star standard but for the money paid it was extyremely good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Derby england

Excellent value

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Cheap and well located close to major road links and easy to find
Cons: This hotel does need a makeover and renovation and has done for a few years now. It isn't dirty but just looks worn and dated.
Location: Wigan is close by and so are major road links so this hotel can be used to break your journey to somewhere else
This hotel definately needs a freshen up / renovation but in it's current state - at the price I paid - it is great value and well located. So if you are on a budget this hotel is the best bet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DGJones10 from Essex

Better Than 2.7

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Mostly covered above
Cons: Reduce the price of the breakfast
Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting my mother in a nearby Care Home. We were greted by a pleasant youngman who efficiently booked us in and directed us to our groundfloor room. The romm was large with a kingsize bed and also furnished with a small table with 2 chairs as well as the one at the dressing table. There were tea / coffee facilities. The bathroom was clean an had an anti slip bath mat. The room was cvleaned whilst we were out for the second day. We didi not have the Breakfast offer as we consider it overpriced
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Commissioner from Wrexham

Great location

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It suited our needs as we were competing nearby. Disappointing that there was very limited bar menu available so we used the pub across the road, the coaked breakfast on the Saturday was very dry as if it had been standing for a long time and the tea was stewed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JohnMacQPR from Hemel Hempstead

No airs. No graces. No problem.

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
They say that in life you get what you pay for. In our case, at the Britannia Hotel Wigan, we got a lot more for our money. 4 of us stayed for the princely sum of £27 each, B&B. It's not the most modern hotel, nor the most salubrious, but it was clean, comfortable and in a great location, just 2 minutes off if the M6. All the staff were helpful and friendly, and there were absolutely no reasons to be disappointed with our stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Merlen from Leeds

Needs a refurbish

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly but the hotel very tired. Bed lumpy and uncomfortable, cold water only one morning and extremely noises. They did nothing about it even when reported, so not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by QPRanger from London

The price is right

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Price, staff, location.
Cons: I lick of paint maybe.
Location: £10 taxi to town, there is a bus service too but not sure how reliable it is.
Went to Wigan from London to see a play-off game at the DW stadium. I chose the Britannia because of its price and proximity to the town centre and DW. As this was an important game the hotel was fairly busy and with everyone wanting taxis into town at about the same time the staff were extrememly helpful and assisted in this. The bar food and drinks were well priced and the bar itself well staffed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant very helpful staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Stayed for second time as location ideal for my needs. Is in need of refurbishment but is reflected in price. Staff are very good and delightfully helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: qu
I will only like them to help anyone not eating pork mainly break fast