Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds helpful receptionist.
Cons: Decor espespecially bathroom, carpet cleaned
We found the beds very comfortable with very clean bedding, the bath, wash basin and toilet were clean. The general decor could do with updating, bathroom tiles cracked and stained grouting. The carpet could have done with a thorough cleaning. But having said that it served our purpose adequately
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

you get what you pay for if not less.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: fix the heating. furnitures are way past their best. make sure the rooms are clean before having guests staying in them.
I stayed there around the 18th February and my room was freezing cold. I went to the reception and asked if they wouldn't mind turning the heating on. The receptionist shrugged her shoulders and told me that the heating was broken so there was nothing she could do to help me. on top of that the window didn't close properly, so there was a lovely draft coming in to the room. the room was very dusty and the bed was super uncomfortable. So if you want a suggestion just spend £15 more and stay at the Premier Inn across the road. Worst night "sleep" ever.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruthfrom Liverpool

Perfect in the 1980s...

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel in desperate need of a bit of TLC. I would hazard a guess it was lovely 30 years ago but I would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charliefrom wigan

a lot better than expected

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised by the room on entry and for the deal I got I wasn't expecting a lot, not too far from local pubs and shops, bar in hotel was ok but not much variety could do with something extra like a pool table? Something to do in the evening but apart from that it was lovely
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

What a shame!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: It was convenient to the motorway. It had availability for the night we wanted.
Cons: Cleaning. Checking on standards. "Welcome host" training.
Location: There is a golf course nearby, and some pleasant walks within a few mile radius. It is an easy drive into Wigan.
The hotel has always had a good reputation locally. Perhaps standards have fallen drastically, or perhaps we caught them on a bad night! The welcome at reception was off-hand, and lukewarm at best. - The proportions of the ground-floor room were fine - The bed linen was freshly laundered - The lights all worked, as did the television - The wash hand basin and bath were clean, and there was a new shower curtain in place. - The window frames and sills were filthy, with mould growth on the frames. - The carpet was stained and patently had not been vacuumed - there was a considerable amount of grit all over the carpet, and there was a used tissue underneath the bed (which stands on 12" high legs for easy access!) - The bathroom floor was dirty - there were dust balls and lots of dark, curly human hair behind the door and along one wall. - The lavatory bowl was stained and greasy - there was a cleaning brush provided which would have allowed me to clean it myself. - Despite an 11.00 a.m. checkout time, a member of staff burst into the room at 9,.20 a.m. (perhaps they had just remembered that the room had not been cleaned the previous day!) At checkout, the receptionist grimaced sympathetically when we told of our findings, but did not offer to record a complaint for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

redtomo

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
good location. right price clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Garryfrom Longfield

Weekend away in Wigan

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was exactly as I had expected and just what I needed really. The staff were all great and really helpful and the receptionist was really good, very polite and extremely helpful. All in all a great hotel for the price and I have already rebooked for my next trip up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by keithfrom Hereford

A good value stay in Wigan

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a cheap place to stay overnight. I was concerned prior to getting to the hotel due to low rating reviews given for it. However we were pleasantly surprised how clean and tidy the room was, warm and fresh too. The fittings and decor were a bit aged but we thought the other things provided,plenty of towels,tea,coffee & soaps made up for that. Would stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lozzyfrom Wigan

Filthy, grubby, dirty hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was a total mess, bins hadn't been emptied from previous guest, taps were stiff and dripping, windows looked like a explosion of black dust, carpet was thick with dust, toilet was brown inside and foul smelling, tv was fuzzy and only 4 channels had a signal, wifi was terribly slow and the glasses from the tables in the bar and reception had not been cleared away so we had to sit at a table full of empty drinks and crips wrappers. And to top it all off early in the morning after a stuffy restless nights sleep we were awakened by the fire alarm going off in the room, so we rushed out in out pj's and grabbed what we could to find that it was just our room and a few others that had a faulty alarm; dangerous and inconvenient yet we received no apology or explanation from the staff. So we hurry back to the room quickly packed our stuff, got dressed, checked out and thanked goodness we were out of that awful room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mikefrom Nottingham

Not bad

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was nice pity about the wifi not working in the rooms only works in the reception area