Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Modern look - and build quality

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Modern feel, clean, friendly. It's got a restaurant/bar that sells Starbucks - and it's got good parking.
Cons: Better noise control and take a look at the worn headboards etc. But a good hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone - on a week day!
Location: Off a main road, so easy access to other bits of Manchester, but not much around the hotel itself. 30 minute walk to the velodrome (why I chose it).
Remember back in the stone-age - people would build buildings out of stone. Sound doesn't travel through stone. Nowadays, modern buildings are made out of thinner materials. And sound DOES travel... So. The hotel is very nice. See below Bathroom was clean, had soap, hot water, a bath, shower etc - no complaints. TV was a nice Samsung. Tea / coffee in the room was plentiful, and welcomed. The bed was bit and comfy with four soft pillows. Only niggles were a) The headboard was quite worn out, leaving bits of black leather on the bed after a couple of hours leaning against it watching TV 2) The ceiling had some watermark stains. But, apart from that, a lovely room. Then it came to the reason I was there. Sleep. And unfortunately, it being a Saturday night, there were other people there who didn't want to sleep. They wanted to talk and sing and laugh, and slam doors. All of which, filtered into my room. Next to me, above me, across from me - it seemed like an all out assault designed to deny me sleep the day before my big race. An ear plug and my phone set to white noise masked a lot of this, but the slamming doors were the worst part. Whether they need to retrofit the doors to soft closing, I don't know - but I did lie awake for a while, and got woken up around 03:00 when they came back from wherever they'd gone to. I was probably unlucky, maybe another room would have been better - but the sound travelled into room 319! Hoped for 8 hours sleep, got about 6.5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The stay was good however a bit disappointed by the cold water situation, I had to ring reception to turn on the water heater, not good as I was reay for the shower therefore had to jump out of the bath and wait for a while before the water warmed up. The heating should be turned upon checking in!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hen party guests

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Drunks knocking at the door and being loud on the corridor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rozileifrom Campo Grande, MS

longe do turismo, perto dos amigos!

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Utilizamos o hotel somente para dormir, talvez por não entender o funcionamento do aquecedor (ou Não) passei frio. Não falamos o ingles e no check-in o funcionário não se empenhou nem um pouco em tentar se comunicar, o que nem foi necessário pois com a reserva estava tudo certo porém isso me desanimou a procurar ajuda no meio da madrugada para pedir auxilio quanto ao aquecedor, do mais tudo tranquilo, quarto e banheiro limpos com tamanho bom, a localização não é perto de pontos turisticos, porém era perto da casa de nossos amigos, fato que nos fez optar por este hotel mesmo tendo outros com preço melhor!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced,small rooms, breakfast limited availabl

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location to public transfer
Cons: Breakfast, decrease price
Location: Manchester is nice before Xmas
overpriced ,small rooms, breakfast limited available
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom blackburn

Could hear traffic all night

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Didn't sleep at all because of the traffic I didn't stay the second night and they didn't even ask why. I order 3 starts they gave me fish when I asked for chicken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Middlesex, UK

Nice hotel with helpful staff and free parking

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Convenience, clean, rate included breakfast and there was free parking
Cons: Carpet and furnishings were tired and needed a facelift, which I understand will be taking place shortly.
Location: The hotel is a couple of miles outside Manchester City Centre, and there is nothing to do immediately outside the hotel
We received a nice welcome when we arrived at 11pm. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast next morning was well cooked and there was a lot of variety. It was a great bonus that car parking was a) available and b) free. The hotel is a little way out of Manchester City Centre and this could be a problem for someone without a car. The only downside to the hotel was that the carpet and furnishings were tired and needed a facelift. This Holiday Inn was a good basic hotel, and ideal for our purposes. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Eastbourne

One nighter

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
One nighter. Just slept. Didn't even stop for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Location: Close to bus and tram
There were no frills included with this hotel. Breakfast on site was very expensive, beds were not comfortable and there was a terrible smell coming from trash directly below our window. We had to keep the window closed due to the smell. The room was stuffy with an unpleasant odor as well. When the odor issue was brought up to the staff, the response was "There are no other rooms"