Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Great location ad very clean

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Size of room quite small but adequate.
Location: Primark 5 mins walk. Great for kids clothes and something for everyone. Fantastic value
Breakfast great,staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you to Andrew on the front desk. Very comfortable bed and fantastic free Wi Fi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Clean and convenient.
The hotel is clean and comfortable and conveniently located. The view is nice, if you are on higher floors. Main criticism: I was provided with a room that had no wifi coverage. It took about an hour to sort this out. I had to move to another room to get internet coverage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Great hotel in the centre of Manchester.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was lovely and clean.
Cons: The price of the breakfast T £18.95 per person was extortionate and should be reviewed. We walked across the road to debenhams for £6.25!
Great hotel in the middle of Manchester - 1 mins walk from the trams And buses and some great nightlife. Perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to destination

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, very clean, good value for money. Definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Had a pleasant two night stay here. Hotel is located on Piccadilly Gardens so it is very central for walking around the city. It has its own car park and once you have learnt the one way system and avoided the road works it is easy to park there. Room very comfortable although there was only one set of towels in the bathroom despite the booking being for two people! Did find a spare towel in the wardrobe though. Room very clean and plenty of hangers but no drawers to put stuff in. Bed very comfortable but seemed a bit short - I am only 5' 6" and my feet hung over the bottom at times!! Staff on check in very helpful and pleasant. Bar over priced even for a city centre hotel although lovely views over the gardens. Went to local cafes for breakfast as the hotel charges £10 per head and you can get breakfast for two from an independent cafe for that price. Overall a good central base and good value for money for the room (but not drinks or breakfast!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-On-Trent

Nice hotel right in the centre

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Second time staying here and upgraded to the privilege room. Was definitely worth it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester/South Wales

A decent enough hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel is great with everything on your doorstep.
Cons: Put more staff on the reception desk. Housekeeping need to be considerate when making noise and have better training.
Location: There are plenty of things to do near by. You have Piccadilly Gardens, Manchester Arndale, Affleck's and lots of restaurants/bars.
I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I've been past this hotel a few times before but never stayed there until now. It's in a great location. Piccadilly Gardens bus station and tram stop is quite literally on your doorstep and it's a short walk away from Market Street, the Arndale and various restaurants and bars. Upon arrival, I was taken aback as the reception isn't on the ground floor. It's on the 2nd floor. I went to check in and there was a rather large queue. There were only two members of staff on the desk so the wait was rather long. I must admit that I was being a bit impatient because I arrived in Manchester later than planned due to my train being cancelled and being stranded somewhere until the next train arrived and I just wanted to get into my room. The room was clean but rather small. Bit disappointed that I didn't get a view of the Gardens but the view I got was decent enough. The TV was okay, bit confusing to use at first and every time you turned the TV on, it went onto the Mercure screen and was a bit glitchy which made getting the TV channels up a bit of a pain. Housekeeping. They were noisy, kept slamming the doors and one actually went into a room despite there being a 'Do not disturb' sign hung on the door. On my last day, I locked the door because I was getting changed. I heard someone try to get in and they almost broke the door. I went to find out who it was and some guy claimed to come clean the windows which was odd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Home from home in Manchester

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Warm atmosphere, helpful attentive staff and over-all cleanliness. The room wifi was very fast and connections were secure.
Cons: Occassionally, more staff on the reception desk at peak times
Location: Perfect. Hard tio imagine a better-sited hotel in Manchester
For my two-night stay, I needed a hotel convenient for the amenities of the city centre including transport links and Chinatown. The Mercure was the perfect answer, just across the road from the Piccadilly tram stop and a short walk from Albert Square. My Privilege room was spacious, very well equipped and always immaculately cleaned. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout: a particular thank you to those who worked during breakfast time when the food was always served fresh. The hot food was always genuinely hot and tasty. It was also very mucvh appreciated that the hotel's car park was within such easy reach of the reception area. This was not my first visit to the Mercure and i expect it will not be my last
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to our needs

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Stayed here one night for our 32nd anniversary. Lovely room and polite staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Nice hotel in excellent central position

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Central position.Helpful and welcoming staff. Clean well-equipped room with temperature control. Parking
Cons: Pillows were a bit resistant for our liking causing loss of 1 star for comfort. Otherwise perfect
Location: Great central location close to Northern quarter with it's vintage, crafty and bohemian range of shops.Close to transport links
We only had one night in Manchester but will definitely return for longer and stay again in the same hotel.