Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location and view

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: the bed
Cons: cleanliness
We spent one night at this hotel. Our room was on the 12th (top) floor and afforded us a great view to the west of the hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to restaurants and a small park. We had a sleep number bed in our room which was unbelievably comfortable. The room itself was reasonably clean, but had cobwebs between the legs of the small table with the coffeemaker on it. The grout between the bathroom tiles had a little bit of mold. The room probably hadn't been used and cleaned in a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very satisfied with my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

Return from Vacation

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Very nice place and located VERY well to take advantage of Manchester.
Location: Great food and entertainment within walking distance.
Flew in and out of Manchester during a trip to Maine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5 star review! We hope you found our close proximity to the airport convenient for you and that you enjoyed our downtown location. Best, Bettina G.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Sleep number room sub zero

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The people
Cons: Needs proper air conditioning and bed should work if it's a sleep number.
Location: Centrally located. I went on business, so didn't have time for anything else.
Room was supposed to have a special sleep number bed, but the sleep number adjustment control was broken and the last person who had used it had set it to the hardest setting. Therefore, I couldn't change it and basically slept on a granite slab all night. Got in late so didn't have the energy to request a different room. There was also a heat wave going on. The air conditioning unit for the room was controlled by a thermostat. However, when the air conditioner was on, no matter what the setting, it was loud and freezing. When it was off the room was stuffy and hot. The staff couldn't have been nicer -- the problem was with the room only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback. We do have an exceptional staff, friendly and always willing to help. With regards to your sleep number bed, I'm sorry you did not have a positive experience. I would like to investigate this issue and the air conditioning further to make sure it was reported and that our staff handled appropriately. Should you return to the Manchester area, we would love the opportunity to make it right for you. Sincerely, Bettina G.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Way too pricey for a simple room. A room and bathroom, nothing more. Not even a small fridge. Thank goodness we has a cooler. Elevators took forever to get to you. Than add another $10 per day to park & there was no other parking option. Not worth it. Wouldn't stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanky ou for your recent stay with us. We price ourselves competitively with our market, which is often a value considering our downtown location that is in convenient walking distance to so many restaurants and area attractions. We definitely appreciate that parking is not the first thing people might want to pay for, but unfortunately the Radisson Hotel does not own nor operate the Center of New Hampshire Parking Garage. We were able to negotiate the $10 fee for our overnight guests, which is a significant reduction of their normal $25 overnight parking fees. This also affords our guests the opportunity to remain in their garage until 630pm on the day of departure, without having to pay either their normal rates or the rates for street parking in downtown Manchester. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will consider returning to our property in the near future. Sincerely, Bettina G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, convenient location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
It was a great visit, quick overnight, but conveniently located to shops for wandering (and eating!). While there are plenty of great breakfast places in Manchester, I wish that the meal would have been included in the price of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our downtown location convenient for you. Please know that we do offer packages that include breakfast and parking. Perhaps that will be an option for you during your next visit. Sincerely, Bettina G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location and ease of finding it!
Cons: Can't think of a thing....
Location: Right near Verizon Wireless Arena, many restaurants....you name it
We had a wonderful evening, night and morning at the Radisson in Manchester!!! The employees were more than courteous and friendly. They had a Sleep Number bed, which gave us a great chance to try it out. And such a wonderful breakfast the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for posting your review! We are excited you got to try one of our sleep number beds. They are very popular among our guests. We also really appreciate your feedback regarding the new breakfast menu. Our guests are really enjoying our new offerings! Cheers, Bettina G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accomodations and close to everything in Man

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: There wasn't anything not to like.
Location: Walking distance to the Verizon Ctr., USNH as well as restaurants and shopping. 2.5 miles away from St. Anselm's College. Great location.
We attended a college graduation in the area and were very pleased with the close location to all the schools activities includeing a reception in the hotel itself. Room service and breakfast were outstanding as was the pub. We requested a late check-out at the last minute and were accomodated with no problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to post your review! And congrats to the college graduate! We are so happy we were able to accomodate your guest needs. We certainly strive to make every guest feel at home! Best, Bettina G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimmy

Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Liked it all!
Location: We went to the Palace Theater, there wasn't much else to do on a Sunday tho.
I was greeted by the most friendly desk help I have ever met! Very pleased with the overall experience as well, a fantastic place!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear Kimmy, Thank you for posting your nice comments! We certainly pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service, and are proud to have met your expectiations. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit! Best, Bettina G.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was OK

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Was a good stay. Very clean and spacious. The bed we had was comfy. ..not a sleep number like i thought we got. Bathroom only had a shower...bummed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do apologize that you weren't given the room type you preferred, however please know that we do offer sleep number beds, as well as bathrooms with a bathtub as opposed to just a shower. Please be sure to let us know your preference for your next stay and we will be sure to accomodate your needs! Thanks again, Bettina G.