Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from South Wales

2nd bedroom floor noisy if there is a function on

Posted May 30, 2014
The hotel is excellent but my only complaint is that on one of the nights I stayed there was a function in one if the function rooms that continued until 1:10am and was so loud that the walls of my room were shaking when the microphone was used. I could hear all the words to the music clearly from my room too. I was on the second bedroom floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Lincoln

Excellent stay very friendly and courteous staff

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The whole experience
Cons: Only the weather
Location: LOWRY museum city centre visits
Very satisfied - the hotel has great style and is highly professional.
1 out of 5
by Debbie from Alderley Edge

Terrible attitude from door staff

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: rooms
Cons: Door staff and duty manager
After our party of 3 rooms stayed 4 nights in the hotel and using the hotel restaurant and bar facilities during the week, the door staff took great pleasure in charging an extortionate amount for parking (despite have 3 rooms for 4 nights we only had one car parked for 3). Despite showing the booking confirmation to concierge they stated without showing the restaurant receipt they will charge. The policy is extremely unclear and staff attitude was rude and condescending. The duty manager was also unhelpful when we asked for clarification on the policy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fiona

Exceptional Service

Posted May 26, 2014
From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional such friendly staff really made our stay, I would definitely stay here again. Fab hotel within walking distance of shops and Arena - great location.
1 out of 5
by Peter from Liverpool

Militant Concierge take pleasure in being Awkward

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Rooms clean and contemporary
Cons: That staffs attitude
Do not ask the concierge for any assistance. After booking a trip for overseas business visitors they were most unhelpful and condescending. After contacting the duty manager, she was not willing to offer any assistance which the concierge were clearly unwilling to provide. Quite a shame because the hotel is very nice and well located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula G

Fabulous Hotel

Posted May 22, 2014
Fabulous hotel in a quiet, and great central location. Staff are amazing. Hotel is immaculate and our room was huge with the biggest, most comfiest bed we have ever slept in! The river bar has a nice atmosphere and has a great outdoor terrace. Cant wait to return.
3 out of 5
by Sali from Brighton

Okay but disappointing.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Clean facilities, friendly staff.
Cons: Food.
Location: Good location. Very near the city centre.
I'd always been told that The Lowry was Manchester's best hotel, so I was looking forward to my stay. So I was disappointed when I arrived at what is rather a soulless, dated and corporate hotel. The room was decent but dull and businessy. The bathroom needed modernising - I expect not to have a shower curtain in 2014, but everything was clean. The bed was very large and comfortable. There were no plug sockets anywhere convenient (none next to the bed, for example), the remote control didn't work and the breakfast ordering form was missing. I ran out of tea bags and asked twice for them to be replenished, to no avail. There was proper milk not UHT, which was appreciated. The most disappointing thing about The Lowry, though, is the food. It is really poor for an expensive hotel. Breakfast was cold, greasy and like something from Little Chef. I was extremely disappointed. Room service sandwiches, wraps etc made me wish I'd popped into Marks & Spencer and brought snacks back to the room. The food overall was hugely disappointing and not cheap. The staff at The Lowry are extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel is clean and well maintained. But it's way overpriced for what is essentially just another business hotel, wholly lacking in character. I wouldn't return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashelby from Manchester UK

5 star treatment

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The room. Impressed by the lighting, as I hate a dark environment. Loved the walk in wardrobe and tea/coffee area.
Cons: The bathroom was fine but no better than a 4 star.
Location: Very close to Deansgate with its great bars and restaurants
We had an overnight stay (Sat leaving Sun) and felt pampered from the minute walked up to the hotel entrance. Staff are friendly and professional. Our room was spacious and had lots of special touches. From the fancy teabags to the wonderfully comfortable very large bed - excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from london

Outstanding business hotel in all respects

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
From arrival to departure faultless and superbe restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of time....

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Staff very kind and helpful, always pleasant and keen to aid
Cons: The room - because its supposed to be sleek and modern - wasn't actually very comfortable in that there was nowhere pleasant to sit and relax
Location: Looking scruffy - Manchester very run down
Hotel did look edgy and new a few years ago but it has started to show a bit of wear at the edges. The area around it has become a bit bleak - almost to the point where you wouldn't want to walk around after dark. Not the hotels fault - its just the recession has hit hard