Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Review

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location. Free parking
Cons: Very slightly starting to look tired
Location: Central to everything
Easy check in. Room had nice view. Bathroom/shower was nice and modern. Tee/coffee provisions were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hi Mark and thanks for your review and feedback on your stay. It is great to hear that you had a smooth check-in process and that you enjoyed the view and bathroom. Thanks for choosing to stay at The Sebel Mandurah. Regards, Leighton Yates - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wanganui

Large comfortable corporate hotel at waterfront

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Standard big new hotel. Clean. Comfortable beds. Good staff. Rooms on opposite side from water get sun in afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Thanks Alan for your feedback. I am happy to hear that your room was clean and that the staff encountered were good. Thanks again - Leighton Yates, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bunbury

Grubby but convenient

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location ok, balcony nice but smelled of cigarette smoke.
Cons: Cleanliness, professionalism.
Location: Located on nice water point in central Mandurah. Decent walk to get to choices of restaurants etc so actually chose to drive.
Hotel room was grubby and a bit run down. It also had an awful musty smell to it. Shower recess had mould in it. Bed only semi-comfortable. Very tight space. Hotel is conveniently located within driving distance of town centre but a big walk if you want a decent coffee or choice of eating places. Staff were friendly but didn't ask how stay was or thank us for using hotel etc. actually just seemed a little bit annoyed at having to process us at all on arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Dear P, thanks for your review and my apologies that these shortcomings occurred during your stay. Such housekeeping concerns should be addressed before you check-into your room which I will re-iterate to our Executive Housekeeper to assist in a recurrence from happening. My apologies that these areas marred your stay with us. Regards, Leighton Yates, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxine from Perth WA

My overnight stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Staff were lovely and the room was very spacious
Cons: A bathrobe would have been appreciated. The in house movies are far too expensive for your choices
Location: M on the Point was fabulous for dinner...so much so we went back for breakfast. You couldn't get a better location to stay in Mandurah.
The view from the Bayside room was stunning. The Staff were just lovely I couldn't be happier. It was a one night stay with a friend and they even replaced the king with two single beds for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hello Maxine and thanks for your review on The Sebel Mandurah. I am so very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the views from your room to the staff. Thanks so much! Regards - Leighton Yates - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely position and good views.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The room was lovely and spacious and nice fittings. The view and location.
Cons: Entrance on the weekend we were there; access and seating area taken over by corporate event. Cleanliness of bathroom.
Location: All good
The hotel entry was cluttered and looked unprofessional; some corporate event but packaging etc left in foyer. Room and bathroom fabulous size and excellent furnishings; good fridge and tea making facilities with ample space. TV very small for such a large room and distance to bed. Bath terrific, but hairs were in the shower recess and thus cleaning should have been more thorough. The Point restaurant great service and good food. Easy checkout and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write this review. I will discuss your comments with our Conference team as indeed, whilst we have such large events in the hotel we still need to maintain the presentation. I apologise of the shortcoming in the bathroom cleanliness - hygiene is very important to us so we will certainly be more thorough in this area. Thanks for your kind words on the friendliness of all team members encountered. Thanks again - Leighton Yates, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bill & Debbie from Perth

Fantastic Service

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. Very clean, spacious room and fantastic bathroom facilities. The location was excellent with wonderful views. Will definitely stay again if in Mandurah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hi Bill and Debbie. Thanks so much for your kind words! I am most pleased that you had such a wonderful time here and I will be sure to advise our team of your feedback. Thanks! Regards, Leighton Yates, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Baustin from Sydney

Room for improvement

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A clean modern place in a great location. My only disappointments were toilet wouldn't stop running I notified them of this and they did nothing and bring your own pillows because theirs are so large it gives you neck pain
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hi Baustin and thanks for your feedback. I am terribly sorry that our team did not attend to your request to fix the toilet cistern. Such requests should be met quickly. I will ensure our team is made aware of the importance of such. Regarding the pillows, we do keep other types in the wardrobe for guest use, which are smaller and softer. Thanks again for your review, Leighton Yates, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect.

Posted May 20, 2014
Beautiful views from our room overlooking the water. Loved that it was within walking distance of somewhere to eat and the cinemas.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing this review! I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regards, Leighton Yates, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by THAMM,S from TORQUAY VIC

larger than normal room .

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
WE ENJOYED OUR STAY ,NO BATH WAS AN ISSUE ,BUT RAIN SHOWER LOVELY,.ALL OTHER AS RATED ,FREE WIFI WOULD BE A GOOD SERVICE .AS WE GET, AN EXSPECT IT OVER SEAS.ALSO SOME HOTELS IN AUSTRALIA PROVIDE IT..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Thanks THAMM,S for your review and comments. I note that you mention we don't have free WIFI however as of the 22nd April we conducted an upgrade to our internet and free WIFI commenced. Perhaps your stay was prior to this occurring. Rooms with baths are upon request as not all have one. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards - Leighton Yates, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Les from wa

It was a nice hotel and nicely situated.

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The room was nice and the view was wonderful.
Cons: Include breakfast with room rate
Location: Nice eaterys and plenty to do around the foreshore
Nice and comfortable hotel,but needs to include breakfast with room rate,thats why people go to bali instead of holidaying here.I know this isnt bali,but a little thing like that goes a long way.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2014 by Leighton, Hotel Management
Hi Les and thanks for your review and comments. We offer breakfast as an additional component to the room rate however not as a constant inclusion. The reason being is that we do not own a restaurant as part of the hotel; M on the Point is actually an independent business - owned and operated separate to The Sebel. Thanks Les, regards Leighton Yates, General Manager