Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Comfortable Hotel With Great Food.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Food, Staff . Comfortable Stay.
Cons: Get A Better Spa Salon Facility.
Location: Located In The Heart Of The City , Shopping , Eating Out, Visiting Temples etc.
Was A Great Comfortable Stay , Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The food is always great specially the coastal restaurant. Very convenient location half an hour from the airport and in the heart of the city so going around becomes so much easier living there. A pleasant experience overall. The hotel needs a better spa , salon facility the one they have is very very bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tumkur

Disappointed in Stay

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: None.
Cons: Staff courtesy and quick response to guest requirements.
Stayed for two nights. The AC cooling never went below 27 deg and in spite of several calls to rectify, the staff never turned up. Furnitures are very old, bath room tiles broken and lenin very old. Corridor carpet torn and has many patches. Average quality breakfast. Very poor response from staff and had to wait for over 30 min to check-in inspite of advance payment. Not worth the money spent. Will never stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Decent job for Indian standards

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Checked in here late one evening, was only planning on staying the night, and then transferring to a resort the next day. The room was decent but the bathroom was not very clean. I had trouble getting internet access and it took me calling them three times before I realised that the problem was that they spelt my name wrong... which caused unnecessary angst. I think the reception staff were not particularly helpful when I was trying to troubleshoot what was going on. The food was good and for India I was pleasantly suprised about the state of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mumbai

Heart of the city, well connected, exclnt facilits

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean room, good restaurant to eat in.
Cons: A swimming pool and a well equipped gym could have added to its charm as it will be relaxing after a long day out especially in summers.
Location: Centrally located. Its a temple n beachs city. so if you are of the devotional type and would also like to get some good air theres plenty of it here.
Excellent stay. Good restaurants in it meant we didnt have to waste time looking around for food options. After hard day out one could freshen up and eat well. Go for non veg if you like or the veg isnt bad too. The staff were cordial. Being in the city's heart it was easy to go around. It was diwali time so the hotel staff had done wonderful rangoli decorations in the lobby. Would like to add a personal note, being diwali and as every hindu home or office perform the traditional laxmi puja, it would have been nice if the guests were greeted traditionally/sweets placed in the room/guests invited for the laxmi puja. If they had, at least we were not a party to it. I dont know about the other hotels around but since i have travelled widely and stayed in various hotels of repute and otherwise across, this is a good hotel to stay and enjoy the cuisine if in Mangalore. If you are flying in/out, since there are not much options, it is better to plan your itinerary in such a way that you need not wait endlessly at the hotel for your flight or you may either have to spend unnecessarily on room rent for extended period or check in/out in a way that you need not beg for extending check out with the hotel where you may stay. It is embarrassing to you and them. You are concerned about the expense and they have their limitations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Might be best at Mangalore

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: it is central; and fod in the 8th floor is really good.
Ask for an executive room, as suoerior rooms are sometimes not "suerior" as mine had fungus all over the ceiling. The staff is friendly, but do not trust therir promisses (like: The bll will be reay in 1 minute, when you come down -"it took 15 and I nearly missed my plane"; "I call you back and arrange a massage for you" - I had to call back three times and it took 90 minutes to get it done; and so on....)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mumbai

My favourite Mangalore Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My absolute favourite hotel in Mangalore. A must visit to their sana-di-ge restaurant for amazing food! Please note there is hardly any difference between their deluxe and executive rooms, so don't bother paying more for executive rooms.
2 out of 5
by Thelmafrom Bangalore

Conveniently located with excellent restaurants

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast however was sumptuous and the Seafood restaurant excellent.
Cons: I found the 'executive' room too cramped and not kept ready for our arrival. At night there was a seepage from the overhead pipes.
Location: The Goldfinch location is good and not too far from the shopping areas.
Apart from the above, I was shocked to find that outsiders are allowed to visit the guests without prior approval or intimation. My husband's close relative who is an interfering busybody, came upto our room telling the receptionist downstairs that she wanted to 'surprise' us. It was a truly nasty surprise! Apart from security issues, how can one have privacy if the hotel staff is not more vigilant and less naive?
3 out of 5
by Kunalfrom Ahmedabad

Not So Good

Posted May 10, 2014
I just went for a 1 night stay with my family. When I entered the room it seemed that they had just managed to get it clean to some extent. There was very heavy smell of smoking. I called the housekeeping and reception 5 times to send somebody with a room freshner. Finally I called the hotel manager and that is when a person came with the freshner. Its my experience and people may say that it is one off. But I am a frequent global traveller and good hotels are good because they dont make such mistakes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JedaWarrior7

Ok hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Staff is friendly and helpful
Cons: Facility and Room cleanliness can be improved greatly
Location: Near some historic areas :- St. Joseph Chapel, etc.
Wifi was ok. Facilities, rooms and common areas are a little bit run down and grody
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rajnishfrom Bangalore

Review of Goldfinch Hotel, Mangalore

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Decent hotel to stay for business or short trips. The hotel is located in the centre of the city and not very far from the airport (takes about 30 minutes to reach the airport). Good option on food with 2 restaurants and room-service. Good food. The only drawback is as the hotel is located right on the main road, there is too much noise from outside, especially bus horns. This is a constant irritation. Also, the hotel has an open air party place on 2nd floor and the music noise and people talking continues till late into the night. As all the rooms face this party space, there is no option to change the room to a quieter corner.