Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Relaxing stay after safari

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The standard of equipment in the gym and the infinity pools
Cons: Nothing
Our stay at Sea Cliff was fantastic, right from the welcome iced drinks at check in. Completely lived up to our expectations. The food and staff were excellent and the Executive sous chef pointed out all the foods I could have for my gluten free diet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Great hotel close to Stone Town

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely service-oriented and helpful.
Location: Watch the sunset over the Indian ocean from jetty while you enjoy a drink. Swim in the infinity pool. Paddle a canoe. Take a sunset cruise.
I booked this hotel because we wanted to spend a couple of days exploring Stone Town followed by a couple of days' relaxation by the ocean. This hotel is about 14 miles from Stone Town, offers half board, full board and all-inclusive rates, has a daily complimentary shuttle to Stone Town, and a sunset cruise to Stone Town for a fee.The hotel rooms are on a cliff but they have a sandy beach on their property. It is definitely worth paying a little more and getting a deluxe room. These are corner rooms, 50% larger than the other rooms, have french doors on two sides and a bathroom with a very large window and a bathtub. The other rooms do not have bathtubs or windows that open to the outside. Request one on the upper floor if you want more light and privacy though even the downstairs unit provided privacy because of thick foliage outside the bathroom. Food is quite good with a lot of choices for breakfast. For dinner they have a theme each night. The first night it was flavors of the Caribbean (I would rather have had local food) and the second night and the second night it was Asian food when they set up a clay oven outdoors and made great tandoori chicken. Dont know what lunch is like because we got half-board and after a hot breakfast did not feel like having lunch. Did get slightly hungry mid-afternoon and found they had tea, coffee, pastries and light snacks in the bar - self service and complimentary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Fantastic Place with superb 'chill out' effect

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location, attention to details, space, food and calm.
Location: Great trip to the spice farms and Stone Town
3 night at the hotel enjoying the food, the beautiful bars and rooms. Massive infinity pool and all very calm and peaceful. A perfect place to escape for a few days from every day hassle and stress,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WT

Keep private and comfortable

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Arrived at hotel at midnight and received warm welcome. Get good service as schedule bus arrangement as well as great day tour booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Fab place to stay for some R&R. Friendly staff. Prices for treatments bit high for this part of the world. The food was good although buffet style is not my favorite choice. Really enjoyed my stay. The Shuttles into town are are real plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ontario CANADA

Sea Cliffs - beautiful place

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Location: Stone Town tours. Blue safari boat and island excursion. On-site kayaks.
Beautiful place. Nice rooms. Plenty of good food. Wonderful staff - super friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel- Caters to all!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location- only a 30 min free shuttle service to Stone Town, (provided by the hotel), excellent food (thank you Oscar!), activities & beautiful scenery
Cons: Please try and seclude the locals from the tourists when they try & sell you excursions whilst you are trying to have a swim in the sea!
I stayed at the Sea Cliff Hotel and Spa in February 2014 with my family. From the moment we arrived (after a 12 hour journey from London) the staff were welcoming and at our service with a refreshing non alcoholic welcome cocktail. Initial impressions of the hotel and grounds were... WOW! From the maintenance to the decor, everything was kept to a very high standard. Fortunately, our room was facing the picturesque view of the jetty; such a stunning view to wake up to each day. The rooms were clean and spacious, with regular house keeping twice daily. The grounds, from grass, trees to swimming pools and indoor & outdoor seating areas were maintained 24/7; you couldn't walk through any part of the hotel without seeing a hard working member of staff. The best place to swim was in the sea, a short walk from the hotel to the jetty. But what made this holiday for me was, the food. Suffering from Coeliac disease (and being vegetarian) I am not the easiest person to cater for. However the Sous Chef- Yulius Oscar went above and beyond the normal menu to create dishes for me which meant I could enjoy the cuisine of Zanzibar just as much as everyone else. Breakfast & Dinner are buffet type meals with so much choice you go crazy and want to try everything! Lunch was ordered from an a la carte menu with a variety of daily specials. Overall, I believe this hotel caters to all; if you are looking for a relaxing break with plenty to do without having to go far... Sea Cliff is for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Colinfrom USA

Great resort for honeymooners and retirees

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Sea Cliff because of a recommendation from a friend in Dar Es Salaam. When I arrived, I saw why he had recommended it. The resort is beautiful, and the employees are friendly and helpful. Overall I had a great stay in Zanzibar. The only reason that I give this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is not the type of hotel that you should stay at alone. Since it is romantic, the night life is virtually non existent. Thus I found the resort a bit boring albeit relaxing.