Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by linda from uk

okay hotel, but not good location

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: pleasant staff and comfortable room
Cons: Breakfast could be improved. Also a bar /restaurant would enable guests to meet each other
Expedia was one problem as the hotel did not receive notification and payment from them for our stay. Hotel was only a few mins walk from the esplanade, but in a pretty scary district to walk along through. (Red light). The staff and hotel itself are pleasant and welcoming. There is no bar or restaurant, but they do offer room service. The nearest bar/ restaurant is only a few mins walk away and the food is really nice. Very pleasant staff, but it is obviously a place where the 'ladies of the night' go to get ready for their night of work, as there were always at least 4 making themselves up in the (small toilet) and the bar itself.
2 out of 5
by Phuong Pham from Vietnam

Outstanding point is location only

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Location is good. Hotel inside is quite dark, one of receptionist is unfriendly but the door man is very good. I made the booking via Expedia in morning check-in day and she asked me to go outside to print hotel voucher (she didn't check confirmation email of Expedia at hotel) I had to go in raining. It took 30 minutes to find other hotel to be printed and might pay 70 peso for hotel voucher. Breakfast was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by lim from singapore

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like the hotel, and the service is very good .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from australia

Brilliant

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: give it a swimming pool lol
Location: for me it was a great location
I could not fault any part of the hotel in service , cleaness, food the staff were allways helpfull and i will have no hesitation staying there again as i will be next week 14/9 to 21/9 thats is how happy i was witht the place its close to everything i needed eg the australian embassy shops restaurants that i like
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from UK

great value

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros- In Malate not far from airport, Big rooms, Good big bed. Friendly & Helpful staff, Breakfast pretty ok. all for about £25 which is good for mnl Cons- lots of gogo bars to get passed if your walking etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One American's point of view...

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: ac
Location: busy street
AC blows straight on the bed and no way to move it... the edges of the room get hot but the bed freezes... this would be ok except my wife if Filipina so she get cold and I'm white so I cook... LOL! The room size is excellent. The internet is ok except it was down 1 of the 3 nights... it's cheaper than other hotels/motels but adequate... Security and Staff did a fine job...Breakfast was adequate as in just good enough...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by beamsy from London, United Kingdom

great budget hotel in malate

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: check in and helpful reception
Cons: none
Location: in malate,,mabini st..near to bars and clubs. a tricyle/taxi ride from robinsons mall or mall of asia.. 5 minute walk to roxas blvd and bay of manila
Sogo was much better than i expected..just a one night stay in manila..my usual hotel was full so tried this budget hotel... I was pleasantly surprised. service and reception very friendly and helpful.. and the room was very clean and surprisingly quiet! although it's a budget hotel .. it was definltely worth the stay and i will come back here in future,,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joy from Davao city

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The front desk crew were not that so accomodating,i've always stayed in this Sogo hotel( if u want to check it,i checked in for so consecutive years) but still they dont know their regular guests/client.very poor in familiarization,these regards to the front office staff,i see same staff for so many years(i even see them pregnant) but still they lack of warm welcoming their guests,they just do their job but they dont do it with their best for the company's interest.that makes them poor with their staff,too bad......shud concntrate wid their ppl /staff thatmakes a nice impression....
3 out of 5
by Dennis from Michigan, USA

No customer service

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: Customer service
If you are only staying a few hours it's cheaper to just go to the hotel because they have a per hour rate that is less than the online rate. The sheets don't fit the bed and come off exposing skin to the cold mattress cover. The A/C was vary noisy and made it had to sleep. I made the mistake of making my reservation at a location 40 minutes from the airport and went to another hotel of the same chain that was closer to the airport and they would not help me change the reservation. No water was available ( bottled ) in the room, and is a must for travelers who's system will not tolerate the tap water.