Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tamuning, Guam

Hotel Santillian - convenient location

Posted Jun 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Location is good for Makati; I was able to walk to several nearby places as traffic in Makati is really horrible. There is no real food service at the hotel as they cook anything you order at a nearby hotel (1 block away) owned by the same company, but there are lots of street vendors and some nearby restaurants if you want to "eat local" so I didnt miss the lack of food cooked at the hotel coffee shop. The only drawback is the bathroom is very small; the toilet faces a wall about 8 inches from the toilet so you have to squirm to sit on the toilet. The price is very reasonable thru Hotels.com ; I stayed one extra day and they charged me more so its better to book thru Hotels.com.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Pleasant Surprise

Posted May 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
A bit hard to find. Lucky we had sum1 who spoke the language. Taxi got lost. There should be better directions on the website. Aside from that, it is in a back alley just off the shopping district of Greenbelt Makati. From the outside, you will wonder if u hav made a mistake. Even the reception is ordinary. The walk up a steep stairwell leads u to the interior balconys which remind u of an era lost, almost spanish styled.. An oasis in the middle of Kaos..hahaha.. A beautiful, pleasant surprise, adding to the mystic of a hidden gem...very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Makato, Aklan, Philippines

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from honolulu, hi

small simple leasant experience

Posted Sep 24, 2010 on Hotels.com
small walk up building, simple room consisting of tile floor, bed, tv with cable and some sort of cabinet and a bathroom with a hot/cold shower. walking distance to greenbelt and ayala in makati, i found it very convenient. staff was very helpful, knowledgeable and eager to please.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

St Illians Inn - budget but good value for money

Posted Jul 31, 2010 on Hotels.com
This is the second time I have used the St Illians Inn. The first was a VERY late arrival during Typhoon ONDOY in '09. Despite this the staff are welcoming and efficient, which pretty much summarises the hotel. This is NOT a place where you go for the sights from the windows (there are none to speak of, if your room even has a window) but if you need a budget place to rest your bones close to the sights and sounds of Manila then do give it a try. The rooms are clean, well serviced and comfortable while not being over spacious. This hidden gem of this hotel is the tiny dining area which shares the reception space. The coffee is better than in some far more expensive hotels and the fresh-baked pastries are just a delight. Although it is not included in the price, do try breakfast here, it is a real treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2010 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jacinto, California

Okay, but better hotels can be found at the same price . . .

Posted Jan 20, 2010
The hotel is okay if you like quaint. There are couple of malls nearby but not much else. There were a few problems however that need mentioning. Midway during our stay, they decided to add a bidet or shower nozzle to the toilet. They did this while we were out of the room for a few hours. We had to wait over an hour to get back into the room while they finished "fixing the leak" we were told. There was never any leak, they just assumed I was stupid enough to believe what they were telling me. The bidet they installed leaked constantly for the remaining four days of our stay. Secondly, I had requested the comforter be washed. It disappeared and reappeared only after requesting it back. The room was not made up daily but sporadically. Toilet paper was hard to come by at this hotel. I might stay here again, but for the price, I think there are better hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

St illians Inn: poor value and worse

Posted Nov 28, 2009 on Hotels.com
I was greeted at the airport by a man carrying a sign with the name of my booked hotel, so I thought it was a service of that hotel, wrong assumption. This man was a freelancer finding tourists to over charge for a 5km cab ride. Only he spoke English, not the cab driver. They did not start the meter and afterward said the fare would be 560pesos. I later found out the normal fare was 110 to 150pesos. I knew he was overcharging for such a short ride so in front of the driver and this man, I asked the hotel clerk what was the normal cab fare from the airport and she said 560pesos, which means the hotel staff and this operator were working together to overcharge their newly arriving guests. And this man gets information about expected guests from hotel staff in order to be able to do this. The hotel advertises memory foam but there was no such mattress on my bed. There is no Wi Fi service except you can rent a laptop for p200 per day or use the one PC to access internet for p100 per hour. Both ripoffs since the cafe charges p20/hr for better quality PCs. The breakfast is ok but more expensive than local restaurants, a short walk away. They make you sign a paper outlining charges for sheets (is stained), towels (if missing) drinking glasses (from the restaurant), etc. Next morning I found my sheets had two stains on them so I pointed this out to the front desk and they changed them (I didn't want to pay for damage that already existed). I don't smoke but they post a fine for smoking anywhere in the hotel. When I asked for drinking glasses for my room they directed me to the cafe where I was asked to sign for them and when I checked out they went to my room to verify that I was not taking them with me. Generally speaking, the staff were nice (except the one who mis-informed me about the usual cab fare). Overall, I did feel at home in this inn and will not return.
3 out of 5
by Dan

Not too bad but would not go again

Posted Oct 29, 2009
Nice staff but bad area, I stayed at another hotel later that was much better for just a few more bucks