Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing and Everywhere Else

Nice Alternative to Pricier Hotels

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This is a good hotel - well situated in the Makati area. Hotel rooms are functional, reasonably updated and comfortable, WIFI works well for business purposes. Breakfast facilities are OK, not great, but are good enough - if you are a business traveller, you just need to work your way through the tourist packages. Room care is good, but somewhat sporadic - not all amenities were refreshed on a daily basis - requiring a few phone calls to the front desk. Overall, this is a bargain for the Makati area, but it comes at a price. You need to push the staff just a little, and push your way through the breakfast line. But the hotel itself is great and the rooms are good - just as good as any other hotel in the area at twice the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben

Large rooms

Posted Feb 14, 2014
The single br rooms are large and comfortable. 3/4 size fridge, table and nice living room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EMR from Makati, PH

Hotel is ok because it is very close to Manila Pen

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Location. Somerset's closeness to Peninsula Makati makes good food and excellent ambiance very accessible while paying for a cheaper hotel room.
Cons: Reception area is not too pleasant. Facade needs refurbishing. The parking area is dirty.
Location: It is very near 2 five star hotels Peninsula Makati and the Makati Shangri-la, lets you enjoy these 2 hotels. Glorieta is also near.
This is our second consecutive new year's eve at Somerset and we still enjoyed it primarily because of its closeness to the Makati CBD which has almost everything. The kiddie pool is lousy, don't expect your kid to like it specially if he is a swimming addict. The gym is equipped with the machine and equipment necessary to kick-off burning unwanted fats from the Christmas holiday. I wish their restaurant, Old Swiss Inn, brings back its old glory. It is like being served by a lazy maid in your own house with very limited food choices. The guard that raises the barrier going down the parking is rude but the guard in-charge of parking who writes down your in-and-out is very courteous and more than made up for his colleague's unpleasant attitude.
3 out of 5
by Dean from Bangkok

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Don't charge for the internet. Improve the dining experience. Secure a better method of getting a taxi.
Location: Central business district.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Book at Holiday Inn instead

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pool was closed for maintenance. Sticky substance on tv remote. Dried crust on bed throw pillow. Shower temperature only got lukewarm at hottest with low pressure. Staff was friendly though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good stay, superb service, due for refurbishment

Posted Feb 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay on February 12-14, 2013 was overall pleasant. We were happy we received an upgrade from 1BR Deluxe to 1BR Executive, and were allowed to check-in early. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious--perfect for us who has a toddler. The living area was a good place to receive our family and friends who visited us. The location is awesome as it is near the Ayala Triangle Gardens. We take a stroll each morning after breakfast at the Old Swiss Inn, which is good if you like Filipino food. The property, however, may be best to undergo renovation soon. The unit overall feels and smells old. The unit doesn't have enough accessibility if you have kids who are in prams (we kind of anticipated it, so we didn't bother bringing a pram). The management may want to reconsider having the Wi-Fi internet included for each stay. FYI, Wi-Fi can be accessed by one device at a time only, and you can get logged out if idle for a few minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Tom

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location and service. breakfast lacked somewhat paying a daily rate for an Internet code seemed well behind the times, not to mention that it would end your session about every 10 minutes. Otherwise we enjoyed ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cesar from Texas

Older Hotel in the middle of modern Makati.

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: parquet flooring
Cons: musty smell in the hall way
Location: exceptional.
Older condominium converted into a condotel. Needs refurbishing but has a great central location and is a good value for it's price. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Some of it's older features like the big rooms and the parquet flooring are wonderful. Has an old world Manila feel but is right at the center of modern Makati.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

It's not a 4star by any means

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staf are great. The restaurant down stairs is not good no good to select from Very limited . The restaurant up stairs is also very limited but much better then the other . The hotel is nog as clean as it could be . The beds are as hard as the floor and the springs will stick u bad . Need to upgrade mattress ASAP