Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erikfrom Göteborg

Fails basic hotel purpose

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Sulo Riviera Hotel, although refurbished, falls short in two of three basic requirements for a hotel: clean, quiet and safe. I felt safe at least.... Sound proofing is somethong that is non-existant. Not only does the amplified sound from weddings and birthday parties (seemed to be well organised and appreciated by the guests) quite effectively ruin all chances of an early sleep in the rooms, sound from neigboring rooms let you accoustically share the neighbours' activities... The rooms seem to be furnished in order to look good, and they do, but utility is completely forgotten. It is so cramped that navigating the room safely is a challenge. There is nowhere to put the suitcase, not even empty floor space!? No, no more Sulo Riviera for me...! However, the restaurant was good and the staff was very friendly. If you're throwing a party in Quezon, the Sulo Riviera could be the place - but sleep somewhere else ;-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alanfrom London.

More style than substance! Avoid Receptio!

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrival and departure dealing with reception was a nightmare. I had an electronic voucher which they asked me to forward to them so they could print it out. They gave me three email addresses, the first wasn't even an email address. The voucher clearly stated that I had paid Hotels.com, but they claimed they had no record of it. Then they kept me waiting for over 35 minutes until I complained bitterly asking them to sort it out with Hotels.com while I stayed there for 24 hours. The room was small but reasonable. The food was quite good. The swimming pool was truncated by 25% due to a stage being plonked on it. The karaoke room was good, and all public areas looked great. But when I returned to reception to check out I was given my bill which included the money for the one night's stay which I had already paid to Hotels.com. I again complained and finally after another 45 minute delay I was allowed to leave,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Close to all

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were all hospitable and friendly
Cons: TV is dwarfed by lamp shades as it is very small. Maybe take out old fabric wallpaper as it is" bubbling" from being wet during use.
Location: It is very close to at least two hospitals,a convenience store, at least 2-3 fast food place. and a short ride to the malls and grocery shops
Awesome staff! Great food! Word has it that old politicians like playing hanky-panky in this hotel so we avoided it on our 9 first days in Quezon City. We were sorry we did not start our 11 days of stay in the Philippines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlofrom Makati

Fem Receptionist doesn't know the diff bed types

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights and everything is okay. It's just that we booked a Deluxe room with 1 queen bed and specially requested for one from 2nd floor. I've confirmed the room we requested but upon arrival it was given away and we ended up having 2 single beds, I mean seriously? we're a couple and we're gonna sleep separately for 2 nights? Come on! The receptionist~ OMG I can't believe it, she's not knowledgeable about the difference of single, full/double & queen bed. Then she replied "Why are you asking ma'am?" I was like, "Do you work here? How come you don't know?" So look for the male receptionist instead. The breakfast is okay if you're coming down not as late as 8am. Other staffs are excellent, always smiling and willing to help.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ok for business.

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
not the best environment to start off because it's near Kalayaan slum area. food was cold, not warm. soundproofing was bad, noise could be heard from the street and outside the room(trolley rolling, people talking,etc). check out took some time. light sleepers not advisable to stay there. good thing there's 7-11 and McDonald's nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

スタッフの対応がよい

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: ビジネスセンターとスタッフの対応。
Cons: ロビーが少し臭い。朝食をもっとおいしく。
Location: フィリピン大学デリマンキャンパスから近いのがよい。観光スポットからは遠いと思われる。
スタッフの対応がよく、とても丁寧。 部屋も広いし、結構清潔だった。 ビジネスセンターがあり、コピーなどを料金は高いが快適に行うことができたのは便利だった。 しかし、部屋が大通りに面しているのに、遮光カーテン一枚だけで、通りから見られる覚悟で開けるか、夜も昼も分からないくらい暗い部屋で過ごすかのどっちかだった。 朝食はオムレツとジンジャーおかゆはおいしい。その他はそこそこ。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice enough.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The overall service staff could not be better.
Cons: Maintenance of the bathrooms.
My overall experience staying at the Sulo Riviera was pleasing enough. The staff was excellent in their desire to serve and considering the age of the hotel, it has been well maintained overall. I would like to mention that the shower in my bathroom definitely need some basic maintenance as the grout was black with mold in places and the shower caulking was loose and separated from the enclosure. One of the windows in my room also had a broken latch, preventing it from be completely secured, which would explain why I had the nightly visit by mosquitoes. Both examples are basic repairs but show a lack of diligence in the engineering department of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was always great but the one and only time I ordered a dinner (fish steak) it was over cooked, chewy and expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still Reliable

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: fair accommodations, good value for the buck.
Cons: needs updating!
Location: close to good malls in the area like TriNoma, and SM North EDSA.
The hotel appear dated but very much functional. Close to malls and tucked in a quiet area. Free Wi-Fi! The free breakfast with my stay is adequate and the hotel staff courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DK HANfrom KOREA

출륭한 서비스 하지만 오래된 시설

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service was very nice, all staffs inlcuding JR, Julian are very friendly and very handsome. However old hotel, old room made me feel not so comfortable. it is clean but old.. (I hope the blanket on the bed will change to soft/fresh one)
3 out of 5
by Davidfrom New Orleans, LA

not bad

Posted May 12, 2014
not a bad stay. hotel is renovated and very modern but lacks warming comfort and charm. other reviews said about loud music into the night. i thought this might be an exaggeration, but the hotel also doubles as a hall for locals. loud music and lots of people every night until 11-12. but not much of an inconvenience. overall i would say its an average hotel. the selling point seems to be location.