Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre Affordable Stay in Old Manila

Posted Jun 2, 2014
It was pleasant & comfortable within the complex. Good service & friendly staffs. The only con was Going out in the streets was quite unpleasant sight because of the increase presence of homeless!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good focal point for discovering Intermuros

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, cool room
Cons: The hotel could do with a lift.
Location: Go see the museum in the adjacent casa and try a Segway if you never rode one before.
I read mixed reviews before the stay. Yes the air con is loud, but at least it works. Yes I had problems with internet access from the room on arrival, but reception fixed it. Yes there is a rather seedy local community just down the street, but you don't have to walk through it. The block where the hotel is is enclosed and tourist friendly, right next to the World Heritage site of Augustin's Church and a museum. The buffet and stage show of traditional Philippine music and dance at Barbara's was entertaining. The Segway tour was a good experience, but more about learning to ride a Segway is safety that seeing the sights. There are plenty of people trying to hawk guided tours by rickshaw, horse etc. and they are far more money grubbing than the hotel staff, although I turned down the transit to the airport the hotel offered at 1600 pesos and got a meter cab that took me there for 200.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MS from USA

Very Nice

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love this place. If only the wifi worked...

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Cons: Wifi did not work. Again. Same problem as I had during my last visit.
2 nights. WiFi NEVER worked. Not once for a single minute...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Swanie from Caloocan

Big room

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable accomodation, able to sleep well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gil from Toronto, Ontario

Nice no frills, friendly hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Simple, it is clean and staffs are friendly.
Cons: Management should train staff to ensure nobody is in the room before they open it. We were surprise when there was a knock and our door was opened .
Location: Hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood, inside the was walled city of Intramuros. We only stayed for one day so I could not say on things to do nearby.
I choose to book at this hotel due to it's close proximity to the church were we are attending a baptismal and it is also close to the domestic airport which is a plus for our next day flight to Puerto Princesa. I was not disappointed. The front end staff was accommodating and we were able to check in early. We had a good experience with our stay. If you are looking at a no frills, good service, clean hotel this is a great value for the buck. The only downside of our stay was the taxi we had arrange with the hotel. It was a rip off. The driver started talking with us the moment we got in. I guess this is to put our attention away from the meter, it was the classic " I forgot to set the meter thing and we were charged 500 Pesos from the hotel to the domestic airport. The taxi driver said that he know the hotel staff that arrange for our pick up. Suggest to get a taxi on your own.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014
2 out of 5
by Alena from San Francisco, CA

Smelly hotel and greedy staff

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: close to historic sights
Cons: remodeling hotel facilities and training customer service on how to stop rip off their guests
we understand that hotel is old, but management does a bad job on improving facilities. the very first thing we noticed is the smell of bug spray, which was so strong that I had hard times breathing. Door locks are unsafe and rooms don't have safety box. I was also shocked by the amount of staff this small hotel has - a lot. All of them was just hanging around in the lobby and observing us and smiling at us every time we passed by. That was weird and I felt very uncomfortable. The last disappointing thing was a ride to the airport. Front desk basically refused to call a taxi for us, unless we agree to pay twice more than the taxi drivers are charging. The explanation was simple: "IF YOU WANT A SAFE RIDE, YOU NEED TO PAY US FOR THAT." This is a shame to put your guests in such position, but no one cared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from costa rica

Good budget hotel-

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Location was good right near histórical stuff, staff was Nice Room was clean. But we needed two extra pillows they said they would give us one and would charge for another, then at breakfast they basically had nothing we wanted to order. It was Not included and nothing was available. So in the end the hotel was fine for price but I think we would prefer paying more next time.