Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Jim

Back to the 80's

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Remodeling and updating and attention to detail is a must
Location: I was visiting family and the location was helpful to me. I did not go to New Ulm or visit any businesses or sites.
The Holiday Inn hasn't been updated, I'm sure, for thirty years. It probably was a great place then. They have a nice pool and large banquet type area. We stayed in the back of the hotel above the banquet area. I don't think they had cleaned the bathrooms there and the smell wafted up to our room. Not enough to be a problem or need to complain, but strange none the less. When asked at checkout about my stay, I discussed the dated, worn out facility and the bad smell. The clerk acknowledged this and said that there are plans to update the facility. Anyway, would I stay there again? No. Still, it would be adequate in a pinch.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that our facility did not exceed your expectations. We do have regular updates that we have met along the years but we are very excited for our complete renovation of the property that will occur between March and September of this year which will provide an all new Green Mill Restaurant & Bar, all new guestrooms, updated public areas, a FREE Hot Breakfast and an updated Conference Center. We will certainly look into the cleanliness of the bathroom areas and see where we can improve. Thank you so much for letting us know how we can serve you and all of our guests better in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Justin from Fargo, ND

Could use some renovating

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place was ok - the fitness room was small and the dumbbells only went up to 40 lbs. The hotel was a unique design but seemed really dated and kind of smelled old. I was dissapointed there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I did not try the hotel resturaunt as there was nothing healthy on the menu only greasy bar food. I wouldnt stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Update needed.

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I have the opportunity to stay at this hotel a few times each year. I find the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. However, the hotel could really use some updating. The carpet and hotel in general are looking tired and worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Charlotte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bob from Michigan

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very well kept and user friendly. The only bad part is the restaurant attached to it has AWEFUL service. We waited an hour and 10 minutes for an order of toast and an omelet because they had a group of 30 in the back room they were serving first. Terrible service. They did pick up the bill, but come on. Toast and an omelet do not take that long. The dining area needs to get with the program and get organized. The hotel however has it going on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lynn from St. Paul, MN

German Town

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I tried to reserve 3 rooms on Holiday Inn's Web site but they were totally booked for the date we needed. Thank you Hotels.com! Not only I could reserve three room's, I saved $$ besides. It's nice for the price and kids eat free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ken from milwaukee

okay for a stay

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a decent place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by wolfgang from Austin

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location was great for us to get to all of our destinations quickly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by S from Minnesota

nice for a night stay

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
As a family of 5 when I made the reservation, I thought the room had a sofa sleeper other hotels would not let me make a reservation because we exceeded the amount of people for the room. We had in the room a king size bed and that was it. We got a roll away for one other child and the other two slept on sleeping bags. Thank goodness we were in the same town as my parents to get those and we had enough floor space. The front desk did offer another room with just full size beds in it. The hot tub was very warm and no jets though :( The pool was fine for a little swim not huge or anything like that. The breakfast was very good.