Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Manor Among Frats

Posted Nov 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
This establishment is amazing. I would recommend it to anybody. My wife and I stayed in the Courier Room. Firstly, the room. Emacculate. The bed was exquisite and comfortable and seemed much larger than a queen. I thoroughly enjoyed getting back at night after a day on the job when my wife and I could just relax in the Whirlpool and let the tension of the day melt off. Secondly, the food. Breakfast each morning was light and delicious. I really enjoyed the fresh fruit and yogurt to start off meals. Thirdly, the staff. The owner was very friendly and courteous. He was always interested in conversation and eager to share some history of the house with us. They'll let you determine the level of privacy you're comfortable with. Cleaning the room daily or leaving you completely alone. Overall, completely satisfied with our stay. Thankful that this historic structure wasn't allowed to become a frat house like some in Mankato have become. Keep up the good work, Butler House!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Breakfast

Posted Nov 14, 2012
Wish there was a whirlpool in the room but otherwise very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay in perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Perfect example of Midwest hospitality and friendliness. We stayed in the Butler Suite, which did not have one of the whirlpool tubs. The room was spacious and relaxing, with very comfortable bed and furnishings. The gas fireplace was cozy for the October weekend we were there. Breakfast was delicious, with a yogurt and fruit parfait as a starter. One morning a poppyseed bread was served, followed by a savory casserole of bread, egg, and cheese. Another morning French toast was seved. This was the first time I had a candlelit breakfast. The host was very accommodating in adjusting serving times for the guests and their schedules. The only slight issue was waiting at the front door for the host. We waited a couple minutes before he arrived. I think he may have been in the back and didn't hear the bell. Overall, a formal yet relaxing place to stay in a great town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice find in historic Mankato. Much better than a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Twin Cities, USA

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: Charm and history of the place.
Cons: A bit drafty and flowery smell was a bit overwhelming.
Location: Conveniently located near bars and restaurants.
The Butler House is charming. With the age of the house comes some challenges - the room is a bit drafty around the in window airconditioning unit. They supplied a space heater which helped. Overall, it was a fun stay in a home that is very convenient to local bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maurice M

Elegant mansion, helpful staff

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
The rooms were carefully and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was scrumptious with yogurt fruit parfait (homemade granola), pancakes, and egg bake. Dave was a friendly manager and the stay was refreshing. One of the nicest B & B's at which we've stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken and Karin

Two night's stay in Mokate

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed here two nights and were quite pleased. We were greeted upon arrival and were shown to our room right away. The only "bad" thing was that our bathroom was across the hall and was unvented, so showering and other activies in the room were a bit stifling. The breakfast each morning was nice and home made. Meeting the other guests was also nince because we got a flavor of the surrouding area and were given some good ideas of things to do. Would recommend, bu only with a suite option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Relaxing

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the larger suites with the in-room bathroom and it was nice to have the extra space. I echo other's comments about the quietness - it was so easy to get a good night's rest because it's so peaceful here. Often times at many hotels you have to put up with a lot of extra noise from the hallways and people coming and going. This is not the case here. The breakfast was quite good and the host is very accomodating and welcoming. I appreciate the close-to-downtown location, since it is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants/bars as well as a coffee shop, but far enough away to avoid the noise and commotion. We left feeling relaxed and pampered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

Wonderful Experience

Posted Aug 22, 2012
This was my wife and my first bed and breakfast experience and I have to say it couldn't have been any better. Dave the owner greeted us and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. My wife loved the fireplace and I enjoyed the quietness of the room. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful he made some of the best pancakes I ever had! We enjoyed our time here so much we plan on coming back in the winter. I highly recommend the Butler House.