Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Great stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Excellent! Very nice place. Great pool ambiance. Nice staff. Loved the room design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Fantastic view, nice pool, good restaurant

Posted Mar 3, 2015
I stayed in a studio (unit 2). I tripped over the very large coffee table in the middle of the night...really hurt!! Otherwise...a great place for intimate stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view. Very private setting

Posted Feb 2, 2015
This is a private, gorgeous place with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom south carolina

nice place with ocean view

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: quiet,serene
Cons: needs updating,i understand a new owner is working on this
Location: close to manuel antonio national park and quepos,many dinning choices
very quiet,adult only,good staff,comfortable,good dining priced a bit high,needs some updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing! Everyone was so friendly!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was extremely private and the rooms were beautiful and clean. I would definitely recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique facility in stunning location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The rooms could use a little TLC, some things could have worked a little better, but don't forget you're in a rugged environment . . . all and all great rooms in an absolutely beautiful location with a staff who seem to care. With the view I had a sleeping bag would have sufficed. The beach is a plus though definitely a healthy and occasionally precarious hike down and up. Critters abound. The pool is perfect. The restaurant is the outdoor pool area, and while the menu is limited, the food is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by noelle gellermannfrom lake worth, fl

HOTEL MAKANDA

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful rooms and views. Good service and the employees were very kind and helpful. Would definitely recommend this. hotel !!! Great Honeymoon trip to Costa Rica !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous room and view

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The suites had such an amazing view of the ocean to wake up to. I thought the rooms were also very well maintained. The location was nice and secluded and close enough to very nice dining options. The staff were extremely friendly and the infinity pool had an amazing view at night. My only qualms were the menu seemed quite limited and a bit expensive for the area. Drinks also were overprice for the area, but I can say the service was extremely good and was never really wanting for anything from the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michellefrom Melbourne, Australia

Monkeys outside our room

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Views from our balcony
Location: Close to National Park, beaches,restaurants and shopping
Stayed 2 nights. Room was beautiful, view was outstanding, location was convenient, pool was refreshing, food was delicious and staff were exceptional. We were visited on both days by monkeys who came by our balcony and curiously observed us. The pool area was lovely with staff providing great poolside service. We thought we would have used the kitchen facilities to cook a few meals, but we ended up having both dinners from the restaurant and they were superb. Breakfast options were excellent and beautifully presented to our room each morning to enjoy in the comforts of our own space and privacy. There is a private beach but we did not feel energetic enough to have to walk back up the steep hill, so we didnt go there. Staff were extremely helpful. They organised a parasailing trip for us which was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimfrom WI

Relaxing & peaceful stay

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Wonderful, spacious rooms, very clean, excellent location. Secluded away from busy tourist areas. Staff pamper you at every opportunity.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion
Location: Beautiful areas near by. The national park was a big disappointment. Too crowded in and near the park. Hotel Makanda was our refuge.
Beautiful setting, excellent views of the ocean, nestled in a jungle setting. Saw more animals than at Manuel Antonio park.