Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Don't do it!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Staff; processes; food; rooms...
Location: Location is okay but better hotels nearby that are closer on the beach. The grounds are pretty.
Our booking was made 6 months prior and it took nearly the same length of time to actually get checked into a room. Once we finally were given a room, it smelled strongly of mould and staleness. The staff are not helpful and one in particular was a big problem. Check back - i will find his name. If you like lining up for everything; having to have a voucher for everything; buffet food; being treated poorly - then this is your place. We don't, so we left and went to a better hotel down the road. Good luck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CALIFORNIA

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The club premium room was very nice and the bed was really comfortable.
Cons: Free phone calls to USA and Canada would be helpful.
Location: Not much to do or places to go nearby. Good for a romantic vacation for alone time!
We had a great time! Enjoyed the warm water and beautiful grounds. We paid for the premium club which we felt was well worth it. Although we never received a welcome drink or the WiFi code for the internet. We had to call and ask for the WiFi code. The WiFi is really slow and unreliable. The hotel does not sell phone cards and charges $3.00 per minute. Hotel is well kept. Staff needs some training about hotel and services provided. Most of the staff were friendly but not all! Buffet needs more choices and variety!!! We were disappointed in the buffets. Only one restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner due to low occupancy. Room service needs some help with food orders. Out of 3 room service order requests only 1 was correct! Hotel air conditioning was turned off in Lobby area due to low occupancy so were uncomfortable along with the staff. Never saw a show due to the extreme humidity as it was outdoors and just to hot to sit outside. Called the concierge and she said she would return the call...never got a call back. Had to call her again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The a/c in our master suite was not plesent to our standards. It's was really hot in my master bedroom to the point we're we couldn't sleep. The service in the pool area was not good due to being under staff. By the time my Family got our drinks they were all water down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darylfrom Laguna Beach, CA

A real surprise.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: See above
Location: Actually the only thing to do is the resort. We rented a car and drove quite a lot. Not much to do outside of the resort.
Barcelo Karmina Palace in Manzanillo is a real find! This is a first class hotel with an amazing property and one of the best group of staff members I have witnessed in my travels. The restaurants were set in beautiful areas of the resort. The food was excellent, even in the buffet. The pool areas are separated by tropical landscape giving each intimacy and privacy. There were very few children and the ones that were at the resort were well behaved. Our room was large. The view was outstanding. The bathroom was huge. What surprised us is that there were very few people from the US. This is not a negative but certainly a curiosity as to why this property is not filled with people from north of the border. This place is amazing!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, horrible service!

Posted May 26, 2014
Beautiful hotel but horrible service. Great for families with small children but not for adults. Dinner requires reservations and even though the hotel was practically empty, they told us the reservations for the night had met their quota?? The restaurant was also practically empty. We agreed to make reservations for the following night only to be called a few hours prior to our reservations to be told they made a mistake and that the restaurant was closed that day. Even getting pool towels was a hassle! You need to keep track of a small piece of paper in order to get a towel. Definitely disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Overall experience was ok. Resort was beautiful but the hotel staff at check in were not very friendly at all. Although this was an "all-inclusive" resort, when you asked to have alcohol in our room, we were told we had to pay for it. It was free everywhere else but not in our room. The food was edible but certainly nothing to rave about. This is not a resort that many people from the U.S. go to either, we were the only Americans there so it was more of a local culture, which is fine but not what most Americans look for in a resort. The room was very nice and the view was spectacular! Nice place but I wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angelafrom Wyoming

Family Fun in the Sun!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: All the fun activities they provided. You can eat whenever you like. The massage was great, too!
Cons: Need more washcloths on the rooms.
Location: The location was great. Beautiful ocean views with the city scape in the background. Local market downtown on Saturday mornings.
We came to play at the beach, swim in their many pools and enjoy beatuful weather. Barcelo had all of this! We never went hungry (or thirsty) and enjoyed a week of pleasure! Great nightly entertainment with a different theme each day. Fabulous dancers and singers! The food was good with lots of variety. Everyone was very nice. The grounds are very well kept. Many beautiful flowers and trees. We saw iguanas, crabs and sea erchants. Wish we were still there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great value and service

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed one night in one of the Club Premier suites. Had a little trouble checking in as the Hotels.com reservation wasn't in their system but the concierge quickly remedied the situation. The room was great with stunning views. The service was exceptional. They dropped off a complimentary bottle of champagne and took care of anything and everything we needed to make the stay memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stevefrom sf calif

beautiful accommodations, terrific service

Posted Dec 29, 2013
loved our stay. not cheap but treated royally! loved the location and grounds and food and service. would highly recommend