Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from Wyoming

Family Fun in the Sun!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: All the fun activities they provided. You can eat whenever you like. The massage was great, too!
Cons: Need more washcloths on the rooms.
Location: The location was great. Beautiful ocean views with the city scape in the background. Local market downtown on Saturday mornings.
We came to play at the beach, swim in their many pools and enjoy beatuful weather. Barcelo had all of this! We never went hungry (or thirsty) and enjoyed a week of pleasure! Great nightly entertainment with a different theme each day. Fabulous dancers and singers! The food was good with lots of variety. Everyone was very nice. The grounds are very well kept. Many beautiful flowers and trees. We saw iguanas, crabs and sea erchants. Wish we were still there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from sf calif

beautiful accommodations, terrific service

Posted Dec 29, 2013
loved our stay. not cheap but treated royally! loved the location and grounds and food and service. would highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Valley Center, CA.

Manzanillo

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: The rooms and bathrooms were awesome, large shower and double sinks, and a bathtub you can actually soak in. Pools spotless. Even buffet was great.
Cons: No food after 10:30 at night except thru room service, at additional cost. If you are at the disco no place to eat after.
Location: Small zipline, atv tour. Nearby cities are small. Manzanillo is primarily a shipping port, downtown is small and mostly locals oriented.
Travelled Oct. 26th thru Nov. 3rd. Resort was not overly full and the weather was terrific. The Karmina is a wonderful resort. Clean and neat. The staff was great, as was the service they provided. They have two to three people cleaning the three level pool all day so the pools were great. I enjoyed the food at the restraunts (which are real, separate restraunts in the resort) as well as the buffet. The buffet had more Mexican food than I saw when I travelled to Cabo, Mazatlan, or Puerto Vallarta which was great for me as when I travel I enjoy local cuisine, not eating American food in foreign countries. The rooms were large and the bathroom was huge, really nice. Beds are firm but comfortable. The beach is small. It only covers about half of the small cove, and only a portion is swimmable due to the rocks inside the cove. The pools are split into three levels. There is quite a bit of seating and umbrellas around the pool and beach. Quiet and relaxing resort. No loud music or drunken party people. More of a family, couples resort to relax at, quiet and slow paced. Brush up on your Spanish. Most of the staff speak some English but not all. The shows and most TV are also in Spanish. Disco music was also Mexican music. Not a problem as I can dance to anything, just be aware. Pick up some pesos before travelling. Taxis and shops do not take dollars. Wells Fargo has some currency exchanges. Manzanillo has exchanges as well. The resort will exchange also but the rate is terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved it

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Everything was perfect, we will come back next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Celia from Silicon Valley, California

Best Hotel in Manzanillo!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The food. We were always looking forward to our next meal!
Location: We were there for 5 days and only left the hotel to go for walks in the morning which was very safe.
This was my third time staying here and Barceló Karmina Palace came through again! Their rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is awesome from the Bartender to the restaurant staff, to the maintenance and spa personnel. I recommend the restaurant Agave for Mexican cuisine that is truly out of this world. The only negative part of the hotel was the gym. All the workout clothes I packed were sleeveless and they would not allow sleeveless tops in the gym. I understand why, but this important detail should be posted on the hotel website. That being said, the service everywhere is so wonderful and the food and beverages so top notch, that I really didn't care. The beach is a private beach but most of it has large rocks and only about one third of it is sandy. Their dinner show is a lot better than what you would expect for a hotel show. We will definitely be back again next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ms from Chicago

I love the swimming pools!

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Food, swimming pools, gardens.
Cons: Activities and better music .
Location: Downtown Manzanillo shopping and a lot of restaurants
It was a great vacation this is the 3rd time I go to this resort and it won't be the last one I love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jm from chapala

Great hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: The only thing I can think of, is to gold plate the bathroom taps,or maybe they were.
Location: Close to everything,but don't plan on walking ,unless you like walking.
Best hotel I have stayed at.Lots of different foods,shelterd beach. The palapa on the cliff was very nice,I just wish it was open more often,for breakfast and later for drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaime from Chula Vista CA

Dress codes

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Cons: I stay ay 4205 room and the shower drain smells really bad at all the time, you might want to check on that
Over all is a good hotel, nice location, nice facilities, service and food good, no problems unless you want to go to the gym, make sure you go with a shirt with sleeves on, none of the other type like T-Tops they won't let you in, why ?? I have no idea IT'S A GYM PEOPLE !!!, make sure of your tennis shoes, minimum a running shoes others forget it, they won't let you in, make sure you got a lest a set of PANTS, I can understand that, they won't let you in with short at the Japanese restaurant, you might want to ask for dress codes at the hotel lobby when you check in to play it safe ....
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rod from Reno, Nv

Bad customer service

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Needs better food selection, customer service was very bad.