Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daryl from Laguna Beach, CA

A real surprise.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: See above
Location: Actually the only thing to do is the resort. We rented a car and drove quite a lot. Not much to do outside of the resort.
Barcelo Karmina Palace in Manzanillo is a real find! This is a first class hotel with an amazing property and one of the best group of staff members I have witnessed in my travels. The restaurants were set in beautiful areas of the resort. The food was excellent, even in the buffet. The pool areas are separated by tropical landscape giving each intimacy and privacy. There were very few children and the ones that were at the resort were well behaved. Our room was large. The view was outstanding. The bathroom was huge. What surprised us is that there were very few people from the US. This is not a negative but certainly a curiosity as to why this property is not filled with people from north of the border. This place is amazing!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, horrible service!

Posted May 26, 2014
Beautiful hotel but horrible service. Great for families with small children but not for adults. Dinner requires reservations and even though the hotel was practically empty, they told us the reservations for the night had met their quota?? The restaurant was also practically empty. We agreed to make reservations for the following night only to be called a few hours prior to our reservations to be told they made a mistake and that the restaurant was closed that day. Even getting pool towels was a hassle! You need to keep track of a small piece of paper in order to get a towel. Definitely disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Overall experience was ok. Resort was beautiful but the hotel staff at check in were not very friendly at all. Although this was an "all-inclusive" resort, when you asked to have alcohol in our room, we were told we had to pay for it. It was free everywhere else but not in our room. The food was edible but certainly nothing to rave about. This is not a resort that many people from the U.S. go to either, we were the only Americans there so it was more of a local culture, which is fine but not what most Americans look for in a resort. The room was very nice and the view was spectacular! Nice place but I wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from Wyoming

Family Fun in the Sun!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: All the fun activities they provided. You can eat whenever you like. The massage was great, too!
Cons: Need more washcloths on the rooms.
Location: The location was great. Beautiful ocean views with the city scape in the background. Local market downtown on Saturday mornings.
We came to play at the beach, swim in their many pools and enjoy beatuful weather. Barcelo had all of this! We never went hungry (or thirsty) and enjoyed a week of pleasure! Great nightly entertainment with a different theme each day. Fabulous dancers and singers! The food was good with lots of variety. Everyone was very nice. The grounds are very well kept. Many beautiful flowers and trees. We saw iguanas, crabs and sea erchants. Wish we were still there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from sf calif

beautiful accommodations, terrific service

Posted Dec 29, 2013
loved our stay. not cheap but treated royally! loved the location and grounds and food and service. would highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Valley Center, CA.

Manzanillo

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: The rooms and bathrooms were awesome, large shower and double sinks, and a bathtub you can actually soak in. Pools spotless. Even buffet was great.
Cons: No food after 10:30 at night except thru room service, at additional cost. If you are at the disco no place to eat after.
Location: Small zipline, atv tour. Nearby cities are small. Manzanillo is primarily a shipping port, downtown is small and mostly locals oriented.
Travelled Oct. 26th thru Nov. 3rd. Resort was not overly full and the weather was terrific. The Karmina is a wonderful resort. Clean and neat. The staff was great, as was the service they provided. They have two to three people cleaning the three level pool all day so the pools were great. I enjoyed the food at the restraunts (which are real, separate restraunts in the resort) as well as the buffet. The buffet had more Mexican food than I saw when I travelled to Cabo, Mazatlan, or Puerto Vallarta which was great for me as when I travel I enjoy local cuisine, not eating American food in foreign countries. The rooms were large and the bathroom was huge, really nice. Beds are firm but comfortable. The beach is small. It only covers about half of the small cove, and only a portion is swimmable due to the rocks inside the cove. The pools are split into three levels. There is quite a bit of seating and umbrellas around the pool and beach. Quiet and relaxing resort. No loud music or drunken party people. More of a family, couples resort to relax at, quiet and slow paced. Brush up on your Spanish. Most of the staff speak some English but not all. The shows and most TV are also in Spanish. Disco music was also Mexican music. Not a problem as I can dance to anything, just be aware. Pick up some pesos before travelling. Taxis and shops do not take dollars. Wells Fargo has some currency exchanges. Manzanillo has exchanges as well. The resort will exchange also but the rate is terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved it

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Everything was perfect, we will come back next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Celia from Silicon Valley, California

Best Hotel in Manzanillo!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The food. We were always looking forward to our next meal!
Location: We were there for 5 days and only left the hotel to go for walks in the morning which was very safe.
This was my third time staying here and Barceló Karmina Palace came through again! Their rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is awesome from the Bartender to the restaurant staff, to the maintenance and spa personnel. I recommend the restaurant Agave for Mexican cuisine that is truly out of this world. The only negative part of the hotel was the gym. All the workout clothes I packed were sleeveless and they would not allow sleeveless tops in the gym. I understand why, but this important detail should be posted on the hotel website. That being said, the service everywhere is so wonderful and the food and beverages so top notch, that I really didn't care. The beach is a private beach but most of it has large rocks and only about one third of it is sandy. Their dinner show is a lot better than what you would expect for a hotel show. We will definitely be back again next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ms from Chicago

I love the swimming pools!

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Food, swimming pools, gardens.
Cons: Activities and better music .
Location: Downtown Manzanillo shopping and a lot of restaurants
It was a great vacation this is the 3rd time I go to this resort and it won't be the last one I love this place.