Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent facilities and services

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: At par with similarly rated hotels despite being in Africa.
Cons: Not much I can think of.
Location: Good location, but Maputo is not a big city anyway.
This hotel could have been anywhere in Europe or Asia or the US, the facilities and services are at par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location and View for Maputo

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
For Maputo, the Polana Serena Hotel is definitely probably the best place to stay regarding location and view. Service is wonderful, although the hot water is often not hot, but it is warm enough to take a comfortable shower. The beds are a little bit hard, as well. The rooms, overall, are very comfortable and clean. The Veranda Restaurant serves great food morning, noon, and night. The Spa is a wonderful place, with a great gym for a hotel, but the jacuzzi does not work, nor does the steam room. The sauna works, but also needs some maintenance. Otherwise, the facilities are kept very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Extremely comfortable and luxurious

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was conveniently located to attractions and to beautiful scenery (the coast and ocean!). The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was incredibly well maintained and stunning. The watermelon juice at the gym was a nice touch too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Berntfrom Göteborg

Simply the best in Maputo

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Allt var perfekt, tom apelsinjuicen var färskpressad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Diego & Aleidafrom Canada

Very good selection

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although is a bit pricy, the hotel is beautiful and very well equiped, spa and pool in excellent condition, the building is just wonderful. If you are willing to pay a bit more than in outside places ( recommended to stay in). You can enjoy snacks and drinks in a nice retro-atmosphere. In general i will be back on my next visit to Mozambique. Service was top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Henriquefrom Edinburgh

Posh hotel, Very comfortable!

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Easy to enjoy the space of the hotel. Apparently the best hotel in the city. The only problem is that I have been there for 2 weekends at work. And at both weekends they had wedding ceremonies at the external area. This means we could not use the swimming pool. I must admit that is a little put down...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carlofrom Suisse

très bien

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Très bel hôtel, très beau cadre, le service (bars et restaurant) pourrait être plus attentif .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

,leuk om na vele jr weer eens in Polana te logeren

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: dat het hotel in zijn oude glorie hersteld is
Cons: vond het prima
Location: helaas maar een overnachting en een extra halve dag de art markt dichtbij super
De eerste keer dat ik in Polana logeerde was zon 30 jr geleden, andere tijden, goed te zien dat het hotel in volle glorie hersteld is
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G Mfrom Dar es Salaam

Jewel of Maputo

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Space, gardens, architecture
Cons: Fix the roof in the main restaurant
Location: Art Market is within walking distance
Old style manor. This is the way you expect the hotel to be - spacious and overlooking the ocean with blue swimming pool. Although maintenance has some drawbacks - the roof is leaking in the main restaurant, when it rains, the lower levels are not fully refurbished, but taking into account the fact the it was built slightly less than a century ago in the middle of Africa - it's worth visiting