Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G M from Dar es Salaam

Jewel of Maputo

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Space, gardens, architecture
Cons: Fix the roof in the main restaurant
Location: Art Market is within walking distance
Old style manor. This is the way you expect the hotel to be - spacious and overlooking the ocean with blue swimming pool. Although maintenance has some drawbacks - the roof is leaking in the main restaurant, when it rains, the lower levels are not fully refurbished, but taking into account the fact the it was built slightly less than a century ago in the middle of Africa - it's worth visiting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accept no substitute, this place is the greatest

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: History, location, top-notch service
Cons: Pool opening times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by balkhair from Dubai

it was an amazing experience and safe and secure

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Spa
Cons: restaurants more facilities better furniture in the room better wireless connection, room lighting and easy access to lighting switches.
Location: best location throw out all maputo.
honestly for the price i was expecting a better service but as in Africa region its great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from SA

Average

Posted Jun 5, 2013
No Hot water,very disappointing, I had just return from a trip in Africa and was looking forward to a nice hot bath. During our travels we spent a night at Zambezi Sun International 3 star's and I am afraid they should be 5 stars compared to my visit at Polana
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not at all worth the price

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my first stay in Maputo and although I've been to Africa several times before and visited Maputo for a day trip once, I have to say, this was the most disappointing experience. Several of these points would be forgivable if the hotel was not touted as a luxury 5 star resort with a corresponding price, but my expectations are always created by the hotel's reputation and price: (1) There was a lizard in my dirty clothes I placed on the chair a night before (again - forgivable if it was a lower level hotel in the region) (2) The hotel was not able to provide me a simple plug point converter for the unique sockets. The receptionist's excuse was that some guests tend to steal them and so they never have enough. (again - an excuse acceptable at a budget hotel - not this one - they should keep far more than they need) (3) Lukewarm water at best. It got a little better after I complained, but not a whole lot. (4) A breakfast buffet that was closer to 3-4 star hotels. (5) My airline had lost my luggage and I needed a shaving kit. All they could provide was a small disposable razor with no shaving cream. I had to improvise and use conditioner. Again - a hotel of this stature, in realizing my situation, should have gone the extra mile to get what I needed. CONCLUSION: Save money, find a newer cheaper hotel. There are some of them in Maputo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service wasn't there for 5 start property!!!

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Food
Cons: Service, service and service!!
Location: Location was beautiful!!!
While overall we had an okay stay, however it was not 4 1/2 nor 5 stars in the service. The service was quite dissappointing for this level of hotel. So much so I wrote a letter to the GM regarding our stay. They offer a beautiful property, good food and nice accommodations, but the SERVICE was not up to par. If you're not looking for "high quality service" then I recommend this hotel, if you are then this certainly is not the property for you. Guest from Sandhurst, South Africa
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from JOHANESBURG, South Africa

Polana Serena Hotel in Mozambique

Posted Jan 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
I have really enjoyed my stay at Polana Hotel. It exceeded my expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from south africa

Paul

Posted Dec 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
this hotel is very nice and kind people on duity
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended!

Posted Sep 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
I got a great price for a fantastic hotel! I stayed at a few other top-end hotels in Maputo and the Polana Serena was definitely the best. Also, I happened to have a flight scheduled for September 1, 2010, when there were food riots... and the hotel handled that delicate situation with grace. A great stay, book it if you can.