Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

fantastic!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Trust the Ritz name on this one even if you are unsure about the location. AMAZING property and the service was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway - even with a full hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Great location, lots of amenities (trips, pool, spa, tennis, golf), spacious layout
Cons: Somewhat obnoxious pricing - $5 for a club soda? $25/day resort fees on top of the room rate that didn't give you access to anything?
Location: great hiking, biking, golf - all right there. great for outdoor activities
I went to Dove Mountain for a few days of R&R in the dry desert heat. I could not have been happier with the hotel. The staff were the nicest i have encountered - friendly, attentive, helpful - even with the hotel being at max capacity. The facility itself is spacious, inviting and has any amenity you might want - hiking trails out the back door, a wonderful spa, good food (not the most diverse but all was good). I would stay there again in an instant - though i would probably choose less busy weekend. There were too many vacationing families and general crowdedness for me. But even with that i enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Georgia

Ritz Carlton review - 30 March - 5 April 2014

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing atmosphere; plenty of places to lounge around. Gym facility very well-equipped with new equipment. Outdoor pools were great and heated.
Cons: Food - way overpriced for the quality!! Ignite restaurant was terrible! Did not return there. Core restaurant very good and had better experience.
Location: Pit Peak National Observatory and Reid Zoo worth seeing. Avoid Old Tucson - a rip-off.
Christian, the Hotel Manager, upgraded our room to a Superior Executive Suite upon arrival once we realized our original room was located in the villages above the pools - it was too far for our son to walk as he has an impaired leg and wears a brace. Christian was very helpful and understanding to accommodate our needs - kudos to him. The facility is very nice and lives up to the Ritz high quality standards. We all enjoyed the 200 foot water slide! The staff were also very pleasant, attentive and helpful. The only negative experience was the poor quality food at Ignite Restaurant on our first night. It was served late and our son's burger was the size of a 1/2 dollar and charred to a black crisp! They returned with a hot dog that wasn't fully heated! The manger acknowledged the chefs were having some issues (to say the least). When you're paying a premium price for a meal and get fast food quality, it is beyond unreasonable. But fortunately the meals served at the other restaurants (Core, Claytons and Latin Grill) were much better . I rate the overall food a satisfactory based upon quality and price. We ate one dinner at Cheesecake Factory and another at California Pizza Kitchen at the Tucson Mall - much better value for comparable quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Chicago, IL

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Very peaceful and quiet.
Cons: Housekeeping isn't the best. Some days they would refill our to-go coffee cups, other days we had none. I also don't know if they vacuumed everyday.
Location: The location is wonderful, it is away from it all, at least that is how it feels.
The resort was wonderful, food was great and the staff was very pleasant. There is so much to do at the resort including: spa, hiking, swimming, classes, and much more. Nice place for people of all ages.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not deliver on the hype.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Property is great and bell and valets are super but remaining staff is distant and not warm. Resort fee is over $50 daily and only gives access to pool and weight room. Prices are very high and service is low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Liam, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for our kind comments about our property and in particular regarding our bell and valet staff. Our daily $48 Resort Fee in addition to access to the pool and weight room also includes overnight valet parking, high speed internet access, daily group fitness class, recreation activities such as our guided morning discovery walk and desert friends, as well as, acess to the golf driving range, use of tennis courts ,mountain bikes and our evening mixology class. We greatly appreciate receiving comments from our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future and ensuring your stay is most enjoyable. Wtih kind regards, Liam Doyle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Candace from Canada

Perfect location and wonderful service

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Great service Nd very inexpensive food.
Cons: Nothing, it was perfect.
Location: Lots of shopping and also bike and walking trails right at the hotel and if you like to golf the golf course is pretty amazing.
Staying at the Ritz Carlton at Dove Mountain was a wonderful experience. The hotel staff were friendly, attentive and professional at all times. I was expecting the price of the food to be outrageous. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the food was very reasonably priced and I had no problem eating there every day. The food at the golf course was amazing with the milkshakes being so tasty and very large and only $6.00. It was hard to believe! I would stay there again and recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

dovie at dove mountain

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: 48 $ resort fee, come on. The gift shop needs help, no hiking supplies.
Location: hiking, biking, golf, pool, spa, oh yay near Tucson too
Wonderful. Helpful courteous staff, outstanding food. The trails are great and not crowded like Phoenix. Music and fire pits at night special.Tribal flute player on rocks at 5 is cool. Pools good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ritz-Tucson

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: I loved the staff: First! The Restaurants and Bars, are great. The Pool and hiking activities are also fantastic.
Cons: Maybe mark the trails better...we got lost a few times... My wifes thinks more Vegetarian, Organic, and GMO free, etc. should be available.
Location: Awesome area...If you Golf, you're in heaven. If you like to Bike, Hike, great. Or if you love to relax...perfect: great pool etc.
Our experience was wonderful. The Ritz is tops! The staff was fantastic and personable; we actually got to know many of the staff. Travis at the pool bar: Awesome, mixes a great margarita! Amy our waitress from France was very pleasant and professional. Jantzen, who works at the Ignite Lounge, also very professional and friendly. CJ & Nathan at the Core bar, great wine selections and tremendous bar tenders! And to all the other staff: You made our trip memorable and truly special, we hope to see you all again. The Room was clean and always well kept. The Bathroom & Shower were very upscale and water pressure was great, as well as all the complimentary products they offered. The Pool is amazing....very well designed. One pool kind of for Adults and another for children, but its overall mixed. Great pool slide for the kids...or adults! Great pool side restaurant and bar: Fantastic Fish Tacos...more of a Mexican flare. There are great Vegetarian options as well throughout the resort. Every 5pm, the Ritz has a musician play the flute to honor the Hohokam Indians I believe, very moving and peaceful sounds...very relaxing to listen to this to the sun setting...In fact we were hiking in the desert mountains/hills, and we heard this echo through and it was quite moving. Our experience was nothing short of perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Aurora, Co.

A great stay

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: First rate in every respect.
Cons: Food menus could have more selection.
Location: Great views, golf if you like, great pools, plus the usual outdoor activities, tucson a great city to visit,lots to do and see.
A great place to stay, service, food, cleanliness, views, rooms all first class. The only problem is that you need a car to visit the surrounding areas of tucson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Greer, SC

A bit expensive but well worth it.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
I was in town for the AGTA Gem Trade Show. Far enough out to escape the downtown crowds, but not too far out.