Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nestled at the base of the Golden Gate

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The general feel, layout
Cons: The process of unloading luggage and figuring out parking was a little unclear but otherwise nothing.
Location: This old army base hotel is something to be experienced. It is nestled in nature, part of a national park, with deer wandering around, waterfront.
The old buildings are horseshoed around old parade grounds facing towards the water. The grounds are made for a quiet getaway, and include a spa retreat (which I did not test out). You can walk to a pier overlooking Alcatraz on the far left, San Fran across the way, and the end of the Golden Gate bridge at your door step. Despite feeling like you are at a spa retreat, there is a beautiful old bar and a lovely restaurant on the grounds, both of which we did enjoy. The restaurant was fabulous (highly recommend the front dining for the view and the piano playing). There were a fair amount of business dinners going on so I would say it could be for private meetings or a romantic getaway. The rooms are individual old NCO army housing and adorable. The bathrooms are modernized but the rest of the place is like going back in time, and cozy and personal. Wifi was free too so you could work in the comfort of your own little living room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Great experience one of the best hotels.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The service is great and wonderful and would recommend it to anyone anyday. The people are nice and care a lot about your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Loved the entire property. It's one of the best hotels with a priceless views and setting on the pacific coast. Going back this month again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby, Uk

Beautiful location.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful location, so close to the Golden Gate Bridge. Lovely views across the bay. Lovely rooms & excellent service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria from San Mateo

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful location. If you want to be near nature, this is a place to go. We got the contemporary 2 double bedroom with a view. We got a very generous welcome basket filled with chocolates, crackers and nuts. You can walk to the Marine area and take poster card like pictures or simply walk up to the hills and wander around. Make sure you take a good camera. I will certainly go back to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wchane from Palo Alto, CA

There is nothing not to love about Cavallo Point.

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment you check in to the final close of the door at check out the service level of the staff goes the full nine yards and then some. We stayed in one of the contemporary units and brought our dog in tow. We travel often with our dog, but Cavallo Point makes it effortless. Everything is just a few steps away, and there were plenty of activities just within the boundaries of the hotel not to mention downtown Sausalito, Mill Valley and San Rafael is just a short drive away. We'll be back time and time again, a great way to escape everything going on south of the Golden Gate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the historic location and stayed in one of the contemporary king rooms. The weather was windy and cold, but refreshing and the spa facilities were well maintained. The bed was too soft, which made our backs ache but some people like soft beds, right? We'd come back again. Loved the little bar opposite of Murray circle. Ate at the restaurant - food was pretty good but we could see why it lost the Michelin star...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Oklahoma

Beautiful views

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The views from the lodge are really beautiful and the rooms are quite large. The valet staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: The front desk staff was not helpful AT ALL in figuring out where to go or what to do. The water pressure in the shower was not good.
Location: The lodge is just on the other side of the golden gate bridge, right by San Francisco so its easy to get anywhere you want to go in San Francisco.
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a really nice experience. Sausalito is a very pretty small town. You can see the golden gate bridge and the bay from the lodge. I recommend eating at the restaurant outside so you can see the view if its warm enough. The restaurant food is pretty good, and they have a nice wine selection. We had a standard room and it was quite large with a living room area, bedroom and bathroom with a mini fridge included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing Venue

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the most part the service met expectations except in the restaurant and bar. It would have been nice to be told that we needed a reservation to sit in the bar on a Saturday evening. Cavallo Point should seriously consider doing something about the bar scene. They need to have a space that is reserved only for hotel guests or something. It was dissappointing that we couldn't enjoy a relaxing drink after checking in. Sunday we had breakfast in the restaurant and I think the waiter forgot about us. Once we got our meal we never actually saw our waiter again. The experience did not leave a good impression on my wife or I.