Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Weekend experience

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The lodge, grounds and food in the restaurant we're excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Roseville, CA, USA

Great If You Don't Use The Internet

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: They need working internet.
Location: Right across the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco.
Very nice, expensive hotel in a great location. We take working vacations and the internet did not work half the time at this hotel. How hard is it to have working internet for your guests, especially in San Francisco?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nestled at the base of the Golden Gate

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The general feel, layout
Cons: The process of unloading luggage and figuring out parking was a little unclear but otherwise nothing.
Location: This old army base hotel is something to be experienced. It is nestled in nature, part of a national park, with deer wandering around, waterfront.
The old buildings are horseshoed around old parade grounds facing towards the water. The grounds are made for a quiet getaway, and include a spa retreat (which I did not test out). You can walk to a pier overlooking Alcatraz on the far left, San Fran across the way, and the end of the Golden Gate bridge at your door step. Despite feeling like you are at a spa retreat, there is a beautiful old bar and a lovely restaurant on the grounds, both of which we did enjoy. The restaurant was fabulous (highly recommend the front dining for the view and the piano playing). There were a fair amount of business dinners going on so I would say it could be for private meetings or a romantic getaway. The rooms are individual old NCO army housing and adorable. The bathrooms are modernized but the rest of the place is like going back in time, and cozy and personal. Wifi was free too so you could work in the comfort of your own little living room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a fantastic stay at Cavallo Point. The service staff were fast, friendly, and professional. Our room was excellent and the grounds are impeccable. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Treffingers

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Great experience one of the best hotels.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The service is great and wonderful and would recommend it to anyone anyday. The people are nice and care a lot about your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Loved the entire property. It's one of the best hotels with a priceless views and setting on the pacific coast. Going back this month again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grimsby, Uk

Beautiful location.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful location, so close to the Golden Gate Bridge. Lovely views across the bay. Lovely rooms & excellent service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariafrom San Mateo

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful location. If you want to be near nature, this is a place to go. We got the contemporary 2 double bedroom with a view. We got a very generous welcome basket filled with chocolates, crackers and nuts. You can walk to the Marine area and take poster card like pictures or simply walk up to the hills and wander around. Make sure you take a good camera. I will certainly go back to this place.