Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful spot a stone throws from the city

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Spent 2 lovely nights in this fantastic hotel. Everything was wonderful, the spa, the restaurant, the staff. The only downside would be it was a little bit pricey. We had planned to stay one night and after loving the first we stayed a second. As it was a Sunday night it would have been nice if the staff offered us a new room with a view prehaps check that you can get a room with a view as it would make the experience even more memorable... All in all ill be back a very romantic place to unwind or explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Weekend experience

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The lodge, grounds and food in the restaurant we're excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Roseville, CA, USA

Great If You Don't Use The Internet

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: They need working internet.
Location: Right across the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco.
Very nice, expensive hotel in a great location. We take working vacations and the internet did not work half the time at this hotel. How hard is it to have working internet for your guests, especially in San Francisco?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful & relaxed

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed there for a night... wonderful location, relaxed. Rooms are clean and well sorted. Will definitely be back... for more than a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfeito!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
O hotel é muito bom com ótimo serviço e localização. O restaurante local é ótimo com um maravilhoso café da manhã. Vista privilegiada para a Golden Gate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nestled at the base of the Golden Gate

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The general feel, layout
Cons: The process of unloading luggage and figuring out parking was a little unclear but otherwise nothing.
Location: This old army base hotel is something to be experienced. It is nestled in nature, part of a national park, with deer wandering around, waterfront.
The old buildings are horseshoed around old parade grounds facing towards the water. The grounds are made for a quiet getaway, and include a spa retreat (which I did not test out). You can walk to a pier overlooking Alcatraz on the far left, San Fran across the way, and the end of the Golden Gate bridge at your door step. Despite feeling like you are at a spa retreat, there is a beautiful old bar and a lovely restaurant on the grounds, both of which we did enjoy. The restaurant was fabulous (highly recommend the front dining for the view and the piano playing). There were a fair amount of business dinners going on so I would say it could be for private meetings or a romantic getaway. The rooms are individual old NCO army housing and adorable. The bathrooms are modernized but the rest of the place is like going back in time, and cozy and personal. Wifi was free too so you could work in the comfort of your own little living room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cavallo in Fall

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Minutes from the Golden Gate and diwntown Sausalito. A welcome respite ftom the busy downtown. Great location, impeccable service. Nightlife is quiet, beware if there is fog as the horn will blow incessantly.