Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy

Marriott Courtyard one night stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: It's cleanliness, the amenities, FREE WI-FI
Cons: I can't think of anything off hand.
Location: Lots of wineries within a few minutes of the hotel (but not so near that you end up paying exorbitant prices).
We came to Sonoma to attend a wedding at one of the nearby vineyards. The Novato Courtyard Marriott offered a comfortable, clean room at a reasonable price. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room but it was welcoming to come back to after the hectic wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice facility

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Great overall experience and conveniently located near wine country
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JW from California

nice hotel close to shops, room not set up though

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, couldn't be closer to shops and a fuel station. Room was quiet apart from emergency vehicle sirens (to be expected when next to a road)
Cons: Attention to detail regarding who is going to be checking in and how many people are staying. The bed should have been made and the room set for 4.
Location: Located alongside a Safeway and lots of shops and a couple of eating places. We were at the Sonoma raceway for the weekend and the location was great.
Really handy location, Staff were helpful. Food in hotel quite good but pricey. Service For breakfast very slow. We had a good stay overall. The downside for us was that we arrived quite late with two young children. I had called ahead to say that we would be late and when we arrived was unpleasantly surprised to hear that I needed to make up the sofa bed in the room. I would have thought that the bed would have been made up for our arrival. We also had to ask for extra bedding ( only one thin blanket and sheets available) and there were only enough towels for 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good night's sleep

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: I liked the quiet and clean room. The beds were comfortable, linens unstained. Bathroom was very clean and well-maintained (no mold, broken fixtures).
Cons: I could not adjust the chair to an appropriate height to work at the desk. Otherwise, I liked the desk setup and appreciate the free wifi.
Location: Safeway grocery store, small eateries are within walking distance. Gas station is nearby.
As a daily distance commuter, I have stayed here before to attend early morning or very late evening meetings at work in San Rafael. I have also stayed here for early morning flights out of Oakland and San Francisco. The front desk staff are ready, willing, helpful, and genuinely courteous. The Marin Airporter bus is a convenient walk across the street. This facility offers a comfortable room environment for restful sleep and welcome peace from the madding crowd and a hectic schedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JT from Pacific Palisades

A Fantastic Place

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved it !!! Andrea was our front desk receptionist. She was super nice and friendly. Gladys serviced our room every day with perfection. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The bed was perfect----love the firmness. It gave the us the necessary back support so we were able to enjoy the 10 hours of sleep needed after the New Years Eve celebration. The hotel is located very close to many great restaurants and stores. The overall condition of the hotel is outstanding. We enjoyed our stay and will be coming back very soon. Thank you so very much, Marriott !!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pretty ordinary and over-priced. Much better deal a little south at the Embassy Suites in San Rafael. Next time, that's where we'll stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Becky S from San Jose

Nice choice for Novato stay

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Price was right, location was great - no complaints here! Hotel is very close to the freeway, a Safeway, coffee, restaurants, and was a great place to stop for the night during a race weekend. We had a comfortable stay - the room wasn't over-the-top fancy, but it was nicer than merely functional. The hotel staff was uniformly friendly and parking was easy. I am quite pleased we decided to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive, but very nice

Posted Dec 6, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from Oakland

Rock-hard bed

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, great location, good cafe food (with Starbucks!), clean, good service. But the bed was HORRIBLY hard. We were there 2 nights and I barely slept at all. My shoulders hurt, my back ached, and my neck hurt because the pillows were paper thin. For our purposes, this stay was 100% about somewhere to sleep close to our Thanksgiving plans, so 2 stars is as high as I can muster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Our stay in Novato

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, our stay in the courtyard by Marriott Novato was pleasant. The location was easy to find via "Garman". The room was clean and smelled fresh. We took a walk around the neighborhood after we checked in. we had coffee at "Peet's", my favorite. There were several nice restaurants within walking distance, with indoor and outdoor seating. Pleasant upscale establishments. No complaints!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Novato Courtyard. Feedback regarding the accessibility to nearby shopping and restaurants is much appreciated. We are pleased that you were able to utilize the surrounding Hamilton Shopping center and enjoy the adjacent neighborhood. Thank you for choosing us during your stay and we encourage you to come visit us again soon. Tim H.