Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Extend A Stay America, San Rafael

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Large, clean room. Quiet. Staff helpful and very friendly. Nice alternative to expensive San Francisco hotels. Easy drive into SF. While this hotel is a bit shabby, for the price it is a fair deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Just completely terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We continually work to improve our hotel, so thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Apple Valley, CA

Good place to stay in Marin

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Close to the office and friendly people.
Cons: More fitness equipment.
Location: San Francisco is either a bridge or a ferry boat ride away. Wine country is up North. Restaurants and shopping is very close.
This is a good hotel, no frills and at a very reasonable price. This is a self serve property for those who are staying in the area for a fair amount of time. All the normal facilities, quick breakast, fitness center, laundry are available. So far it has been a very good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time in giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad to read that our hotel and amenities met your needs. It is great to know that you appreciated our location and that you found us to be a great value. I am proud that our staff provided you with friendly service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The location near stores, gas stations, and the Richmond Bridge.
Cons: Keep cooking utensils in the rooms.
Location: It's quiet, near a thoroughfare to access other streets to shop.
We prefer to stay at this location every time we visit San Rafael, CA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I would like to thank you for telling us about your recent visit to Extended Stay America San Rafael. We regret any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay. We remove the dishes and utensils from every room upon check-out so they are thoroughly cleaned and sterilized. In future, simply notify the front desk of whatever you require and we will make sure it is brought to your room! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we thank you for your positive comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wiz in the lot :(

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Never have I had drive around a building so that my wife wouldn't have to see one of there guest urinate in the front of a hotel, thanks but no thanks.i'll stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. It upsets me to read of what you witnessed in the parking lot of our hotel. I will be sharing your experience with our security staff to prevent your experience from being repeated. We do not condone this and thanks to you will be very vigilant so that this never happens again. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we thank you for your comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RJBfrom Oregon

A Bay Area choice location

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's like being in a dormitory instead of a hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to read that you received poor service from my staff. I will be working with them to review our customer service standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THIS PLACE SMELLS LIKE DEATH

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: smell was HORRIBLE, breakfast was granola bars, coffee was weak, room décor was depressing. UGH.
STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS STINKS
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with our grab-and-go breakfast and the smell of our hotel. I will be reviewing your comments with our staff to ensure these issues are not repeated in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronfrom Lancaster

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights while visiting my daughter at a nearby college and were very comfortable with our hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad to read that your stay was very comfortable, and that we met your needs during your visit to your daughter. The staff and I thank you again for your kind review. We would love to host you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by cherylfrom pdx

good in a pinch.

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
A kitchen comes with the room with microwave. HOWEVER, if you want a cup or teaspoon to have a cup of tea you have to go down to the front desk. It is called customizing your kitchen needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Great location for exploring Marin County!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Cons: My only complaint was not having a list of local restaurants/eateries, stores, etc. It would be MOST helpful and save staff time!
Location: Beaches, walking paths, San Francisco, scenic coastal drive on HWY 1, Muir Woods National Monument redwoods.
Our party of three spent two nights here exploring Marin County. Short drive to Muir Woods, Muir and Stinson Beaches and Golden Gate National Recreational Area. Nice walking paths with bay views for a stroll and exercise just a block away. The room was nice and clean, included a mini kitchen w/full size refrigerator, microwave. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Dog friendly too! I will definitely be back and recommend this location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so glad to read that the location of our hotel was so convenient for your needs, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to read that your room was clean and met your needs, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback. We would love to welcome you back in the future to provide you with another comfortable stay.