Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great Location out of the city

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, amenities
Hotel was a little older but had been updated nicely. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room. Decorating was updated and very nice. Breakfast was very good....better than typical continental breakfast. Nice walking path behind the hotel, and I understand they have bikes available for guests but unfortunately we were not there long enough to take advantage of that. Ferry terminal is not too far away so you can easily cross over the bay to San Francisco and not have to worry about driving or parking over there. Would stay again and will recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Quiet but close to the City

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The room was nice and large. They have smore's on the patio firepit in the evenings. We were too busy to use the pool but it looked nice.
Location: Drive or Bike into San Francisco. See Alcatraz, the Golden Gate bridge and drive down the crookedest street ever. Eat chowder at Fisherman's Wharf,
We traveled with our children and small pet dog. The hotel was close to a path that you could bike or walk to the city on. There is a fabulous Italian restaurant on site. We were located off Hwy 1 just north of the San Francisco. We drove across the Golden Gate Bridge and also took the bypass highway during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL AND NICE LOCATION

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: The breakfast they offer is terrible all the foods seem artificial it is like eating rubber eggs and sausage.
Enjoyed the hotel but the fireplace which would have been great keeps shutting off and it is too cold without it to sit outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carol from nm

Nice amenities, bikes to borrow, dvd's to borrow,

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location and price we paid
Cons: N/a
Location: Short hop to SF, Stinson Beach- great location
S'mores were a treat at night. Breakfast in morning made easy start to the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from California

Close to SF without the exorbitant prices.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: They offer free bike rentals to use on nearby bike paths which are on the water.
Cons: No real complaints.
Location: Close to Sausalito which has a variety of shops and restaurants. You can also take a ferry from Sausalito into SF if you don't want to bother driving.
My wife and I stayed here one night as part of a trip for our wedding anniversary. We only live an hour away but wanted something close to San Francisco where we were having dinner without paying the obnoxious prices for a nice San Francisco hotel. We stayed in this hotel a few years ago when it was under different ownership and really enjoyed it then. Luckily, it hasn't changed much. The rooms are still clean, updated, and comfortable. The king bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom amenities were nice (Bath & Body Works). There is a large flat screen TV in the room with HD channels. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when hotels have large flat screen TVs with a standard definition feed, so that was good. The included breakfast was pretty good. You get the standard fare (cereal, bagels, juice), as well as a good selection of hot foods (eggs, sausage, hot cinnamon rolls, pancake maker). We saw that they offer free smores around dinner time, but we didn't have the opportunity to try as we were out for dinner. All in all, if you're looking for a clean and comfortable hotel without paying sky-high hotel prices in San Francisco for a comparable level of comfort, I would highly recommend this place. It's also got some nice views of water from the hotel grounds. Note that if your room is facing northeast, you're probably going to be looking at the underside of Highway 101. I'd ask for a northwest-facing 2nd floor room for the best water views.
2 out of 5
by alan from Bangkok

hotel staff very inattentive

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: change the entire front desk staff
Location: close to all in Marin, and across from SF.
given wrong room at check in because they didn't bother to read my reservation, did not accept a fedex package I had sent causing me problems with my business. Answered the phone by asking " what do you want ? " very rude indeed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Colorado Springs

Great location, nice hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Great location, nice hotel. Close to the action, but far enough away that you don't feel like you're boxed into the concrete jungle. Friendly staff, nice room. Reasonably priced for the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from mill valley..California

Always enjoy staying there

Posted May 31, 2014
Clean.roomy.considerate.nice area...easy to get around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. New and clean.

Posted May 23, 2014
Good for the money. Convenient to Marin county sights and places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Florida

Beautiful location,very close to S.F. Bay Bridge.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Location,Location,Location
Cons: My wife and kids were happy, so I was happy.
Location: Location is about 10 minutes from the Wharf and piers. A beautiful drive in any direction,Muir Woods,Napa or Sonoma Valley,Beaches,mountains,or S.F.
Mill Valley is a quaint little place with easy access to S.F.,Muir woods,the mountains,and the beaches.The town itself has everything you need plus some fine restaurants and a wonderful grocery store. The motel was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and caring. The breakfasts were equipped with all the goodies,eggs,bacon,sausage,biscuits,fruits,rolls,muffins.bagels,cereals(4),milk, juices,coffee,etc. The outside fireplace in the evening was a nice touch and the smores were great. There is a walking and biking path just steps from the motel right by the water.Parking is free. I would definitely stay here again.