Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

A stop for the night

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: inexpensive, for the area. Easy access.
Cons: Breakfast could include fresh fruit
Location: Shopping, Bodega Bay - 1 hr away, Sonoma raceway & vineyards.
Needed an inexpensive- no frills - place to sleep for the night. Hotel is easy to find, staff was nice, room was comfortable, clean and quiet, plenty of parking & easy access to shopping and places to eat. (suggestions from staff were helpful and accurate).Common areas and laundry room looked clean (I did not use the laundry machines). Room rate includes a continental breakfast. (Cereal, packaged muffins, coffee & juice)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Just renovated and very clean

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The owners of this Inn just finished completely renovating this property. New furniture, granite and vessel sinks. My room was very clean. This is probably your best choice for a reasonable place to stay in Marin County.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Econo Lodge and condition shows it

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I had reserved the room online. The pics showed a nice hotel for a very reasonable price. I wouldn't swim in the pool. The room had wooden blinds that didn't cover the entire window and the room could not be made dark. The 'balcony' ( I rented a 'king suite') was smaller than the balcony on cruise ship basic room and overlooked a dilapidated roof of the units below. The restaurant A/C was broken and the doors were open when I arrived. The person who greeted me did not understand English. The old Econo Lodge sign is still up but the new proprietor has a vinyl sign with the new hotel name on it. If you are looking for a fairly well kept old Econo Lodge experience, then this is your place! The management was very courteous when I stated that the accomodations were not as stated online and they allowed me to check out and refunded my payment. So, that was nice!
1 out of 5
by Derek from Los Angeles

My non-existent stay at the Marinwood....

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: The reservation system & customer service...don't know about anything else because I didn't get past the lobby
I booked this hotel through Expedia, or so I thought I did, and when I arrived there was no room for me...which wouldn't have been a problem hadn't every hotel within a 30 mile radius also been booked that night. I couldn't ever get to the bottom of who dropped the ball on this (the hotel or Expedia), but the irony is, I called the hotel after I booked it with Expedia to confirm things were a go, and they pulled up the name fine and confirmed the reservation (I did this because I had a few questions and also knew it would be full around that area that night since I previously tried to book with several other hotels in that area, and was met with no success. Bottom line: don't have too much confidence that you actually have a reservation here...even when you do call and they say they have your reservation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Kevin, the front desk manager and the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The housekeeping staff needs supervision. The kitchen and bath should be furnished for the number of guests.
Location: Salsa dancing on Sunday afternoon at the Seahorse Restaurant, Sausalito.
I booked a room after reading the reviews stating that the rooms were completely renovated and all new amenities and furnishings. I found this only partially true. the furniture is new, but the kitchens and bath were still the 1950's vintage. Don't think that you will be doing any cooking in the kitchen, as there was only one small sauce pan, 2 plates, no glasses or bowls,1 spoon, 1 knife. Certainly would challenge any cook. The size of the suite was nice for an extended stay. There is a "No Smoking" policy, but the room we were given smelled like smoke and the previous thoughtless guest left there cigarette butts on the balcony. Kevin, the front desk manager, was kind enough to give us another suite immediately. The I never saw the pool as our suite was at the back of the property. The parking was easy access to the room and the complimentary breakfast was satisfactory. Although the lunch room and refrigerator were not clean. I think the housekeeping staff could use some supervision, only 3 towels in a room for 4 guests. The beds were comfortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim Goehring from San Jose, CA

Marinwood Inn canceled my reservations

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Marinwood Inn canceled my reservations but didn't communicate this to Hotels.com. So when I tried to check in I was refused a room. And whole weekend was ruined.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by dizzy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Happily surprised

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I needed a single night stay at an affordable rate close to San Rafael, so this worked fine. Would consider staying here again, now that I know the area better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good bargain

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Location: Close to everything in Marin, had dinner in Tiburon and hiked Mt Tam and Pt Reyes.
Motel looks newly remodeled and everything was brand new. A little freeway noise, but really great price.