Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Northern Virginia

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Location: Hiked to Mount Rogers with the trailhead being about a 30 minute drive from the hotel.
This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The free continental breakfast was a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans from New York, NY

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Loved how they have maintained the historical detail throughout the hotel -- in the lobby area, in the rooms, in the hallways.
Cons: A very minor issue: the window shades were not flush to the wall, and so leaked light into the room.
Location: An interesting small town with a real "main street". Plenty of shops and restaurants around the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans from New York, NY

one of a kind experience

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: I loved how they have maintained the historical period details in the interior of the hotel.
Cons: The window shades in my room were not equal to the task of blocking the spotlights shining on the facade of the building. (I'm a sensitive sleeper.)
Location: Although Marion is a tiny town, there are several restaurants near the hotel.
I love finding hotels with historical significance and charm. I really hit the bulls-eye with the General Francis Marion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Washington, NC

Refreshingly quaint, comfortable, and affordable.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The quaint atmosphere of another era.
Cons: A small refrigerator in the room would be appreciated.
Location: Love the main street location within walking distance of shops and close proximity to the Mt. Rogers recreational area and other mountain delights.
My husband and I stayed at the GFMH from August 8-11, 2013 and enjoyed the quaint atmosphere of another era. Our full sized bed room was small but adequate for two and the bath was spacious and beautiful. The hotel was quiet and comfortable and we will stay there on future trips. Three weeks previously, we were in the area and stayed at two different chain hotels that were more expensive and much less charming. We did not eat at The Black Rooster restaurant but only because our schedule found us elsewhere for evening meals. The staff were helpful, courteous, and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Betty from Clyde, Texas

What a grand hotel!!

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: The rooms are in keeping with the originality of the hotel.
Cons: I cannot think of a least favorite thing!
Location: The location is in the historic part of downtown, a great reminder of its past.
We were greeted by April and immediately made to feel welcome. The Hotel is well worth the drive into downtown, not only for the beautiful hotel, but the overall history of the hotel itself. Our stay was made even more enjoyable by April, who gave me a tour and brief history of the grand hotel. Our evening was completed with dinner at the Black Rooster, which I highly recommend. The food and staff were excellent. I highly recommend the General Francis Marion Hotel. I hope we get to stay on our return trip back to Texas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E2 from Durham, NC, USA

Great historic hotel in small downtown

Posted Nov 23, 2012
Terrific renovated historic hotel in downtown Marion, not far from Mount Rogers National Recreation Area. If this place were in a larger market, you'd expect to spend probably double what they are offering. Really makes you feel like you are back in the '20s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth Anne from TEXAS

Mariin, Va

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: The charm of it & cleanliness.
Location: Location is ideal.
iT'S VERY CHARMING-as well as comfortable. the food is very good & reasonable including the comp breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Decor
Cons: Restaurant service; hot water heater in disrepair
Location: nice location
We were looking forward to dinner after we had been told the hotel had the nicest restaurant in town. I ordered the featured filet cooked med-rare, thinking to splurge a little. As we waited we noticed the chef came out & asked a nearby couple if their burgers were to their liking. We were impressed; it's always a nice touch when the chef makes an appearance to personally visit with the guests. When we received ours 1/2 hr later, my steak was cooked med-well. Our server brought me a plate to return the steak on, leaving me w/ a plate of potatoes & asparagus. After about 25 minutes my husband had reluctantly finished his dinner before it got cold, my plate of sides was completely cold & we had finished our wine, I had to ask our server to check on my steak. She then brought it out on a small plate, apparently so I could enjoy it with cold vegetables & sauce. She mentioned that no one was in the kitchen when she went to check on it & had to pull it off the grill herself. At no time did the manager/chef come to our table to apologize or check on the new steak. We finally left the restaurant 2.5 hrs after we arrived. The steak was taken off the bill but I would much rather have paid full price for a good experience. To top it off, when we woke up the next morning, the entire hotel was without hot water. We had to check out without taking showers and left completely disappointed.