Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Modifrom Huddersfield

Great location, hotel full of historic charn

Posted Sep 19, 2014 
Aldbourne is a lovely village in great countryside if you want to get away from it all. As you might expect from a property this age its charm and character outweigh any modern expectations. If you want a typical 'production line' hotel room, stay in Swindon. If you are happy with sloping floors, low ceilings and dodgy TV reception - ie a room with personality - stay here. :) I know what I prefer. .. I will happily go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

Rather shabby village pub with rooms

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The food was good.
Cons: It needs massive investment to bring it to a level that would be acceptable in 2014.
Location: The village is pleasant and area is excellent. There are many interesting and famous sites such as Stonehenge and Avebury near by.
The rating given this establishment on Expedia bore no relation to reality! Whilst the food was good the pub was too full of loud regulars and assorted large dogs to be comfortable in. The 1970's style room was very shabby and not very clean with a tile falling off the wall in the bathroom. We had to push to get it serviced and then it was done in a grudging and half hearted manner. New towels (very worn) were thrown over the used wet towels which were not removed. There was an air of neglect and this pub seemed to be run for the convenience of the owners family and locals rather than the customers. Parking is in the village square and was adequate but public. The experience was so bad I was moved to apologise to my wife for bringing her there. Perhaps the worst 'hotel' we have stayed at in the UK - and we have stayed in many hundreds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CharlieRfrom Halstead

Smashing location

Posted Jul 31, 2014 
Just in for an overnight stay, but a lovely old building. Quirky rooms to be expected for a building this old, but very comfortable. Staff very helpful and breakfast was a delight. Lovely village setting.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

escape route

Posted Jun 18, 2014 
Nice location, shame about the hotel. Lack of staff training, gave me a bunch of 20 keys. I said I surely don't need that many, so he said take of the one you need. Hmmmm indeed. A decent shower is a must, this one way of the mark. Ran hot and cold with no pressure, floors weren't level in the room. Then to top it off, in the morning I went to leave, only to find myself locked in!!!!!! Maybe I should of kept the bunch of keys!!! After pressing the night bell 3 times without response. I had to hatch an escape route, which involved moving beer garden benches, claiming up an 8 ft fence with my gear and jumping over it. Not recommended. Food was good, but took a while to come.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Friendly, welcoming stay in a peaceful village

Posted May 13, 2014 
I have previously stayed several times at The Marlborough on the High Street in Marlborough travelling on Business and not had a good night's sleep once. I was looking for a clean, quiet room and decided to try The Crown in Aldbourne. It's a bit further out of town with not much in the village but it is very picturesque, ideal for walkers. The room was spacious, comfy mattresses, pillows, fluffy towels, clean and quiet enough to sleep well. Bathrooms - some comments about macerators on here but they weren't that noisy, or only lasted a minute at most. The shower didn't drain very well and when reported Landlord made arrangements to get this fixed. The Landlord Alan and his staff are most welcoming and despite all the choice on the menu, were most accommodating with healthier alternatives to traditional pub meals. The quiz on Tuesdays is a must and do treat yourself to a Banana Split....heavenly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sion Edwardsfrom N Wales

comfertable stay

Posted May 13, 2014 
Nice location, comfortable rooms, nice pint , good food, all round good hotel
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stewartfrom UK

POOR POOR POOR

Posted May 8, 2014 
before i start i often leave reviews as i stay in hotels every week. I booked the crown and everything seemed fine until i arrived at the hotel. i was greeted by a young chap who showed me to my room and then said " someone is still in that room and we do not have anymore" therefore i am sending you to our sister hotel 7 miles away which is of equal standard. I said to this chap, "you have had my booking all day, did you not think to even call me to let me know" chap : No....... The other hotel which i am not going to name as this would be unfair, i was greeted by this very helpful lady who showed me to my room and to be totally honest judging by the pictures from the crown they were not the same standard..... the food & service i have to say were excellent in the hotel, but the level of customer service offered by the crown was terrible and i will never stay their again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adifrom Wakefeild

Home comforts and real ale

Posted Jan 25, 2014 
Good traditional pub open fireplace and frendly staff.made welcome and looked after
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pub in a pretty village

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Characterful, lively and a little quirky. Good ales and great food. The landlord clearly knows how to run a good pub.
Cons: Not much. Saturday night is open-mic night which can be a bit noisy, so best to go down and join in the fun.
Location: Hungerford and Marlborough both worth visiting. Sandham Memorial Chapel, The Vyne and Basildon Park also nearby. Also take a walk around the village
Stayed a couple of nights at The Crown which were thoroughly enjoyable. This is a lively, friendly pub in a very pretty village roughly halfway between Hungerford and Marlborough. Room had bags of character and was freshly decorated and furnished in good taste. En-suite bathroom a little small, but absolutely fine with us. Landlord, Alan, made us very welcome. It was clear that the pub is very popular with locals which is always a good sign. Good selection of ales, an open fire and a nice cosy restaurant. We decided to eat there each evening and the food was both tasty and good value. Breakfasts also good. Would have no hesitation in staying there again when visiting the area.