Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Cons: Our room was close to reception and the main road so there was a bit of noise. It was also split into two levels, which was a slightly awkward set-up.
Location: Perfect base for exploring the wine country!
Well located, lots of character, friendly staff. Spacious rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N Yorkshire

Comfy bed and air conditioning!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
We only stayed here one night, but our room was large, air-conditioned and the bed was the most comfortable we had in New Zealand!
5 out of 5
by Peter Fergusonfrom New Zealand - Wellington

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Character and location
Service: Professional, Friendly, Courteous; Cleanliness: Gleaming;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option in Marlborough

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Restaurant is first class
We used the hotel as a base to explore Marlborough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Central location, comfortable, clean and well serviced rooms. Friendly staff. Would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford, England

Historic and central

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: History and location
Cons: The training of the breakfast server
Location: We took an afternoon wine tour (with Bubbly Grape) which was good. The town is pleasant with a couple of art galleries, churches and shops to visit.
We stayed 2 nights while travelling from Christchurch to Picton. Arrived on a public holiday and were welcomed by, and served at dinner by, the only front-of-house person on duty (Jetti). He gave excellent service. The food was generally good, and the special lamb rack with pumpkin mash was the best lamb dish I can recall. On our second night the chef came out to have a long conversation with us at the end of service. A complementary glass of port was available on an upstairs table. Breakfast was quite good, though the service was a bit random, starting with "you won't be wanting cooked breakfast, will you?" Our bedroom, the d'Urville room, and the corridors were furnished with many pictures of the French explorer's voyages and a model of his ship. The former use of the building was evident from the very heavy doors. We experienced a small earth tremor at 5:15 in the morning; no damage!
4 out of 5
by Sally Johnstonfrom New Zealand - Wellington

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Attractive room in a central location.
Cons: No lift - so taking heavy sports gear up and down stairs each day which was not ideal.
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Distinctive; Value: Acceptable price; Service: Good, Friendly; Cleanliness: Spotless;
4 out of 5
by Nerissa Barberfrom New Zealand - Wellington

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location and interesting room
Cons: The staff were quirky. There was an excellent staff member in the restaurant. He seemed very knowledgeable. Unfortunately he did not work in the hotel
Location: New Zealand
It was a bit odd the hotel closed mid morning so lucky we did not leave our bags there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christian Casablancas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com