Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, breakfast.
Cons: Food, room sizes, host.
Location: There's a pub, although I didn't visit so can't comment. It's in the North Wessex Downs, so walking and nature type stuff!
Overnight stopover, hoping for a decent meal and a good nights sleep. It came close but not quite. The entrance hallway always gives a first impression of a hotel, and this one, which doubled as the stairway to the rooms, was cold, drafty and constructed without any thought to anything resembling a welcome. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but I felt like I was in a caravan. Very cramped with minimal space to move. Not the best place to stay if you're claustrophobic! Also, if you're a light sleeper, noise from adjacent rooms will be a problem. Thankfully my neighbours TV went off before mine, but unfortunately their alarm also went off before mine. Food-wise, the apple crumble was very good. However there was nothing good about the "steak" and ale "pie". First of all, IT WAS NOT A PIE!!! It was a casserole poured into a pie dish and a peice of puff pastry plonked on top before serving. This is the laziest form of cooking ever! Then there was the contents...more gristle than meat and very chewy. Breakfast was good however, with a wide choice on offer. The host (chef and owner) seemed more interested in moaning than serving, and his heart certainly isn't in the business...unfortunately it showed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Groovychickfrom Melbourne

Country comfort

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel thinking it was a little closer to a big town than it was. My fault! Fortunately I had a car so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. My room was large by hotel standards, comfortable and very clean. The lady of the house was lovely and the staff were all friendly & helpful. If you're looking for a rural place to stay, not too far away from a town, then this place is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by buzzdfrom Scotland

nice location friendly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice with clean rooms and a good breakfast, bar was tiny and with very limited choice of Lager, non of your regular drafts only a lager called crest which was ok.Internet was very hit and miss due to poor signal and location. mobile phone signal was nil.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom weert

Een overnachting maar niet meer.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Cons: Douch en kamers
Location: Een nacht geslapen.
Kamer douch uit de tijd. Engels onbijt was zeer goed. Zitje in restaurant is mooi.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not the greatest of experiences

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
First impressions make a difference... While this hotel is a lovely spot in the country with lovely breakfast, well catered for rooms and quiet surroundings, the politeness of the main chap running the hotel could be improved upon. First impressions count. And unfortunately, we clearly arrived at a bad time, and didn't feel quite deserving of the rudeness we encoutered : ( Also, It's too bad that the hotels.com website has inaccurate information about this hotel on their website. Something which the owner has no control over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Freundliches Hotel, gutes Essen

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Sehr freundlicher Empfang, englische Herzlichkeit. Saubere Zimmer
Location: In einem kleine Ortsteil von Marlborough. Guter Stützpunkt für einen Besuch vom Steinkreis in Avebury. Gut für Geschäftsreisende zu Honda in Swindon.
Zwischenstop auf Rundreise durch England mit anschließendem Besuch von Avebury und Salisbury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by WPfrom UK

Warm welcome & a great breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a 'superior' double room, which was a good size, clean & well equipped. The hotel also has 'classic' rooms, which I assume are a step down. Breakfast was a real treat. Fresh fruit every day, plenty of choice for a cooked breakfast, including smoked haddock. The location is ideal for hiking the Ridgeway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KKfrom London

Great owners

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners were very friendly and helpful to us. They checked if the food was what we wanted and took time to explain the menu items. The wiltshire ham and egg breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by McKstewfrom Australia

Quiet country location

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Peaceful location away from the main route. Breakfast was a pleasant treat, tasty and healthy.