Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrian from edinburgh

Quiet bup guest house .

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly
Cons: Shower in room 6 needs replacing
Location: Great for outdoor people
Very friendly laid back hotel.the food is very good try there steak it's to die for so tasty!rooms very clean.onlyhalf a mile from the Hannon stables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terry from exmouth

nearest place to stay for tidworth

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: the two dogs which made it a bit more homely
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JR from Austin TX

No phone reception

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not the best place to stay if you need phone connection and wi fi was not that hot either. Food below standard for a good British pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Western Canada

Fine dining in this quaint hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Exciting Dinner menu. Very good decor in restaurant/pub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LonCharlie from London

Quiet, comfy country pub with excellent food!

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Shears was a wonderful place to stay over a summer weekend. I was in the area for a 3 day event and without a car. They were very obliging in helping me out with taxis and fixing breakfast for me early as I was on a punishing schedule for a weekend. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was friend and relaxed. Though plenty of people came to the pub in the evenings, the crowds were not terribly noisy or rowdy, so I was able to get to sleep fairly easily. A nice place to stay if you need a home base for country activities in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great character

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was great. Newly decorated, comfy bed but could do with an updated tv. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The bar area was very relaxing and the restaurant area was good along with top notch food. All in all a great place to stay, better than any premier inn etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely dog friendly traditional b&b

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Lovely b&b, nice rooms, dogs allowed (at extra cost) and restaurant serving nice food. Slightly eccentric land lady who seems to be constantly stressed. Recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Russ from Cornwall

Quiet country pub hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Easy to find a few miles north of the A303 where the Inn is virtually on it's own on a country road crossroads. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, although it's a long time since I've see a non widescreen TV but that's not very important.The bar area is small as probably 2/3 has been set aside as restaurant area where the evening meal was of very good quality. I had some delicious and well prepared lamb and was looking forward to breakfast which was not as good as I expected it would be based upon the evening meal. Despite this small failing I would recommend The Shears as an Inn to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by On business

Business Trip

Posted Feb 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
One day all pubs will be like this! Great welcome. Pub food a class above! Run by people who know the business, a real home from home when work takes you away from home. One of those places you want to go back to for a cosy weekend away. Breakfast unbelievable!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com