Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DavidHfrom Stoke on Trent

Excellent customer service

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great pub with rooms , lovely food & very hospitable staffs. Would certainly recommend . First time i have stopped in a pub usually i am a corporate hotel person but will be stopping again . One little bit of advise if booking make sure you check in after 5.30pm when somebody opens the bar . A+++++
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Glennkfrom Essex

Not fleeced by Shears

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely country hotel. Small but beautifully kept. The food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked.The only issue is that if you are using it as a base from which to work in the area it is a bot out of the way but it is lovely and probably worth that bit of inconvenience
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

A noisy night in the countryside

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Shears Inn is a picturesque country pub with guest accommodation upstairs. There's a pleasant bar, a dining area and a beer garden. We had a decent meal, though it only consisted of the pasta dish as described on the board - no bread was brought, and no side vegetables or salad were on offer. We didn't sleep well - my friends because of rowdy revelers until almost midnight in the beer garden below their window, and I because of a neighbor's noisy bathroom fan that went on several times in the night, and the horribly loud pump for a shower that someone used at 3:00 a.m. So, to sum up. It's quaint and probably a great place if you are looking for a country pub, but I wouldn't stay there overnight again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nigelfrom Sittingbourne

Lovely hotel if a little isolated

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere but luckily food and service are excellent. Rooms clean and comfortable and staff very attentive. Pay attention to check in time though it is unusual at 1700, and you may not find anyone about until the pub opens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bryanfrom Sussex

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
very well run inn. the only thing that could have been better was the breakfast. just basic but good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annefrom Suffolk

Fantastic Service

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a women travelling alone for business I found all the staffl very helpful and welcoming. The cleanliness of the room was impressive and the quality of the full English breakfast was particularly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by smiffrom manchester

Country Pub

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
room nice. beer flat (by northern standards!). breakfast 5/10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rfrom UK

Excellent

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent Food, Excellent Location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrianfrom edinburgh

Quiet bup guest house .

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly
Cons: Shower in room 6 needs replacing
Location: Great for outdoor people
Very friendly laid back hotel.the food is very good try there steak it's to die for so tasty!rooms very clean.onlyhalf a mile from the Hannon stables.